We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very friendly”

Dolly Waggon Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Ranked #96 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

very friendly down to earth, natural host, Amanda made you feel comfortable from the start.
Very clean, nice room and good breakfast.
Ron the Dog is also very friendly!
We would recommend Dolly Waggon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
37
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

This guest house truly deserves to be known and I would highly recommend it!
A home away from home! We loved it so much that we extended out stay :)
The owner are such nice people and we felt very at ease the entire time of our stay.
Amanda works hard to run this place and it pays, everything was perfect!
Rooms are nicely decorated, very clean and comfy.
Breakfast is simply the best we have had in whole England!! From the fresh fruit salad every morning to the poached eggs on a toasted muffin! We loved it so much that as soon as we were finished we were looking forward to the next morning to have it again :)
Amanda is a great cook and all products we very fresh. She also uses lots of organic products, from the cereals to the toiletries.
I would also highly recommend the lunch set to bring on your hike. Very good and convinient! We also had it everyday :)
Oh and I have to mention the home made cakes and fresh milk in the room every afternoon. Incredible!!!
Amanda gave us great advices on hikes and things to do in the area.
A big thank you to her for everything!
We for sure miss your cooking and your place already!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etihadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benidorm, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I have just recently returned from Keswick.Had a lovely time at this great Guesthoue. Very friendly service. Lovely Breakfast with loads to choose from. Spotless room. Would recommend. Will use this Guest House in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room if disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

This B&B is well worth a stop, the family that run the B&B are incredibly organised, friendly, welcoming and helpful. (The little guard dog is beautiful!)
I am Coeliac and the owner looked after me well and was clearly aware of dietary requirements.
We had to be up at 3:50am for the annual Keswick to Barrow charity walk (40 miles) and the owners left pack ups in the kitchen which were lovely and appreciated.
The Full English (with gluten free sausages) was to die for and was needed the morning after a 40mile walk.
The Bedrooms were light and airy and the beds were very comfy with quality warm duvets and linens, the rooms were a good size, and the bathroom was a modern electric shower so nice and hot.
A faultless stay and I'd love to go back if I'm in Keswick again.
Excellent value and pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparrow888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for one night. Very pleasant & got a warm welcome on arrival & the offer of a cup of tea or coffee. Room nicely decorated, comfy bed. Fresh milk was put in the room in a flask in the evening & was left a home made sponge cake each - very nice touches.
Breakfast was good with home made breads, but maybe good old fashioned white would have been a nice option for some of us who just want plain white.
All in all, a nice place & the hosts work hard to run a good business & seem to care about their guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My partner and I stayed one night at The Dolly Wagon on our way up to Scotland at the end of March. On our way up Amanda rang us to check what time we would arrive so she would be in to welcome us, We found the hotel but if using satnav beware because it may lead you astray. Amanda greeted us and made us a welcome cuppa and a lovely cupcake in the room. She asked us what we wanted for breakfast and when we said we were both veggies she went out and bought veggie sausages. The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel close to the town centre. The breakfast was lovely and Amanda and Ross were very welcoming. We would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for three nights in March 2012, our first time in the lakes. We could not fault the Dolly Waggon at all. Very tasty breakfasts (including perfectly-poached eggs), comfortable beds, and an excellent location on a quiet street -- that is still very convenient or wandering into central Keswick. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful, and we felt immediately welcome. This is typified by the delicious home-made cake which appeared in our room each night! Staying before April, there was a special 3-night rate of £90pp, making this excellent value too. We hope to be able to come back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob_the_gorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#63 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandon Guest House
Sandon Guest House
#100 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#10 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eden Green Guest House
Eden Green Guest House
#99 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#19 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolly Waggon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolly Waggon Guest House

Property: Dolly Waggon Guest House
Address: 17 Helvellyn Street, Keswick CA12 4EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolly Waggon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run guest house in a quiet residential area within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre, the theatre and the lake. Our five en-suite guest rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. Breakfasts are cooked using locally sourced, fair trade and organic ingredients and include traditional English with vegetarian options, or you can choose from several lighter options. Special diets can be catered for. Tea and coffee are Fair Trade. A warm welcome awaits you. Non smoking. No pets. No children under 12 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dolly Waggon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolly Waggon Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing