We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEW YEAR 2013/14”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beckside Guesthouse
Ranked #40 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“NEW YEAR 2013/14”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The nicest friendliest place i can honestly say i have stopped at,warm welcome ,lovely room,fantastic hosts,and the breakfast is brilliant foot long sausage etc etc .We shall return soon all the best Doug/Bev preston

Room Tip: twin room number one was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
105
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, taking a twin room and a double room. The twin room was a good size, while the double was a bit compact. Everything was spotlessly clean, and our hosts were very friendly and helpful. I loved the en suite bathroom and it's wonderful hot shower. Nice toiletries were provided. I really liked the marshmallows that were provided in the room, to go with the hot chocolate! I really really liked the breakfast, that came with all sorts of fruits ans greek yoghurt. This was followed by a full English breakfast with local cumberland sausage and bacon, tomatoes, eggs, baked beans, mushrooms (very tasty) and black pudding (yummy and crispy). Our hosts gave us a driving route to follow since it was so cold, and it was a lovely drive - great views! Very nice b and b - but please book (i booked on booking.com) because they only have 4 rooms!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luluuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had one night in this wonderful little guesthouse. Super-cosy, spotlessly clean, comfortable and attention to every detail. The breakfast was second-to-none. And above all, the couple who run it are wonderful people...they even gave us a lift to the station in the morning because my suitcase wheels were broken...no request needed for that, an immediate offer of help was forthcoming...thank you Tracy and Andrew...see you again one day!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KimArnold-Forster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have just returned from another super weekend at Beckside with Tracey and Andrew. This is the best B&B we have been to in Keswick. Excellent location, food, and cleanliness, with a lovely atmosphere, and they are a font of local knowledge! Very friendly couple who cant do enough for you. Excellent value for money. We would highly recomend The Beckside Guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grimbos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at the Beckside earlier this month.

When we first arrived and saw that it was a terraced house, we were not sure what to expect. So we were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the accommodation.

Because the house is located in a side street there is no designated parking, so we had to leave the car a little way down the street. However, later in the evening we were able to move the car right outside the house.

Naturally for a terraced house, the bedroom and en suite facilities were a little cramped (the wash basin was in the bedroom) but the very comfortable bed and the cleanliness of the room more than offset this.

Finally, the friendly welcome from the owner and the cup of tea on arrival are definitely worth a mention. As is the breakfast we were served the following morning.

I can thoroughly recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbbiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in September and are looking forward to returning in the Spring. Can't fault any aspect of our stay. We received a warm welcome and felt immediately at ease. Tracey and Andrew proved to be invaluable with local knowledge of good places to eat, where to walk in the Keswick area, where to visit by car etc. The room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped. Breakfast was a great combination, with a wide range of fresh seasonal fruits prior to the beautifully prepared Cumberland breakfast using local produce. Perfick.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here in September, 2013.

The location is great. It is within an easy walk of the town and all the restaurants. Parking is on the street, and was a little difficult. I had to park a block away, but we just dropped our suitcases off at the front door. My wife registered while I parked it, so it wasn't a problem.

Tracey and Andrew are as friendly, outgoing and welcoming as could be. We actually felt a bit bad leaving when it was time to go.

The place itself is immaculate! It wouldn't be sufficient to say it was clean - it was almost gleaming! It is decorated quite nicely and is very pleasant.

Breakfast was delicious with a whole array of fruits, etc in addition to the full English breakfast. Some other places that we stayed at also did this, but this array seemed especially appetizing.

This was a wonderful place to stay at, and it is definitely one of the best places we went to on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob33444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
Dunsford Guest House
Dunsford Guest House
#27 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#33 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake View Guest House
Lake View Guest House
#3 of 9 in Portinscale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#74 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beckside Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beckside Guesthouse

Property: Beckside Guesthouse
Address: 5 Wordsworth Street, Keswick CA12 4HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beckside Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beckside Guesthouse Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing