We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend away in the Lakes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of LakeSide House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
LakeSide House
Ranked #12 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
doncaster
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend away in the Lakes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Just returned from a lovely weekend in Keswick at Lakeside House.
Location is perfect just yards out of the town centre and a stroll to the lake and stunning countryside.
Room was spacious and immaculately clean with large windows and great views of the hills.
Breakfast was very tasty, the service was faultless.
We managed 3 walks in the 2 days we stayed - views from Castlehead were breathtaking.Keswick town centre was very nice shopped and ate at nite in the Inn at Keswick and the George Hotel ( the Cow pie isnot for the faint hearted ).
Overall couldn't fault our stay in any way and will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
We are very pleased to hear you had a lovely weekend away. Keswick is an ideal place to wind down and relax for the weekend, or like yourselves explore the country side. Thank-you for taking the time to place a review about Lakeside house.

Much appriciated,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
370
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We have stayed at Lakeside House three times. It is by far the best BnB/Hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere! Peter and his staff are so helpful and accommodating, especially with regards to the fact that we can only stay one night due to working commitments and I know they operate a 2 night minimum occupancy. Breakfast is superb! Will be returning in June.
Richard & Lorna, Last Stay, Sunday 19th Feb 2012

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
It's always nice to hear that our guests are returning to Lakeside House. We try our hardest to accomodate for special requirements. Thank-you for the review and we look forward to seeing you agian in June.

Kind Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Lakeside house is lovely, we stayed in room 2 which is huge! The views of the mountains are stunning. We were very impressed with this place, spotlessly clean, very comfy bed and breakfast was lovely - really good quality. The owner was really helpful with dinner recommendations and we were really chuffed with the secure storage for our beloved mountain bikes. One tiny point is that there was no recycling facility in room - something we have admired in other lakes b n bs. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forkie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank-you very much for the 'Fab' review, glad you enjoyed your stay. We try our best on advising guests on where to eat and places to see. The bike storage and boot room has been popular with other guests too. We will take into consideration your recycling point.

Kind Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed here for a weekend of walking in the Lake District. Keswick is a very good base from which to explore the district and the LakeSide a really nice base to come back to after a day of walking - warm, comfortable, clean and modern. The breakfast was hearty and the staff friendly and helpful. I would certainly go back next time I visit the Lake District.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stipendiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Keswick is indeed an ideal base for discovering the delights of the Lake District and there is so much to explore right on the doorstep. We are glad you had such a good time doing that and I hope our hearty breakfasts set you up well for a day’s walking! Thank you for taking the time to place your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to LakeSide House in the future.
Kind regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Fantastic room with a brilliant view, incredible build quality, friendly, historic (M.Winner) breakfast, it doesn't get any better than this, I will be back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a stunning view out over Hope Park towards the Lakeland fells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancsBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for such a great review! Care was taken during the refurbishment to ensure luxurious, contemporary and comfortable accommodation; we aim to offer something special to all our guests – it is always good to know that our efforts are appreciated. We hope to see you here again soon.
Kind regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Very warm welcome to this pretty guest house. Ideally situated close to the town and lake. Walking distance to some very good eating places. Spotlessly clean in all areas of the guest house. Staff always willing to help in any way. Views from the twin room across towards Cat Bells very impressive. Would go back and recommend this to my friends and family. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor facing the hills have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judiloo2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor; we are so pleased you had such a good stay with us. We have many excellent eating places in Keswick offering a great variety of types of cuisine, and we only recommend those that have had good reports from our guests. We are very happy to organise restaurant reservations in advance, one less thing to have to think about on arrival. We hope to see you again in the future – thanks again.
Kind regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here last weekend and was really impressed. Huge room, fantastic bed and pillows - everything's spotlessly clean (my wife is very fussy!) Very comfortable all round. Very central just a short walk into town and right next to the park and just a gentle stroll to the lake and theatre. Breakfast excellent. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghelliwell2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for your great review, and mention of the beds! They are the most comfortable we could find (memory foam makes all the difference). With feather pillows and duvets plus fine linen bedding we hope we have all the ingredients for a good night’s sleep. Thanks again.
Kind regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LakeSide House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeSide House

Property: LakeSide House
Address: Lakeside House 40 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — LakeSide House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside House has been completely restored, redecorated and refurnished, to offer luxurious and contemporary guest accommodation for visitors seeking a special bed and breakfast stay in Keswick. The accommodation offers fourteen spacious en-suite bedrooms available to view through the virtual tour on our website where its recommended you book direct for a guaranteed best price. Our bedrooms have spectacular views of the surrounding Mountains and parks. We are just a few minutes flat walk from the shore of Derwentwater and The Theatre By The Lake. Free parking is available to all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your LakeSide House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside House Hotel Keswick
LakeSide House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing