We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would impress the fussiest of guests”
Review of LakeSide House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
LakeSide House
Ranked #11 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tonbridge
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Would impress the fussiest of guests”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Lakeside House for a second time, May 2014. This time we took my parents, who have travelled the world far and wide. They said that Room 2 was the nicest suite they have ever stayed in. Lakeside has more of a hotel feel about it, than a B and B. It is spacious, and the staff are extremely welcoming, but never intrusive. There are many very nice touches, high quality furnishing throughout, a comfortable sitting area, a stylish breakfast room, stunning Lake District photography, ice machine and fridge on the landing, high quality toiletries. If you are in two minds about whether or not to choose this B and B, I would recommend it highly. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a beautiful, comfortable, very spacious suite, with views (and binoculars) that would keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonbridgeJollyyolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and for such positive feedback. We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us again at LakeSide House and were so pleased that your parents enjoyed their stay and in particular their room. Room 2 is ideally placed in the house as it has the unobstructed views of the mountains but also benefits from the second large bay window looking up towards the Theatre by the Lake and Derwentwater. To receive feedback like you have given is brilliant and we have shared your comments with the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    39
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
398
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Lakeside House is a sleeper of a place. Tucked away from the town center literally on the lake side of town-this is a quiet getaway. The ba-a-a-ing of lambs gently woke us mornings. The views were spectacular of mountains and the Hope Park. Great staff. Nice breakfasts. Comfortable bedding. Contemporary furnishings in an antique structure!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review and I hope the bustle of London wasnt too much of a shock after having such a relaxing time with us here at LakeSide House. Your feedback and comments are greatly appreciated and as with all of our reviews we have shared it with the rest of the team, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from 13th-16th May and had a fab stay. We were in room 2 which was spacious, decorated to such a high standard not like usual b&bs, the views of the mountains were spectacular even had binoculars provided, bottled water selection of teas coffee everything you needed. Bathroom was great, big fluffy towels, amazing power shower, stocked with full sized toiletries from pure lakes, we purchased some for home before we left Keswick they are lovely. Breakfast was good choice of hot & cold selection, catered well for vegetarians. The place is immaculately clean throughout I could not pick one fault with anything. Lindsay was such a welcoming host, chilled our wine, offered us raincoats & wellies when she thought we didn't have any with us. We are planing our next visit as we had a such a wonderful time here, really recommend it to all.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AsDillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review and for such good feedback. The views from Room 2 are stunning and we are so pleased you enjoyed them. We have tried to think of the best ways for guests to enjoy their rooms as much as possible and the binoculars have proved to be hugely popular, not least because you can sit at night and look at the fells you walked that day. Thank you again for such a positive review and we look forward to seeing you both soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is our 4th time at the Lakeside for our annual trip to the Keswick Jazz Festival and once again had a great time. There are many things that make the Lakeside so special: the friendliness of the staff, the lovely, spacious rooms, the brilliant location and probably the best views imaginable. I look forward to our next visit - hopefully sooner than next year!

Room Tip: There is no lift so avoid higher floors if you have any mobility issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for choosing LakeSide House once again it was brilliant to have you both stay with us again and we look forward to your next visit. We would agree with your feedback on the top floor rooms wholeheartedly, the views you wake up to each morning are just out of this world but being on the third floor it isnt for those who are not "stair friendly", that said you do at least earn your breakfast each day!. See you both soon and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in room 16. The location is fantastic - amazing views from the bedroom, coupled with the convenience of Keswick town centre only being a 5 minute walk away. The bedroom & en-suite were a very good size and decorated extremely well. The breakfasts were great and all the staff were incredibly friendly & polite. A thoroughly enjoyable & relaxing break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at LakeSide House. Its fantastic to hear that you will return as we are always delighted when a guest returns, it shows us we are doing what we set out to do which is to provide the best accommodation, service and breakfasts to our guests. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights with family members who have stayed several times before. The decor was very modern and tasteful. Our room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and staff were friendly and attentive. A welcome short break.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for such fantastic feedback. We are always so proud when we are recommended to friends and family of our previous guests so to hear your feedback is brilliant. Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed in March, its a great base for exploring Derwentwater.

The rooms were well equipped, clean and modern, we stayed in the family suite which my kids loved.

The breakfast was really good quality, would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyM1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review and for such positive feedback, we look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
201 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
622 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LakeSide House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeSide House

Property: LakeSide House
Address: Lakeside House 40 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — LakeSide House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside House has been completely restored, redecorated and refurnished, to offer luxurious and contemporary guest accommodation for visitors seeking a special bed and breakfast stay in Keswick. The accommodation offers fourteen spacious en-suite bedrooms available to view through the virtual tour on our website where its recommended you book direct for a guaranteed best price. Our bedrooms have spectacular views of the surrounding Mountains and parks. We are just a few minutes flat walk from the shore of Derwentwater and The Theatre By The Lake. Free parking is available to all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your LakeSide House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside House Hotel Keswick
LakeSide House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing