We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Dolly Waggon Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Ranked #89 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My partner and I stayed one night at The Dolly Wagon on our way up to Scotland at the end of March. On our way up Amanda rang us to check what time we would arrive so she would be in to welcome us, We found the hotel but if using satnav beware because it may lead you astray. Amanda greeted us and made us a welcome cuppa and a lovely cupcake in the room. She asked us what we wanted for breakfast and when we said we were both veggies she went out and bought veggie sausages. The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel close to the town centre. The breakfast was lovely and Amanda and Ross were very welcoming. We would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Dolly Waggon Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for three nights in March 2012, our first time in the lakes. We could not fault the Dolly Waggon at all. Very tasty breakfasts (including perfectly-poached eggs), comfortable beds, and an excellent location on a quiet street -- that is still very convenient or wandering into central Keswick. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful, and we felt immediately welcome. This is typified by the delicious home-made cake which appeared in our room each night! Staying before April, there was a special 3-night rate of £90pp, making this excellent value too. We hope to be able to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob_the_gorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Our stay at Dolly Waggon was extremely relaxing and enjoyable. It was a perfect place to begin exploring the northern Lakes, and right in the centre of Keswick for something to do in the evenings as well. Cannot begin to explain the size and brilliance of the breakfasts...the perfect beginning for a day on the fells. Definitely recommended, and we'd definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KateL1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

For a couple of years now we have stayed at the Dolly Wagon and generally we stay 3 times at least per year. Sometimes with friends, as a family or as a couple the Dolly Wagon is suitable for all.

I cannot say what I like the most about staying here but certainly the very warm welcome, the great breakfasts, the rooms and all the advice that is warmly provided rank above what you would expect anywhere else.

This week we will visit again and as usual nothing was too much trouble we have even been able to book theatre tickets when we booked our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saorsa32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I didn't have a TripAdvisor account before staying here and specifically got one after our stay. Amanda and Ross were absolutely amazing hosts! Fresh tea and milk upon arrival and after every hike, delicious meals, and great chat! We were given excellent local advice about hikes and even a few free maps. It definitely helped that we slept like bricks in the newly renovated room :) A++ from this corner!

Room Tip: Request the room looking over LaTrigg :)
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Stayed for two nights in April and was not dissapointed with our choice. Easy to find and park up. Greeted by the hosts dog who was instantly loveable but did not pester us . Amanda showed us to the room , clean /tidy/modern and even supplied a great cuppa after our long journey. Room has free WiFi which , is a great change from my usual extensive travels. Sattalite TV with multiple channels, also an adquete on suite went down great with us.
Very quiet surroundings despite being so close to the centre of town, a great breakfast to set us up and with plenty of choice. Amanda even arranged local bike hire for us and supplied copius amounts of local information and pamphlets for us to enjoy stay. The B&B prides itself on its environmental aspects and this was well appreciated.
All in all a great stay and service made for a very pleasant short stay and would definetly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Breakfast was wonderful and filling
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluenose1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed at the Dolly waggon just for one night on 15th September 2010 as part of our Coast to Coast cycle ride. We were very impressed with all aspects. We were greeted with a cup of tea or coffee and a great room. Amanda and her family were very friendly and she even washed some kit for us which made the following day's cycling much pleasenter. breakfast was high quality. Great loacation for a stroll into town for a beer or two. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rm664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#80 of 189 in Keswick
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#78 of 189 in Keswick
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Keswick Park Hotel
Keswick Park Hotel
#110 of 189 in Keswick
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#7 of 9 in Portinscale
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#40 of 189 in Keswick
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#58 of 189 in Keswick
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolly Waggon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolly Waggon Guest House

Address: 17 Helvellyn Street, Keswick CA12 4EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £95 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolly Waggon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run guest house in a quiet residential area within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre, the theatre and the lake. Our five en-suite guest rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. Breakfasts are cooked using locally sourced, fair trade and organic ingredients and include traditional English with vegetarian options, or you can choose from several lighter options. Special diets can be catered for. Tea and coffee are Fair Trade. A warm welcome awaits you. Non smoking. No pets. No children under 12 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dolly Waggon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolly Waggon Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing