We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yuk!!!!”
Review of Lake Road Inn

Lake Road Inn
Ranked #54 of 129 Restaurants in Keswick
Price range: US$1 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yuk!!!!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

this pub could be really lovely but the food really lets it down, its great for a drink but the food is the worst I have ever had, we had the fish and it was pure grease and the fish was like slime disgusting, my friend had a pie and the meat was fatty and tasted vile, also listening to how drunk the bar staff got was not very nice either they were talking about how drunk they got and how they were going to get even more drunk that night! what a shame as this pub could be really nice sort your food out!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    119
    51
    37
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just got off the Fells”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Had spent 3 hours walking on the fells in some the worst weather had seen in awhile with my partner, Father and 6month old Husky. We were cold and wet all the way to our base clothing. Shoes were like small buckets of water. So we decided to find a small quite pub so have a drink, some food and warm up.

We that's not possible at this pub. Firstly what type of pub doesn't do Hot Chocolate in the winter. Partner had a latté instead. Machine made and very small for the money. Me and my father had a beer which was ok and ordered 3 soups. We sat at a table next to the fire to help warm us up but after 15 minutes we were getting colder. The fire is clearly for decor only. Soup turned up and was the smallest bowl I've ever seen with half a par bake roll. Value for money? No.
After having soup we talked about moving as we were getting colder and were not warming or drying at all but had already organised to be picked up from there by a my mum and couldn't bare putting the wet jackets and shoes on to try and find another dog friendly pub.

I Think the only one of us that enjoyed it was my Husky as he's built for those cold temps.


Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty cold dingy and horrible just a few words i would use to describe this establishment”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Been once and never again. we where the only family in the pub and still had to wait an hour for uncooked food!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pub Lunch”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Traditional lakeland pub centre of town with fire. Had soup and sandwiches which were very good for the price paid. If you want modern, plastic etc this place is not for you!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Nice pub, awful food”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Giving another bad review of this is like ‘kicking someone when they are down’ but it is a decent traditional pub that should not attempt to serve food. They really have no idea.

The ‘kitchen’ which was open to view from our seat had 2 deep fat fryers and a bank of at least 4 microwaves.

As you can expect, steak pie (and there should be a law against microwaving pastry) was hot, but with part soft doughy and part dry and tough pastry. The roll of pastry around the edges was about 1” thick. The meat, beef I think, was dry and tough. Vegetables were overcooked (over microwaved?) and dried out.

Scampi was whole tail, but not special. Accompanied by ok chips and microwaved peas.
Gammon (no eggs, sorry the kitchen does not have any) would have come with pineapple, but they had run out!

Oh, I nearly forgot, “you won’t be able to sit there all night as we will be setting up the dartboard” As I said, a good traditional pub!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Road Inn also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Lake Road Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing