We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly staff”
Review of Cafe Bar 26

Cafe Bar 26
Ranked #30 of 157 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located on a bustling pedestrian street in the heart of Keswick, close to the busy market square and shores of Lake Derwentwater, Cafe Bar 26 is a relaxed Mediterranean style cafe bistro by day and a vibrant wine and cocktail bar in the evening with a unique atmosphere. Feeling peckish? We serve brunch and tapas Tuesday - Saturday 9.00am - 4.00pm. We also serve great illy coffee, interesting wines, continental beers, cocktails and champagne all day long! Perfect after a day on the fells or simply a stroll around the shops. There is also open mic night every Wednesday from 9.00pm. We are closed Mondays.
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Visit bar 26 for lunch and had a few great tapas that looked and tasted amazing. Would recommend the chorizo hash.
Good coffee and nice staff.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank kaylee101harp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2018

If you are looking for a nice place for Breakfast, Lunch or just a coffee, look no further. Cafe Bar 26 is a wonderful and different establishment. I went here several times with my wife, whilst on holiday and we had Tapas and drinks both breakfast and lunch, which were amazing.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

First visit to cafe and bar twenty six, customer service excellent, tapas ordered which was delicious. The ambiounce was relaxing with jazz playing in the background. Definitely return.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Culture561113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

We stopped in Keswick yesterday and went to Cafe Bar 26 again, not as busy as we have seen in the past but still the same, great service, music and food, although I have to say the portions (Spanish Tortilla) are getting smaller for more money.
Otherwise great.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PrimalSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Apparently no main courses were available until the week after our visit, wish that was made clear before we went in.

So had to pick from small plates served between 10am – 4pm.

Tired the brie, apricot & cranberry relish, a complete waste of money, it was even a starter size portion. A small bar of bounty would have been 3 times bigger than what they called a small dish in here.

Don’t know why they are allowed to serve pittance & no proper food, they were better off serving no food than the tiny useless so called portion that turned up.

It was a very bad first impression, & I can’t say that I will ever waste my time gracing this place, it not worth it.

Only 1 mediocre real ale, despite 3 listed in the books, they not actually in the café at all. So why list them ?

The hot chocolate is about one third of a pint, if that, it was ok, but minimal like everything they do in here.

A glass of plain tap water comes in a jar that plants should be in, not what you serve people to drink out of.

This place is fancy, overpriced, rubbish & over hyped.

I would have easily gotten into an argument with them if it wasn’t for my companions not wanting to cause a scene.

I recommend nothing in here.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank sportybirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Bar 26 also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Cafe Bar 26? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing