We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beckside Guesthouse
Ranked #47 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at the Beckside earlier this month.

When we first arrived and saw that it was a terraced house, we were not sure what to expect. So we were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the accommodation.

Because the house is located in a side street there is no designated parking, so we had to leave the car a little way down the street. However, later in the evening we were able to move the car right outside the house.

Naturally for a terraced house, the bedroom and en suite facilities were a little cramped (the wash basin was in the bedroom) but the very comfortable bed and the cleanliness of the room more than offset this.

Finally, the friendly welcome from the owner and the cup of tea on arrival are definitely worth a mention. As is the breakfast we were served the following morning.

I can thoroughly recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbbiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
101
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in September and are looking forward to returning in the Spring. Can't fault any aspect of our stay. We received a warm welcome and felt immediately at ease. Tracey and Andrew proved to be invaluable with local knowledge of good places to eat, where to walk in the Keswick area, where to visit by car etc. The room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped. Breakfast was a great combination, with a wide range of fresh seasonal fruits prior to the beautifully prepared Cumberland breakfast using local produce. Perfick.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here in September, 2013.

The location is great. It is within an easy walk of the town and all the restaurants. Parking is on the street, and was a little difficult. I had to park a block away, but we just dropped our suitcases off at the front door. My wife registered while I parked it, so it wasn't a problem.

Tracey and Andrew are as friendly, outgoing and welcoming as could be. We actually felt a bit bad leaving when it was time to go.

The place itself is immaculate! It wouldn't be sufficient to say it was clean - it was almost gleaming! It is decorated quite nicely and is very pleasant.

Breakfast was delicious with a whole array of fruits, etc in addition to the full English breakfast. Some other places that we stayed at also did this, but this array seemed especially appetizing.

This was a wonderful place to stay at, and it is definitely one of the best places we went to on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob33444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Can't fault this guesthouse everything was perfect. I would certainly return!

very friendly, rooms clean and comfortable, breakfast was very satisfying and set you up for the day.

Tracy and Andrew where more than helpfull when recommending things todo or places to go...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Thank you Tracy & Andrew for a wonderful stay at your b&b.the welcome and the superb accommodation is fantastic. Could not better. The full English breakfast, the rooms and the welcome we were given, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acapulco17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The hosts were excellent, as was the food and the bedrooms.
The location was ideal for the town centre, and for walking locally and the hosts were keen to help with recommendations for dinner or things to do locally.
Thank you very much, we hope to return soon.

Matt & Abi

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

After spending a couple of nights at this excellent guesthouse we would not want to stay anywhere else if visiting Keswick. We were welcomed by Tracey and Andrew and helped settle in. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean and fresh, with everything we could wish for. We were lucky enough to have room no 4 which was spacious and had lovely views from the large window. The breakfast was really good with fresh fruits, cereals, fruit juices etc. The full English breakfast was exceptional, the best we have ever tasted on our travels.
We found parking on the street no problem and being only a 5 minute walk into Keswick meant we didn't need to use the car at all.
We are hoping to return to Keswick and will definately be staying at this brilliant guesthouse again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boothferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
Dunsford Guest House
Dunsford Guest House
#31 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#36 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake View Guest House
Lake View Guest House
#3 of 9 in Portinscale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#72 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beckside Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beckside Guesthouse

Property: Beckside Guesthouse
Address: 5 Wordsworth Street, Keswick CA12 4HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Beckside Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beckside Guesthouse Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing