We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality is second to none”

Dolly Waggon Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Ranked #81 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Amanda couldn't do enough to help. I left a note to request the windows weren't opened because we were a little chilly (good old Lake District weather!!) + we got back to the room to find a heater had been left for us.
We had a tasty packed lunch made up for us + the breakfast 'special' of French toast, bacon + maple syrup was delicious.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Dolly Wagon + would certainly go back there when visiting Keswick again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at Dolly Waggon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your comments. It was a pretty chilly weekend and I am pleased we warmed you up!! It is also good to hear that our breakfast specials are well received, especially as we have just received a Breakfast Award from Visit Britain. We hope to see you back for another 'breakfast special' before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Very friendly and hospitable. Keswick is ideal for a Lake District holiday, and the Dolly Waggon Guest House in Keswick is centrally placed - just a few minutes from the high street but still quiet. Lovely clean room, with the personal touch. Each day a some special cake or biscuit left for our return. And we have never had a better breakfast than here. Quality and choice, with a daily 'special' - mostly locally sourced organic ingredients. Amanda is very environmentally concious, and you will again find only the healthiest local products in your bathroom. We highly recommend Dolly Wagon. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at Dolly Waggon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for your kind and positive comments. We are continuing to add to our baking repertoire and also to our 'breakfast special' options. Our dining room is about to undergo a bit of a face lift this week, or rather 'floor lift' as new flooring is being laid - hopefully making a better, brighter dining space.
It was lovely to meet you both and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Have had a lovely stay at Dolly Waggon Guest House in Keswick, only a short walk from the town centre, and Skiddaw. The room, with a view of Skiddaw was perfect, clean and with plenty of space for all our belongings. The breakfasts were fresh and filling. The owner and her family were really friendly during our stay, with plenty of advice about where to go and what to look out for. The major advantage of staying here though is the homemade cakes (different every day) which are left in the room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at Dolly Waggon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, I am glad you enjoyed the homemade cakes, I am always trying to think of new recipes to try out but the favourite always seems to be the cup cakes filled with butter cream!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Visited: May 2013
Party: 2 adults
Price: £40 pppn

We booked this at relatively short notice (24 hours) as we were waiting to see what the weather would be like for walking so didn't expect to find decent accommodation at short notice. We wanted a room on the top floor and the owner Amanda explained that the only room left was a bit smaller with a sloped ceiling. I was impressed with the full disclosure about the room and her pleasant manner so agreed on 3 nights.

On arrival she was the prefect host and went out of her way to talk at some length with us even though I'm sure she had plenty to do. Other reviews have already mentioned that there a number of personal touches; such as home made cakes (excellent-I had 3) and fresh milk replaced daily, that I think is what separates quality B&B's/guest houses from faceless hotel chains.

Our bed was firm and confortable and the bedding was excellent quality as well so we had very relaxing sleeps every night. Breakfast was a varied selection of continental, full english or a mixture of muffins and the like so plenty for all. The house is also very centrally located about 3 minutes walk from the centre of Keswick so all in all a little gem of a place that I would have no problems returning to.

Room Tip: Room 4 has excellent views over the fells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockDinosaur666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just returned from two nights in the Dolly Wagon and the owners were so friendly and felt very much a ease. Very clean room and breakfast was lovely and very relaxed. We would not come again at this time of year due to the Mountaineering festival and Borrowdale run as everywhere so busy and parking a nightmare!! but would recommend the Dolly Wagon to stay in.

Room Tip: Make sure you realize the parking issues and find out what is going on the time you stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 86badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Dolly Wagon for one night and absouletley loved it.! Very friendly hosts and clean rooms with cake and fresh milk!
Amanda and Ross are Brilliant but I have to talk about RON, the little terrier that made our trip...
Amanda let us take him out for the day... which was great to have a companion when climbing Catbells...
I have yet to meet such trusting people who not only made us feel welcome but didn't mind us taking their beloved pet out for a day...
I hope to go back soon and see Ron again :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

very friendly down to earth, natural host, Amanda made you feel comfortable from the start.
Very clean, nice room and good breakfast.
Ron the Dog is also very friendly!
We would recommend Dolly Waggon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
797 reviews
5.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolly Waggon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolly Waggon Guest House

Address: 17 Helvellyn Street, Keswick CA12 4EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £98 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolly Waggon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run guest house in a quiet residential area within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre, the theatre and the lake. Our five en-suite guest rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. Breakfasts are cooked using locally sourced, fair trade and organic ingredients and include traditional English with vegetarian options, or you can choose from several lighter options. Special diets can be catered for. Tea and coffee are Fair Trade. A warm welcome awaits you. Non smoking. No pets. No children under 12 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Dolly Waggon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolly Waggon Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing