We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for walking”
Review of YHA Keswick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good location for walking”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

While walking the Cumbria Way we stayed 4 nights here in a double room. Perfect base for exploring the surrounding fells. Our room overlooked the river and the park so we had good views. Excellent drying room as well as a washer and dryer. Breakfasts were good. The mattress on the bed for very hard so if you have a bad back you might find it uncomfortable. I ended up using the duvet under me to pad the mattress and the duvet from the top bunk as a cover. This worked out very well. Overall great value for your money.

Room Tip: We had a double room on the first floor with a view overlooking the river. Very nice and it was good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoasthiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay whilst doing the Cumbria Way we also accept 1 night bookings for the CTC which many B & B do not do. We do have fantastic views over the park to Skiddaw and from some rooms the view over the town to the fells beyond. Our full Engllish breakfast is good and gives guests a good start for the day. Hope you may return for a second visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    79
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
30
25
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Buckby, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Typical YH features with helpful staff and great restaurant. Comfortable room with good nearby showers. Big lounge and good drying room. Lovely location on river. Near to town shops, but also near enough to hills, paths et.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you for your great comments about the hostel, staff and location. The area is suitable for all ages with lots to do and the staff are on hand to provide first hand advice. We hope you will re-visit and enjoy the remainder of the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
659 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Keswick YHA is a top quality hostel staffed by friendly, helpful staff and in an excellent location, 5 mins walk from the town centre and with a balcony overlooking the river and with views of the fells in the background. The dorms are small, but clean and comfortable, the self catering kitchen is well equipped and the common areas are well looked after and spacious. £13 a night, can't beat that for value for money!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about the high standards of the hostel and friendly staff. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and dkeep your eye on the yha website for more special offers and reduced price beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed for 2 nights with my granddaughter in the Easter holidays and we were both very pleased with the hostel. It is in an ideal postion with lovely views of Fitz Park and the hills and only a very short walk from the town. The hostel is very clean and the staff were helpful. The breakfast was excellent and the evening meal good value. Our only gripe was the chilliness (temperature and atmosphere) of the dining area although, admittedly, we stayed during a very cold spell at the beginning of April, and also we had to wait over an hour for our meal - a long time for a young girl. But this is a hostel, not a restaurant and we would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teens_again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about Keswick and the Hostel. We always aim to provide clean, comfortable accommodtion with friendly staff and good food. I am sorry you had to wait for dinner and will find out why this was. We look forward to having you visit again and hope you enjoy the rest of the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My family stayed in a family room at this hostel in April 2013. We stayed for 3 nights and I found all the staff helpful.

The self-catering kitchen, whilst basic, which does seem to be the way at YHAs, was perfectly adequate, and allowed us to cook plenty of meals. Eating space is quite limited as there are only 3 tables in the kitchen/dining room area on the first floor. There is a large restaurant on the ground floor but I think that is for paying customers. Nevertheless, the seating was adequate and we didn't have to wait for a table.

The hostel was very clean, and in a lovely location right next to the river.

My son particularly enjoyed the pool table and there is large and comfy TV lounge. There is also a table tennis table on the ground floor. Wifi is useable. although it depends where you're sitting as to whether you get a signal.

My wife and son had the cooked breakfast option, which was ok, but nothing special.

If you're a light sleeper, as my wife is, then it can get quite noisy at night, with banging fire doors. This didn't disturb me or my soon.

Keswick is a great little town for shopping and coffee shops, and we had a lovely pub meal at Oldfellows in the town.

There are great walking options near to the hostel.

Overall, we found this a pleasant place to stay, and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_w01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and hostel. Sorry if you were disturbed with late arrivals and doors banging. If ever this problem arises again during a stay in a hostel then please contact staff who will do what they can to ask others to be quieter. Hope to see you on another visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

My sister, niece and i have just had a 2 day stay in Keswick Cumbria we stayed at the YHA in central Keswick near the river
We had a warm welcome by the staff and they are very helpful . The rooms are basic but nice and warm and clear. The cafe is good value for money .
Thanks

Room Tip: Give the Hostels a try tou will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about the hostel and friendly staff. We have lots of board games and some outdoor games for children and of course Keswick has lots of varied things to do for all ages. Fabulous location for children with the parks and new play area and pitch and putt. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The staffs were approachable. My friends and I had a nice stay there. The table tennis at the ground floor was enjoyable, while the pool and the self catering kitchen at the first floor were so helpful! The location was just nice, near the town centre. If only that the self-catering kitchen is to be accessible starting at 5AM, it would be nicer since we all left before sunrise for our walk around Keswick.

Room Tip: Choose the bunk bed room for group travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdhyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for your comments about the hostel and friendly staff. We are pleased you throughly enjoyed our facilites. The self catering kitchen has to be closed for health and safety reasons due to being placed in the centre of the hostel and it is opened as soon as staff come back on duty at 7am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
699 reviews
5.9 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
204 reviews
7.0 mi away
YHA Buttermere
YHA Buttermere
#1 of 1 in Buttermere
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
391 reviews
17.5 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
153 reviews
7.7 mi away
YHA Helvellyn
YHA Helvellyn
#2 of 3 in Glenridding
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Property: YHA Keswick
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing