We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Fell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fell House
Ranked #88 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
WARRINGTON
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed for two nights. Very comfortable. Nice friendly owners who like to chat to you, and make sure things are ok. Good breakfast. Babs even gave my wife the recipe for her pastry, as she very kindly gave us some home made mince pies. [ very nice too ]. The only thing that SOME petty people MAY not like, is the tiny bathroom. [ judging by some of the reviews I have read about other B & B's.] We have stayed in Keswick quite a few times, and this is the best so far, and we will come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeandsharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Fell House tries very hard to be just that bit special, our aim is to give our Visitors value for money and a very pleasant experience.
P.S. Hope the pastry recipe comes in useful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    7
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
72
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We have been staying at Fell House twice a year for the last 11 years and keep returning because it's such a fantastic B&B. Ever since our first visit Colin and Babs have made us both feel very welcome. They are really friendly and always take the time to chat and share stories of Keswick. Expert local advice is readily available on where to walk, visit, shop and dine. They always help to make our weekend in beautiful Keswick even more special.
The rooms are exceptionally clean and well maintained. The location is brilliant, being close to town but situated on a quaint and quiet cul-de-sac. Parking is available at the rear which is great. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious and not to be missed!
The Fell House really feels like a home from home in the lakes.Long may they continue.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Many thanks to our wonderful visitors who are more like friends.
They know we work hard to maintain our reputation for good food, comfortable beds and clean rooms and we hope to continue to welcome not only out regular returning visitors, but new visitors who we hope will become friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The ideal place to take a holiday. A lovely welcome and comfortable well appointed room, with spectacular views of the surrounding hills, and yet only 2 minutes from the centre of town. Excellent food, and friendly hosts. I had my best nights sleep in years! Keswick has so much to offer. It is not just a centre for walkers (although it is that), but has restaurants, cinema and iconic theatre. Although not yet with a rail link, if you make the journey once, you will make it again and again. We are already looking forward to our next visit. Fell House is simply wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IJG92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Ian, thank you very much for a wonderful review, we look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend's stay and the friendliness of the owners was a real plus. The B & B is excellently placed close to the centre of Keswick and is quiet, clean and the breakfasts were perfect for setting you up for a day exploring. Would not hesitate to recommend to others.

David and Laura

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
We both thank you very much for a wonderful review, we look forward to your return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

my husband and i stayed for 2 nights at fell house. it was lovely. room number 3 is perfect,very clean with big bay window with fab views.babs and colin are wonderful hosts. made us feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble. breakfast is just what you need for a day of walking.we would definitly stay there again.

Room Tip: room number 3 is great,very big with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nay-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
You were both so very nice, thank you for a FAB review.
We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Just returned from 2 nights at Fell House - first time we've stayed there and would highly recommend it.
Location is excellent with off street parking available, which is always a bonus in Keswick.
Colin and Barbara are a lovely couple, who keep a very warm, friendly, clean B&B, with excellent breakfasts. A real gem just a minute from the centre of Keswick, in a quiet cul-de-sac, FAB!
Thank you both very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for your great revue. Hope to see you both again soon for your girls get - away weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We have just returned from another lovely stay at Fell House, this bed and breakfast is the best we have ever stayed out. Colin and Barbara are a fantastic couple, friendly, helpful, and you feel that they generally care about you. The entire house is spotlessly clean, and the breakfasts are delicious, thank you again and we will see you again next year, love Sue & Dave xx

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your great review, it is wonderful to get such a lovely review from a couple who visit us again and again.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Babs & Colin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Abacourt Guest House
Abacourt Guest House
#82 of 175 in Keswick
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lincoln Guest House
Lincoln Guest House
#125 of 175 in Keswick
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dunsford Guest House
Dunsford Guest House
#29 of 175 in Keswick
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ellergill
Ellergill
#85 of 175 in Keswick
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss Court
Swiss Court
#16 of 175 in Keswick
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fell House

Property: Fell House
Address: 28 Stanger Street, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fell House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Fell House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing