We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere, great breakfast”

The Winchester in Keswick
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Winchester in Keswick
Ranked #111 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Stayed here whilst sampling some Keswick walking....the couple that run the Winchester were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. Would definitely stay again. Excellent value

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gio183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2010

We have just returned from a really wonderful 3 nights stay at The Winchester in Keswick.
Dawn and Ken were superb hosts and could not have been more welcoming and made us feel so at home. Nothing was too much trouble and they were full of good ideas and advice about where to eat out and places to visit etc.
Kens breakfasts were second to none and we would highly recommend the Full Breakfast as you will not need to eat anything else until teatime!!
We are already looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Even as we set foot through the door we where put out by the owners attitude, insisting that we took our shoes off at the door, even though we obviously had to go back out to the car for our bags etc and had only walked from the car to the door. Had we been coming back from a walk with muddy boots, that may have been understandable.

Each time we came down the stairs, one of the owners would be hovering in the entrance to their accomodation watching what you was doing, which made each of us uncomfortable. Again, each time we returned we would be pounced on to remove our shoes in the porchway - how on earth can four people do this at the same time if it is raining outside.

One morning, my breakfast plate was removed from in front of me while I was still eating! and one evening "while seeing us out" the door was closed on the back of my friend by one of the owners, while trying to put her shoes back on!

All that aside, the place was very nice and breakfast was OK, if not just a little pretentious, it is a guest house afterall, not a michelin star retaurant. Very well situated for the town centre and access to Skiddaw.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stevina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Stopped here for one night on our way back from Stornoway with my Dad after some family history tracing. Could not fault the servcie provided by Ken and especially Dawn. They are both very friendly and welcoming. Even though I had only chatted on the phone with Dawn a few times, it felt like we had known each other for years.

The B&B is spotless, had a great night's sleep. Ken's breakfast is superb, with a different twist to his eggs and mushrooms. Made a change from some of the other meals we had had.

The "locking the front door thing" that has been commenetd on by some of the other reviewers never really bothered Dad or me, there is obviously a reason for it. Though when you see all the horse racing memorabilia on the walls, I wouldn't want someone walking in and taking anything if it was my souvenirs.

Everything was perfect, just a shame it was only one night!

Car parking can be difficult in these streets, but we had no problems and Keswick is so pretty that once you have parked up, everything else is a short walk away.

Absolutely love Keswick. Came here on my wedding anniversary with my wife in 2009 and really enjoyed our stay, one of the prettiest places in the Lake District.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony_Corner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic 4 nights stay at The Winchester in Keswick.
We cannot praise it high enough. Ken and Dawn were wonderful hosts, They were very informative and full of advice about things to do and places to go and see and were more than happy to book tables at local restaurants for us.
Our room was lovely, very clean and fresh. There were also many little extra touches that made it so much better than your usual B and B!
The Breakfasts were fabulous and so much choice. It was served on hot plates and all presented beautifully. You really should try Kens poached eggs. They were delicious.
We would thorougly recommend this place to our friends and are looking forward to returning again very soon. Probably October on their special 4 or more nights deal.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natty28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Just come back from a 3 night stay at The Winchester. Very good value. Ideal location, friendly hosts, nice room and the most fantastic breakfasts! Try Ken's twist on 'egg on toast'! And you won't need lunch after the full English breakfast!
Parking is on the streets outside, but there was never a problem finding a space, despite the fact Keswick was extremely busy with a convention. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly be booking again when we go back to Keswick next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juwat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Can't go wrong here. Dawn and Ken are great hosts. Rooms were fresh. Breakfasts were delicious. Our shower went wrong and they immediately upgraded us. They were full of information and very friendly. Only quibble is the front door thing: you have to unlock and relock it, and with gear or luggage, kind of a pain. Other than that, it was great.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noscreennameUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
797 reviews
5 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester in Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester in Keswick

Address: 58 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Winchester In Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing