We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claremont House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claremont House
Ranked #21 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I would like to thank Phil and Joy for a fabulous few days, we had a good time catching up on what has been happening since our last visit
We had the pleasure of using the recently re-furbished Catbell's room, they have done this room to a very high standard. The en suite is modern and very tastefully decorated, the room itself has beautiful views which can be enjoyed from the seating area by the window. After a few hours hill walking there is nothing better than coming back to a nice comfortable room, and Catbell certainly ticks all the boxes. My wife and I will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
What can we say, you arrived as guests ,and are now our good friends. This is your 6th time of staying with us in the last 2 years. Thank you so much for your lovely comments on our refurbished Catbells room knew you would like it. Be seeing you both again sometime. Kind regards. Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
206
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

My Family and I stayed at Claremont House for one night. It was great. The owners are very helpful and excellent hosts. Gave us good recommendations of where to go for a walk and to eat. The bedrooms were nicely furnished and very clean. The breakfast was fantastic. You can choose what you like on your plate and there are toasters on each table, which I think is a great idea. The location of the B+B is good. About 15 min walk downhill to the centre and the taxi is only £2.90 back up. Bargain:)
I would definitely stay here again and would recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReetsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you for such a positive review, so pleased both you and your Mum and Dad enjoyed staying at Claremont House. Kind regards. Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Me and my long suffering girlfriend recently spent an all too brief nights stay here, and we were both highly impressed.

We were looking for an establishment for a one nights stay before moving onto a cottage we had booked for the week in nearby Braithwaite, and after research and reading a plethora of positive reviews about Claremont house, we chose here as our destination and it proved to be a most wise decision.

We had arrived early so we parked our car in the guests car parking area, inroduced ourselves to the hostess Joy, and made our way into Keswick for some shopping and tea and cake. The town is around a 15 minute walk, which is a highly agreeable stroll through pleasant residential areas.

We came back later on that afternoon to check in, and we were treated to a warm greeting and were made to feel very welcome. The host Phil offered us some excellent local information and made us both tea and cake, which was a lovely touch.

We stayed in the Fairfield room, which was a delight. It had a charming four poster bed, was tastefully decorated and had a wonderful cosy feel to it.

We both slept exceedingly well that evening.

We arose the next morning and were treated to a superb breakfast. The fayre on offer was hearty, well cooked and plentiful.

Me and my girlfriend both really enjoyed our stay here. The hosts were brilliant, the room superb and the breakfast first rate.

It set us up perfectly for a weeks assualt on the fells, which included a particulary thrilling, if somewhat tempestuous ascent of Blencathra, but that tale is for another time....

Will definately return in the future

Highly recommended

Room Tip: The Fairfield was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
So pleased you enjoyed the lovely Fairfield four poster room. Thank you for your kind comments.
We appreciate the time people take to give positive feedback. Kind regards Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We liked our first overnight stay so much that we returned a few days later for another two nights. Phil and Joy were excellent hosts, friendly and helpful and Claremont House was like a haven for us. The room(s) were spacious, lov ely and clean and bright with good hot showers and some extra chocolate goodies in with the tea/coffee and biscuits supplied. Claremont overlooks the town of Keswick, about a five minute drive away, and the views from the top rooms are just lovely. You can see across the town and beyond and also to the surrounding hills. A small farm close by provided relaxing entertainment as we watched geese, ducks and chickens going about their daily business of food foraging and getting the hierarchy just right! They were taken into safe areas at night, free from harm.
Breakfast was great, all you could want and the atmosphere was very pleasant. The breakfast room overlooks a very pretty garden area which also has plenty of parking space, a big ,big plus as it is very limited in most of the town centre accommodation. The town itself had all the facilities we needed; banks, good general shopping,eating places and a very clean self-service laundry with on- site staff. I think they do washing and ironing if you require it.
Do take the drive that Phil kindly suggests: he will show you the route and it's just glorious. We'd love to go back to Claremont House next time we are in the UK and highly recommend it to others for a most comfortable and happy stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyH335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Not only once but you returned again during your holiday for another stay with us. Thank you so much, very pleased you enjoyed Claremont House you came back for second helpings. Kind regards Phil and Joy.....hope you safely back home in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We came to stay on the 5th April 2013 and what can we say?? Absolutely Fantastic!!!
We were made to feel very welcome by Joy & Phil from the outset, which has always been important to us. The room we stayed in, Blencathra, featured an amazingly comfortable super king sized bed and great facilities. And, of course, the breakfast was to die for!! I would recommend Claremont House to anyone, satisfaction guaranteed!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corndoggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you very much...it is reviews like this that make all our hard work so worth while. We really
appreciate you going on- line and taking time to give us such brilliant feed back. Kind regards Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We booked to stay for three nights and arrived a bit early but our really comfortable room was ready. Joy welcomed us in and straight away brought us Tea and cake while we unpacked. The weather was bright but there was a cold wind blowing. Our room "Catbells" however, was toasty warm and the shower always had plenty of hot water for when we returned from our days out. We also had a wonderful view of latrigg across the valley. The whole place is spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are fit for a King! It's more than a meal, it's part of the Claremont House experience - I have never seen so much choice outside of a large Hotel.
There are plenty of published walks to do in the area but Phil has gone one step further and can provide excellent detailed walks that you can do from the doorstep of the guest house.
Phil and Joy are so in tune with all their guests it seemed as though our every need was anticipated. Your whole day can be planned or fine tuned as you are being served breakfast. There is no doubt that this is the best B&B we have ever stayed in and we would have no hesitation in recommending Claremont House to anyone wishing to visit the Keswick area of the Lake District. Would we go back? Yes. Without a shadow of doubt. Looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you both so very much for such a wonderful review...we are over the moon...it is so good to hear that we are achieving such high standards in looking after our guests. It makes all our hard work so worth while, this is a marvellous accolade..Thank you..Kind regards Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We were after a quiet little bolt hole for a night away from wedding planning and this b+b on the outskirts of Keswick didn't disappoint. We recevied a friendly welcome from the owners and when shown to our rooms it was bright, clean and luxurious with great views. We were there on the snowiest weekend of the year...even in March and the thick duvet and complementary kitkat to go with our coffee was much appreciated. Come tea time, it was only a 5 minute drive down the hill in to town, and had it not been ankle deep with snow and blowing a gale we could have happily walked it. The following morning breakfast was hot, fresh and made to order. There was also a wide variety of cereals, fruits, yoghurts and juices for anyone who couldn't tackle the full english on offer. Post breakfast we were given a few pointers on walks around the area - although our stroll up the hill to the nearby Castlerigg Stone Circle was slightly hampered again by the arctic conditions. All in all we would definitely go back if we were in thee area again. ps. keep an eye out for the little red squirrells in the garden.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Lovely review thankyou,... Even with the deep snow you still enjoyed your mini break with us. So pleased you had a great time.. All the best to you both on your forthcoming wedding. Kind regards. Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#8 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#20 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#40 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brookfield B&B
Brookfield B&B
#18 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#32 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont House

Property: Claremont House
Address: Claremont House Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Claremont House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Claremont House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing