We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”
Review of Lakes Bar & Bistro

Lakes Bar & Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Lakes Bar & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 129 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A relaxed Bar & Bistro Offering Excellent Cask Beer, Lager, Cider & excellent wines together with Locally Sourced Freshly Cooked Food.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved the food here! Fresh and fantastic. The staff were lovely and polite, making the meal even more enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank ATurnock_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    160
    63
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“return visit, again”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Called in here again after being here a few weeks ago. I chose chicken pie with home made chips, my wife chose steak pi with chips. Both meals didn't take long to arrive. Both piping hot and very tasty.price wise £10 ish. Not really that bad but I did notice that 8oz gammon and chips was a staggering £12.95! We do expect the lakes to be more expensive than most but gammon being one of the cheaper cuts of meat at £8.0 would have been enough. The coledale for 14oz is £10.95. Let's give a big welcome to Wetherspoon's when it arrives. Hopefully the greedier inns in Keswick will adjust their prices or unfortunately, due to nothing other than greed, shut!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tomturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super Value”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have been in the area on and off over the past 3 years but this is the first time we have tried the Lakes Bar (you get stuck in your ways very quickly!!!!). Meeting up with friends during the Keswick convention this proved to be the easiest point to do so. We were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff and having met there for coffee and cake 3 days running decided to have lunch too. We were not disappointed as the food was beautifully presented and a joy to eat. Many thanks for helping make our stay in the area even better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“love lakes!!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We went to the lakes bar and bistro on Tuesday 15th July , there was 5 of us in total. To start with we kept it simple with a pea and ham soup and a few garlic ciabattas with and without the sunblushed tomatoes, exquisite!!! I then had the pork which was cooked to perfection, all the portions were very generous and you definitely get your money's worth. Because it was my birthday my other half had arranged for a birthday cake to come out at the end, the staff were very attentive and well mannered and even sang happy birthday .. loved every minute of our time there... we even got engaged. Excellent food excellent service, will definitely be going back!!!

Helpful?
Thank Staci_1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic value”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Wow, for under £11 I had one of the best meals ever. Triple cooked chips with ham and leek pie (short crust pastry top) and chunky (probably steamed) vegetables. All done to perfection, with love, care and a smile on the face of the three male serving staff which is unusual. They worked well as a team and engaged well with us.

Preceded with scallops which were outstanding. Topped off with a Creme brûlée to die for. George had salmon fillet which was delicious too. Very nice ambience in bistro and on this experience deserves a better rating than 14th

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DealOr N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakes Bar & Bistro also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Lakes Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing