We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Margaret B. "Perfect stay"”
Review of Claremont House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claremont House
Ranked #34 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Just returned from three nights at Claremont House where everything was perfect! Lovely, spotlessly clean room and en suite (Skiddaw) with amazing two way views to Latrigg and Skiddaw and across the town to Derwentwater and Catbells. Full English Breakfast was delicious each morning and a nice touch - a toaster on each table so that we could have toast exactly when we wanted it without it getting cold! We asked for a packed lunch each day and they were amazing - plenty of sandwiches, crisps, fruit and biscuit all for £4.75! We almost didn't need to eat out in evening! But we did! The walk into town took 15 minutes and was a gentle uphill stroll on way back, to work off some of the pasta and wine we consumed! Phil and Joy couldn't have been more helpful. We can't recommend Claremont House highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you both for a wonderful review. We are so pleased you had a great time here. Such positive reviews are for us a great marketing tool , and the icing on the cake. Kindest regards. Phil and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Phil & Joy have worked really hard to turn Claremont House into a first rate B&B which is second to none. You are assured of a very warm welcome which continues throughout your stay. The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds & lovely shower rooms with plenty of hot water. The breakfasts are cooked to order, of superb quality with the black pudding meriting a special mention .Each table has its own toaster thus enabling toast to be done to your own liking. If you want the best then this is it. Great views & a red squirrel in the garden.
Malcolm & Christine Andrews Lowestoft Suffolk

Room Tip: All upstairs rooms have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you both so very much for a wonderful review. We were so pleased to see you both again. People arrive as strangers and become friends. You are right when you say we have completely re furbished Claremont House since we took over in 2011. We are happy that you both like the results.... Also smiled when you mentioned the black pudding. it goes down a treat, doesn't it, a real winner, with our guests.
Kindest regards. Phil and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Four nights,fantastic breakfasts (must have the sausage and black pudding) Phil and Joy were very welcoming, cup of tea and cakes on arrival, we stayed in the "Fairfield Room" which had a great view out over the trees which the Red Squirrel is sometimes seen. Even had a small cake on my Birthday, which was why we were there. Phil was full of info about the area which was helpful, the stay was great, everywhere was warm when coming in from a walk, and the room was very comfortable and very clean, thanks Phil & Joy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

What a wonderful review, thank you both very much. So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Claremont House Keswick. Kindest regards. Phil and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We booked a 4 night stay at this wonderful B & B, staying in Skiddaw. Phil & Joy are excellent hosts, welcoming us with tea & cakes. The room is tastefully decorated, clean & very comfortable with amazing views on 2 sides (a beautiful sunset one evening). There is plenty of choice for breakfast & Joy's Full English is a great start to the day. Claremont House is well situated not far from the centre of Keswick with good off-road parking. Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

So good to see you both again. It is a great testament to us that you come back to Claremont House time and time again. So pleased that you enjoy yourselves here so much. Until the next time. Kindest regards. Phil and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This B & B couldn't be faulted. The owners, Phil and Joy, were delightful and a real pleasure to meet. The accommodation was excellent (we were in the Garden Room), we enjoyed watching the birds and were fortunate to see the resident red squirrel two days running. The breakfast was superb, and a great start to the day. Even the weather was kind!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arogash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. Very much appreciated. Kindest regards. Phil and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed in Blencathra with mum for a girly weekend away. Can't fault the room, the facilities or Phil & Joy who provide an array of day trip ideas and clearly love the area just as much as everyone who visits. Fantastic breakfast!! Plenty of choice. We enjoyed the 15min stroll down into town, had a good mooch round some lovely quirky shops and gazed in awe at the surroundings when we took the boat ride around Derwent water (55min round trip). Will be back with my other half to tackle some more heavy duty walking...all with the knowledge that you come back to a warm, comfy, peaceful room at the end of the day :) Thank you for making us welcome!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you very much, so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Claremont House, and that you will be returning to us. Look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards. Phil and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Booked the Catbells room for a weekend away for my boyfriends birthday - this room is wonderfully cosy and comfortable, tastefully decorated, and spotlessly clean.
Phil and Joy are marvellous hosts, giving us plenty of local information regarding restaurants, and the best start to our walk up Walla Crag. Nothing was too much trouble!
The location is perfect, and dead easy to find.
Breakfast was amazing!! Freshly cooked, and bang on the time we requested it for.
Thanks so much to Phil and Joy for having us. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to review Claremont House . Such positive comments like these is brilliant marketing feedback, very much appreciated. Kind regards Phil and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
4.2 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
607 reviews
0.6 mi away
Edwardene Hotel
Edwardene Hotel
#25 of 189 in Keswick
282 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hermiston Guest House
Hermiston Guest House
#2 of 6 in Braithwaite
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grange Country House
The Grange Country House
#20 of 189 in Keswick
431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
570 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverside Escape
Riverside Escape
#27 of 189 in Keswick
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont House

Address: Claremont House Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Claremont House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Claremont House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing