We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Larry's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Larry's Lodge
Ranked #85 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have just returned home from a 2 night stay at Larry's Lodge. 2 adults, 1 teenager and a springer spaniel. The single room for our teenager was great as it had it's own bathroom and separate shower. The rooms were very clean & comfortable, with the usual hot drinks tray. (A must after a long walk on the fells). The room had enough space for our dog's bed without having to climb over her. The breakfasts were served hot, with lots of choice. The home-made bread is a must try. It's delicious!
This is the first dog friendly place we have stayed & we will definitely be back.
Sue & Dave were great hosts from the moment we arrived and made it feel like a home from home. Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry40, Owner at Larry's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Dear DeeM123

Thank you for your lovely review. We do look forward to greeting your once more to Larry's Lodge.
Kind Regards
Sue, Dave, Kyle and Theo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

One of the only b&b's that was the same standard as a hotel, everything good quality and very well presented. Enjoyed the stay thoroughly, will definitely recommend. Very welcoming, Dave and Sue would happily do anything to make our stay great. We have stayed in many places that are dog friendly and i can honestly say this was spotless. A hidden gem, go visit and find out how great it is.

Room Tip: Room 4, was great en suite, new bed, very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I arrived at the guest house tired from a long day's cycle I had just completed on a 14-day charity ride from John O Groats to Lands End.
I only had one requirement - that I was able to access my first Open University tutorial for an hour using the wifi.

I was told in no uncertain terms that I was not welcone if I wanted to do that! I couldn't believe what I was hearing. When I tried to explain that I had my own account and it would cost her nothing, she shouted angrily, "I said No!" and slammed the door in my face.
Now, I don't know if she'd just had a bad day, did not like cyclists or just did not understand, but....

There is no excuse for bad manners, or in this case, downright rudeness.

I felt like a beggar at the door and not the valued guest that I should have been.

Fortunately the next place I tried could not have been more friendly and welcoming.
Of all the places I stayed on this journey, this was the only one who showed any animosity towards me.

I suggest she a: gens-up on wifi, b: takes a course in customer relations and c: gets some help with anger management.

Stayed: October 2013
7  Thank eternaltraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry40, Owner at Larry's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to do a review.

Your rudeness and arrogance was only surpassed by the obsessive manner you conducted yourself on our doorstep.
Within seconds of your arrival on our doorstep, you started to dictate the terms of any stay with us. We tried to tell you that we did not have a room available and also that we were experiencing trouble with our WiFi while awaiting a replacement unit from BT. All to no avail. You continued as if I wasn't there. Again, I informed you we had no room, again you acted as if you had not heard me. I informed you I was going to close our front door as we were not able to help you. Then, I shut our front door, not slamming it as you have wrongly stated.

You are correct in what you say about there being no excuse for bad manners, or in this case, downright rudeness. Why did you act this way and then blame us?

Maybe you thought twice about how you conducted yourself on our doorstep before looking at the next B&B

Our "bad day" started with your bad manners and utter rudeness!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

From arrival to leaving Dave and Sue were amazing, so warm and welcoming their place is a home from home for you and your dogs. Rooms are spotless and comfortable and full of the homely touches. We and our pooches loved it. You get pet friendly places in the description but a lot fail to deliver, Sue And Dave take a bow, you deliver and we and our dogs cannot wait for our next visit

Vernon and Sara

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vernon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very welcoming, friendly and helpful owners who make you feel at home, extremely dog friendly, fantastic service! The rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable, spotless en-suite. Free WIFI. We stayed for bed and breakfast over the weekend to go walking around DerwentWater with our two dogs and the location is brilliant, close to the town and lake and local parks/walks. Breakfast consisted of a selection of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruits, toast, jams and fully cooked breakfast, all produce locally sourced. We would definately return and highly recommend staying at this lovely Bed and Breakfast, especially if you have dogs!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed overnight with family and our fox terrier. A really friendly welcome. Nothing too much trouble. The breakfast was delicious, particularly the home-made bread which was amazing! The rooms were spotless and beds comfortable. Very competitive price. Would thoroughly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciaalice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Larry's Lodge is an excellent B&B. From the warm welcome to the attention to detail ((HEAVY cotton bath robes are divine!!)) and FIRM comfy beds with home made patch worked cushions to prop yourself up on to watch TV if you don't fancy the evening entertainment of Keswick and... the home made bread & marmalade for breakfast: this place is great. If you want attention to detail then investigate the room and you will find blankets and even a hair dryer. Me I like I rough towel as my thinning fur gets a bit "frizzy" with the warm air machine but that's just me:))

If you are looking for somewhere to hang your head close to the town that's friendly, with super home cooked local food for breakfast and above all... ___!!QUIET!! ...___where you can even take a canine companion and still be assured of a warm welcome and great time.... then look no further.
If you don't have a dog of your own- but wish you did or a family yet and dont ((and are VERY glad of it)) I highly recommend you stay here: there is a calm relaxed energy about the place that makes it as much a home away from home as you could wish for.
I will be staying at Larry's place again I hope...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
478 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cragside
Cragside
#92 of 189 in Keswick
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#79 of 189 in Keswick
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#7 of 9 in Portinscale
155 reviews
5.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larry's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larry's Lodge

Address: 39 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £80 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sue and Dave look forward to welcoming you to Larry's Lodge B&B, a slate constructed town house in Keswick. Our pet friendly, 4 star establishment has en-suite twin and double and rooms plus a compact, standard single with private bathroom & shower room. We are ideally situated for Keswick town centre ( 6~8 mins walk ) and the Theatre By The Lake ( 15 mins walk ). Come and try our homemade bread and marmalade with your breakfast. Cyclists and walkers welcome. We can offer plenty of advice on what to do, where to eat plus information about lots of local walks with good places to paint and sketch. Free WiFi for our guests. Maximum 1 dog per room. Please check our DOG RULES before booking dogs. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Larry's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larry's Lodge Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing