We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit we had really enjoyable stay”

The Winchester in Keswick
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Winchester in Keswick
Ranked #90 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit we had really enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 25 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Winchester in Keswick earlier this month and I can honestly say it is one of the best Guest Houses we have ever stayed at. We were extremely impressed with every aspect of our stay. The place was exceptionally clean and well maintained. Our room was on the front and had great views.
Kens breakfasts were the highlight of our stay and far exceeded our expectations and way above any we have had elsewhere on our travels.
Ken and Dawn were great hosts and we are looking forward to a return visit very soon.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jake5257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We stayed here for two nights just recently. The accommodation was excellent & very clean. It was also central to Keswick. Facilities were great with tv & wifi. The owners were friendly & attentive without being intrusive - just the right level. The breakfast was fantastic - the best we have had from any hotel or b & b. None of the negative comments above were relevant during our stay - we were made to feel positively welcome. I would stay here again & recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgofton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Stayed here whilst sampling some Keswick walking....the couple that run the Winchester were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. Would definitely stay again. Excellent value

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gio183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We have just returned from a really wonderful 3 nights stay at The Winchester in Keswick.
Dawn and Ken were superb hosts and could not have been more welcoming and made us feel so at home. Nothing was too much trouble and they were full of good ideas and advice about where to eat out and places to visit etc.
Kens breakfasts were second to none and we would highly recommend the Full Breakfast as you will not need to eat anything else until teatime!!
We are already looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Waltham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Even as we set foot through the door we where put out by the owners attitude, insisting that we took our shoes off at the door, even though we obviously had to go back out to the car for our bags etc and had only walked from the car to the door. Had we been coming back from a walk with muddy boots, that may have been understandable.

Each time we came down the stairs, one of the owners would be hovering in the entrance to their accomodation watching what you was doing, which made each of us uncomfortable. Again, each time we returned we would be pounced on to remove our shoes in the porchway - how on earth can four people do this at the same time if it is raining outside.

One morning, my breakfast plate was removed from in front of me while I was still eating! and one evening "while seeing us out" the door was closed on the back of my friend by one of the owners, while trying to put her shoes back on!

All that aside, the place was very nice and breakfast was OK, if not just a little pretentious, it is a guest house afterall, not a michelin star retaurant. Very well situated for the town centre and access to Skiddaw.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stevina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Stopped here for one night on our way back from Stornoway with my Dad after some family history tracing. Could not fault the servcie provided by Ken and especially Dawn. They are both very friendly and welcoming. Even though I had only chatted on the phone with Dawn a few times, it felt like we had known each other for years.

The B&B is spotless, had a great night's sleep. Ken's breakfast is superb, with a different twist to his eggs and mushrooms. Made a change from some of the other meals we had had.

The "locking the front door thing" that has been commenetd on by some of the other reviewers never really bothered Dad or me, there is obviously a reason for it. Though when you see all the horse racing memorabilia on the walls, I wouldn't want someone walking in and taking anything if it was my souvenirs.

Everything was perfect, just a shame it was only one night!

Car parking can be difficult in these streets, but we had no problems and Keswick is so pretty that once you have parked up, everything else is a short walk away.

Absolutely love Keswick. Came here on my wedding anniversary with my wife in 2009 and really enjoyed our stay, one of the prettiest places in the Lake District.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony_Corner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic 4 nights stay at The Winchester in Keswick.
We cannot praise it high enough. Ken and Dawn were wonderful hosts, They were very informative and full of advice about things to do and places to go and see and were more than happy to book tables at local restaurants for us.
Our room was lovely, very clean and fresh. There were also many little extra touches that made it so much better than your usual B and B!
The Breakfasts were fabulous and so much choice. It was served on hot plates and all presented beautifully. You really should try Kens poached eggs. They were delicious.
We would thorougly recommend this place to our friends and are looking forward to returning again very soon. Probably October on their special 4 or more nights deal.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natty28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Cragwood Guesthouse
Cragwood Guesthouse
#105 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorchester House
Dorchester House
#97 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paddock Guest House
Paddock Guest House
#113 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Dolly Waggon Guest House
#94 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#87 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.4 mi away
West View Guest House
West View Guest House
#62 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester in Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester in Keswick

Property: The Winchester in Keswick
Address: 58 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Winchester In Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing