We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding - love it!”
Review of The Inn at Keswick Restaurant - CLOSED

The Inn at Keswick Restaurant
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had lunch twice in the last month in this Resturant and the food was wonderful. The steak was one of the best I've ever had and I regularly order that from the menu. Also the big chips and homemade onion rings are also a favourite from this Resturant. One friend had the salad with salmon and said it was delicious and the other had the Cumberland sausage burger which I tasted and it was very nice. We had deserts too which were also good. I liked the fact that my friend on the second visit wasn't very hungry - so they made her a 'half sized steak meal' from the 'kids menu'. It was a perfect size for her and looked and tasted exactly like the bigger steak meal I had. They had no problem with this and it was great to see this and that the kids meals (or those with smaller appetites) are the same quality as the normal meals. It's a new favourite Resturant whenever I'm in town

Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tim Banks at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hi
Thanks very much for your positive comments, we have worked very hard on quality & customer service , rest assured i will give all the team a pat on the back, and i hope to see you very soon on your next visit to keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Now The Royal Oak we had dinner here and a breakfast with our B&B. Both were fab. I had a massive half chicken with lovely chips and sides. Brekkie was everything you could want from a B&B with everything included, even the big cooked brekkies.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather_May_Stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tim Banks at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your positive comments , we were a little nervous of getting things right straight from the off after all the changes, The team have worked very hard to get us to this point, & comments like this make it all the worth while , I hope to see you very soon the next time you are in Keswick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Recommended by family (young kids) and our favourite place closed we tied this old hotel, now pub/eating place. The decor and fittings are a bit cold, the staff warm but the food is was not great. The "favourite" hot pot was a dismal affair, dry and fairly bland and there wasn't much of it. Although we had two of the cheapest mains on the menu, with a glass of wine and a pint it came to £26 - for which there is much better value in town, and certainly this was overpriced. I love sticky toffee pudding and it is available everywhere in Keswick; this added on at nearly a fiver and it was exceedingly poor, dry and chewy at the bottom. So we won't go back and we won't recommend. Having said that it was busy and the burgers looked good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank smithwolviston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Tim Banks at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi
So sorry you didn't enjoy our fare or décor, the good news is we have a new look ,a new menu and the service is even better , I hope the next time you are in Keswick you will give us another try, hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We dropped in for lunch and we each had a thoroughly decent meal in this nice place with its good atmosphere. The staff were lovely and attentive and the service was good; the food was hot and well cooked. I would personally recommend the steak and ale pie, it was really nice and had loads of tender beef.
thanks for a lovely lunch

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dennisblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, General Manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Steak & ale pie is one one of our best sellers ,glad you enjoyed your whole experience, I will share your positive comments with the team,& give them a pat on the back
Regards
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Ate with 7 of us and the staff were friendly and helpful. Great food - a salmon nicoise was gorgeous (above expectations for a pub so far from the Mediterranean), chilli great, burger and chips yummy. Wainwrights beer great, fave golden ale of my life. Thank you everyone (company was marvellous too!).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Familyadventurersha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatKeswick, General Manager at The Inn at Keswick Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Sounds like we contributed to a great evening, glad you enjoyed our atmosphere & wares, Wainrights is a favourite ale of many , all in all a success all round, thank you for your positive comments
Regards
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Inn at Keswick Restaurant also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing