We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of YHA Keswick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Netanya, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed in a six bed dormitory, although full I was comfortable. Place is clean, staff is very helpful, location is very close to city center. They have a secure shed for bicycles and you can access with a bicycle from the rear to avoid the steps going into the hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, General Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hi Zhadar,
really happy you enjoyed your stay here at Keswick, the staff really do go the extra mile to help you make the most of a visit to Keswick, hopefully see you again in the future.
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    80
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
31
25
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

nice staff ,good clean facilities and the best value breakfast in the lake district.
The hostel is on three floors so this can be a bit tiring if you have washing and drying to do but there is a good drying room.
The tv does not work unless you have inside knowledge and the tumble dryer broke down when i was there but the staff are excellent and will find a way round most problems,it was a good nights sleep and other guests were considerate and as i said an outstanding breakfast.
The location is very near the town centre and is picturesque near the river and close to shops and other facilities.
The room however was very hot ,not sure why as the window was open all night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, General Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hi Robin,
will check Tv issues out. Really happy you filled up on our great breakfast. Dryer is being fixed sorry for the inconvenience.
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalter, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

When we arrived at YHA Keswick, we were soaked from the rain. It was very pleasant to hear there was a drying room we could use to dry our clothes and helmets. The beds were nice, but the toilet not always very clean. The city of Keswick is a lovely place, but don't forget to pay at the parkingspace.. It says 'motorcycles for free', but it isn't..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissCupcake7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, General Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hi Laurien,
thank you for posting a good review for our Hostel. Will keep motorcyclists uptodate on your parking tip from now on.
thanks
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Two minute walk to the village area. Located on a river. No traffic noise. Clean rooms. Enough bedding. Self serve kitchen area organized and good.
We stayed for one night. Our room faced the river. We had a private 3 bedroom room with our 13 year old daughter. Bathroom was close and seemed private. My daughter kept using the office phone to call a horse trekking place. The staff were wonderful about it. One even came up to our room to tell us that they got a hold of them for us!! That's service.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenjenniferwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, General Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hi Jenifer Thanks for the excellent review , hopefully your daughter enjoyed the pony trekking. She will probably use your paypal acoount to pay for it.
Hope fully you will come back and stay again
Thanks
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Great Hostel in Keswick, easy walking from everywhere. Very clean, friendly staff, lovely setting. No Parking but you can usually find a space on the road which is disc parking but only in the daytime. We only stayed one night but will definitely use this as a base in future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayakmanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, General Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you Kayak man for your review. Yes do come again and use us a base of operations.
Thnaks
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is a great hostel sitting right on the river in the heart of Keswick. We stayed in a private room, which had a bunk bed and sink. Quite cosy but all we needed. The only down side to the room was its proximity to the kitchen which made it quite noisy.
Beds were comfy though and the hostel provides all the usual bits in the kitchen and there is also a couple of comfy lounges. The kitchen is a little on the small side for the number of people that the hostel can have staying. Cooking for a little competitive in terms of space, but this wasnt too much of an issue.
Parking is limited at the hostel as you can only park on the street. You will need a parking disc to park outside on the street (you can get one of these from reception) or further down the road you can park for free and for as long as you want.

Room Tip: Ask not to be situated near the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your comments about the quality of your stay. The kitchen is well equippped and generally everyone works around each other. If you find it busy it could be a welcome change to try our restaurant if you visit again. The meals are good and very reasonably priced. Have a great summer.
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

While walking the Cumbria Way we stayed 4 nights here in a double room. Perfect base for exploring the surrounding fells. Our room overlooked the river and the park so we had good views. Excellent drying room as well as a washer and dryer. Breakfasts were good. The mattress on the bed for very hard so if you have a bad back you might find it uncomfortable. I ended up using the duvet under me to pad the mattress and the duvet from the top bunk as a cover. This worked out very well. Overall great value for your money.

Room Tip: We had a double room on the first floor with a view overlooking the river. Very nice and it was good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoasthiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay whilst doing the Cumbria Way we also accept 1 night bookings for the CTC which many B & B do not do. We do have fantastic views over the park to Skiddaw and from some rooms the view over the town to the fells beyond. Our full Engllish breakfast is good and gives guests a good start for the day. Hope you may return for a second visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
719 reviews
5.9 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
210 reviews
7.0 mi away
YHA Buttermere
YHA Buttermere
#1 of 1 in Buttermere
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
402 reviews
17.5 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
158 reviews
7.7 mi away
YHA Helvellyn
YHA Helvellyn
#2 of 3 in Glenridding
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Property: YHA Keswick
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing