We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
103
9
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
9
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot cross buns town centre lovely couple feel very welcome breakfast was excellent cooked breakfast excellent location bay window my husband and i have just surrounding mountains excellent room minute walk enjoyed our stay off street parking convenient location added bonus poached eggs
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

On arrival we were informed about the USP of Fell house ," internet free breakfast" no phones or laptops!.
We were not informed though that if we didn't come down for breakfast at 8:30 the breafast would be thrown in the bin as happened to us on Sunday morning as we came down at 9:30 . Poor show and couldn't really recommend this place to none militarily people.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Steveb0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

So sorry to read that this guest was not happy.
We ask guests not to use mobile devises in the breakfast room, it`s just being polite, and our guest`s advise us that they like this idea, and it is there for everyone to see on our WEB site.
All our guests are informed, on arrival, that breakfast is served at 8-30am, this is also in the brochure in the bedrooms, allowances are made for those who arrive a little early at breakfast and those who arrive a little later, just as these guest`s did…. arriving about 8-50am the first morning and were served their pre ordered breakfast, not a problem. This gentleman obviously has no concept of what bed and breakfast accommodation is all about, it is not run on military lines, but has to be structured.
As we are only a Guest house, run by two people and not a Hotel, it is impossible to do an ALL DAY breakfast, all Hotels and Guest houses have time slots for meals, so there is nothing unusual in this.
The following day these guests came down at 9-50am, as witnessed by other guests going out for the day, who commented on the lateness. In all our 25 years’ experience, usually, if a guest has not come down for breakfast by 9-15am they are not coming down for whatever reason, a decision then has to be made as to what to do with any unconsumed food, because, as responsible guesthouse owners, we must clear the kitchen area, so any unconsumed food has to be thrown away.
My advice to anyone who requires a very late breakfast would be to enquire about this before making the booking to save disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

A warm welcome and great hospitality from Babs and Colin. Perfect location just five minutes into town. Great room, very comfortable, well presented and warm. Well equipped bathroom and good to have tea and coffee in the room.

A good night's sleep guaranteed.

A very good English Breakfast which was as a good start to the day.

Thank you Babs and Colin for making us feel welcome.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review, we enjoy meeting our visitors and getting to know them, and being nice to people costs nothing and you get lots in return. The Breakfast seems to go down very well I am pleased to say, so glad you enjoyed yours, I hope we will see you again next year...have a great Christmas and all the best for the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay with Babs and Colin at Fell House Keswick. So comfortable and welcoming. Great breakfast and superb location. Could not fault it and would love to return. Our room had absolutely everything we needed and it was nice that Babs popped into the dining room to chat at the end of breakfast service.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dot m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

What a lovely review. When my visitors say such nice things about my guest house then I know that I am doing every thing right. I hope to see you again very soon and I will pop into the breakfast room to have a chat and you can tell me your plans for the day ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

A warm welcome and a very pleasant stay. The room was clean and well presented. The cooked breakfast was terrific. There was also lots of choice of cereal too and I never felt hurried.
Its a convenient location too, with parking to the rear of the building and easy access to Keswick town centre and Derwent Waters.
Thank you for a a lovely stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.
It`s always nice to get comments on the breakfast.
Glad you liked the off street parking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Arrived in Keswick on a Saturday afternoon and think we may have got the last room in the town and probably the best. Colin and Barbara at Fell House are a lovely couple and made us very welcome. We stayed in Room 4 with our own bathroom along the landing, but that didn’t bother us, as it was very clean with a great shower. It’s easy to see the Colin and Barbara take pride in ensuring guests are well looked after, lots of little touches such as bathrobe to wander along to the bathroom, kettle, tea/coffee and biscuits in the room. Tasty, full English breakfast to start the day, cooked by Barbara and served by Colin. Parking at the rear of the property was very handy. Thanks for a lovely overnight stay.

Room tip: Don't be put off with Room 4 having a separate bathroom
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

What a great review. I smiled when I read HIDDEN GEM, a term of endearment that is so lovely and welcoming. Please stay with us a little longer next time you are visiting Keswick it would be nice to get to know you both better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews