We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
103
9
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
9
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot cross buns town centre lovely couple feel very welcome breakfast was excellent cooked breakfast excellent location bay window my husband and i have just surrounding mountains excellent room minute walk enjoyed our stay off street parking convenient location added bonus poached eggs
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

Myself and friend stopped here for our post Christmas calorie burner fell walk. It was our second visit, Colin & Babs where great hosts and made our stay really comfortable. The position in Keswick perfect, Main Street was a five minute walk away. Will return soon.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lakes6371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We were very pleased to see you again.
So glad you where really comfortable.
As you comment Fell House is ideally placed for the town centre.
Looking forward to seeing you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

My husband and I have just returned home after another lovely break at Fell House. It is a wonderful place to stay, very comfortable and friendly. Babs and Colin are a lovely couple and always ready to chat and give advice on local walks and eating places. It is also very handy - five minutes walk into town. Another thing which we like is that phones and laptops are not allowed in the breakfast room, on holiday it is good to get away from too much technology! As for the breakfasts, they are excellent, probably the best poached eggs in Keswick, if not the whole of Cumbria. Thanks again Babs and Colin. Jane and Mike Armitage

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2018

Thank you for a wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you stay at FELL HOUSE
once again. We had a few moments to chat in the breakfast room, I do not always have the time to escape from the kitchen, but I enjoy trying to get to know my visitors
and helping them make the most of their time in the LAKE DISTRICT.
See you again very soon and best wishes for 2019.
Thank you very much Babs & Colin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

We've just returned from a wonderful visit to Keswick, made all the more special by a lovely 3 night stay at Fell House. The owners made us very welcome, the room was very warm and comfortable, with a seating area in the bay window to enjoy the mountain views. The breakfasts were delicious, always served with a smile! The location of Fell House is a small walk away from the centre of Keswick, and with a convenient car parking space at the back of the house, we could just set off from the door on foot when we wanted to explore the town, or go for boot walks around the area. We would love to stay there again. Thank you.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Many thanks for a really great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at FELL HOUSE.I must say you are right about the views from the bedroom, we are very lucky that all our rooms have a view of the wonderful fells. Only a short walk gets you into the centre of the town with lots of restaurant choices to choose from. Hope to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

On arrival we were informed about the USP of Fell house ," internet free breakfast" no phones or laptops!.
We were not informed though that if we didn't come down for breakfast at 8:30 the breafast would be thrown in the bin as happened to us on Sunday morning as we came down at 9:30 . Poor show and couldn't really recommend this place to none militarily people.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Steveb0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

So sorry to read that this guest was not happy.
We ask guests not to use mobile devises in the breakfast room, it`s just being polite, and our guest`s advise us that they like this idea, and it is there for everyone to see on our WEB site.
All our guests are informed, on arrival, that breakfast is served at 8-30am, this is also in the brochure in the bedrooms, allowances are made for those who arrive a little early at breakfast and those who arrive a little later, just as these guest`s did…. arriving about 8-50am the first morning and were served their pre ordered breakfast, not a problem. This gentleman obviously has no concept of what bed and breakfast accommodation is all about, it is not run on military lines, but has to be structured.
As we are only a Guest house, run by two people and not a Hotel, it is impossible to do an ALL DAY breakfast, all Hotels and Guest houses have time slots for meals, so there is nothing unusual in this.
The following day these guests came down at 9-50am, as witnessed by other guests going out for the day, who commented on the lateness. In all our 25 years’ experience, usually, if a guest has not come down for breakfast by 9-15am they are not coming down for whatever reason, a decision then has to be made as to what to do with any unconsumed food, because, as responsible guesthouse owners, we must clear the kitchen area, so any unconsumed food has to be thrown away.
My advice to anyone who requires a very late breakfast would be to enquire about this before making the booking to save disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

A warm welcome and great hospitality from Babs and Colin. Perfect location just five minutes into town. Great room, very comfortable, well presented and warm. Well equipped bathroom and good to have tea and coffee in the room.

A good night's sleep guaranteed.

A very good English Breakfast which was as a good start to the day.

Thank you Babs and Colin for making us feel welcome.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
q8Z, Owner at Fell House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review, we enjoy meeting our visitors and getting to know them, and being nice to people costs nothing and you get lots in return. The Breakfast seems to go down very well I am pleased to say, so glad you enjoyed yours, I hope we will see you again next year...have a great Christmas and all the best for the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews