We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need for a stay in Keswick.”
Review of Hazeldene Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hazeldene Hotel
Ranked #85 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Wonderful location, spotlessly clean, lovely rooms, beautifully cooked breakfast all provided by a friendly, nothing is too much trouble way by Helen and her husband. Great stay, we'll be back.

Ask for a front room on upper floors for lovely views.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScouseDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

Hazeldene is a B&B which has a lot of positives when I stayed there for three nights recently. It's in a great location as it's just a few minutes walk from the town square and also a few minutes walk down to Derwent water. The rooms are nice, modern and very clean with great views to the north and south. The main positive was the free off road parking for around 8 cars which I noticed a lot of B&Bs around that area didn't have. The breakfast was great with a good choice of food and great hospitality to match. It's excellent value for money and I would stay there again when visiting the lakes next.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darrenackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A fabulous stay - situated a few minutes from the market square and right next to the beautiful Hope Park overlooking Derwentwater. Rooms very comfortable and spotlessly clean, a very tasty breakfast and very welcoming hosts, Howard and Helen are lovers of the great outdoors themselves so are full of information on what to do and where to go. Car parking on site which is a must when staying in Keswick. Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goosewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Our 3-night stay at Hazelden and our visit of the Lake District were the highlight of our 2.5 week trip in England and this was the perfect place to stay.

Helen and Howard are great hosts and work very hard to make your stay pleasant. Howard spent quite a bit of time talking to us every day and suggested places to visit. What a friendly guy.

The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. My son and I loved playing on their ping pong table (table tennis).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at the Hazeldene on Friday 22nd and Saturday 23rd November 2013. The hotel itself is in a beautiful building with beautiful views, within 5 minutes of the centre of Keswick. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the en-suites newly decorated and again spotless. The Full English Breakfast was delicious, with all the tea and toast you could eat. The staff were friendly, helpful, welcoming and nothing was too much bother to them. All in all a very pleasant stay and would gladly go and stay there again on our next visit to Keswick.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2.. fabulous view, spacious, comfortable, my sister stayed in room 8 directly ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Immaculately clean, it all looks like it's just been decorated. Friendly owner and a good breakfast.
Beds (room 5) are firm which suited me but my wife found too hard. There is no option for blankets, so if you hate duvets as much as me, ask for a top sheet and bring your own blanket.
This place is in a quiet location, yet just a couple of minutes walk from the town and good eating places. Try Morells.
Definitely a place I would go back to.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Keswick is abundant with small hotels and B&B’s vying for business, but here we have an establishment that that really knows how to deliver. The on-site owners ensure that the visitor is treated as an individual guest, from the warm welcome to the pleasant public areas and modern bedrooms. Before you go check-out the website for details of all the rooms (one at the front have great views).
It is easy to find and we managed to fit the car into the small adjacent private car park, where it remained as there is plenty to do in and around Keswick and the immediate area. Breakfast taken in the lake facing dining room is very pleasant and all hot food made to order with a good selection cereals, fruit, yoghurts etc. from a dresser.
As to be expected in a Victorian property there are stairs to the upper rooms. There is a small guest lounge cum reading room and adjacent games room, which is fine for views down to the local park.
This is our second visit and would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Visit website first to see rooms, front ones have Lake view. Lower floor for those who find stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cooper-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5.4 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
779 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
322 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazeldene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Hotel

Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hazeldene, a 4 star Guest House offering quality B&B guest accommodation in a superb location in the heart of the Lake District National Park. Hazeldene is conveniently situated for Keswick town centre, Lake Derwentwater, Theatre by the Lake, Stagecoach bus services & bus station and the starting points of a variety of popular Lakeland walks and cycle routes including the Altura Trails in Whinlatter Forest.Hazeldene has wonderful panoramic views of the surrounding fells, Walla Crag, Castle Crag, Glaramara, Catbells, Robinson, Causey Pike, Grizedale Pike, Skiddaw, Latrigg, Blencathra & Helvellyn. See for yourself on our webcams. Hazeldene also has its own car park with off street parking, drying room and cycle storage. View the weather on our live web cam. Free wi-fi access is available in the public areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing