We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food ”
Review of Pack Horse Inn

Pack Horse Inn
Ranked #38 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
norwich norfolk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food ”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We were in Keswick on holiday and went in for some pub grub! Very nice pub with great food could not fault it! In fact we went twice! Defiantly worth a visit. The only thing I would say is there is not much variety on the menu

Helpful?
Thank nadineweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    231
    61
    43
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Attentive service, delicious food and impressive menu”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Couldn't be happier with our meal at the Pack Horse Inn. Reasonable prices, fantastic menu and delicious food. Staff could not do enough to help and we're accommodating of even our most eccentric requests. The restaurant was full, yet we didn't feel rushed to leave (as slow eaters who like to sit over an extended dinner this happens often!). Highly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Dissappointing”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice pub for a drink but very disappointing food. Would recommend trying some of other pubs in town if you're looking for a nice pub meal

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tomstevenswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Eat”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had been in to the Pack Horse for a drink prior to eating there. I understand it has recently changed hands. The day we were there was a young barman who could not do enough for you. He was almost running around serving drinks and changing barrels etc. We went in for a meal on a Sunday night and managed to get a table for 2 at the top of the restaurant. We could have asked for our drinks to be brought to us, but I wanted to try the different ales and these could be booked to our table. I had the trout which was absolutely great and very good value as well. My wife had the seafood risotto which she loved. Again the barman was about this time serving food, a great ambassador to the place. Would recommend and would go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cabbage57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality Beers, Quality Pub Grub!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Slightly tucked away just off the market place in Keswick we stopped in to avoid the infamous Lake District rain. We were hit straight away by some wonderful smells coming from the kitchen. After choosing a couple of drinks from the great selection of local ales on offer, we managed to grab the last remaining table in the pub. The food menu had a decent amount to choose from and catered for most tastes. A good array of meat and fish dishes (with a couple of veggie options too), all decently priced. Service at the bar was friendly and quick despite the pub being busy. The wait for our food was a bit long, but not unexpected considering how busy the place was. (And it did give me a chance to try some more of the beers on offer!!). When the food did arrive it was certainly worth the wait. Good portion sizes and very tasty indeed.

All in all, would definitely recommend this pub and will return on my next trip to Keswick!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevsams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pack Horse Inn also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Pack Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing