We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, chic, contemporary guest house!!”
Review of LakeSide House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LakeSide House
Ranked #12 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Lovely, clean modern guest house. Friendly, warm and helpful staff. Our bedroom (we were upgraded on arrival to a premier room at no extra cost - room 4 ) was tastefully furnished and very clean. Comfortable superking size bed. Breakfast was ample, tasty and a good variety. Very short walk in Keswick centre but far enough out not to be disturbed by noise. Right next to the park and a short walk from Derwentwater. Great views! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritz102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, General Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2010

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at LakeSide House. We aim to offer a fantastic level of customer service as well as accommodation and reviews like your own show us we are heading in the right direction so thank you again for taking the time to leave your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2010

5 rainy days in August were made far more bareable by staying at the LakeSide House. We had a family room on the top floor over-looking the Golf Course. The quality of the accomodation was exceptional and the staff were very friendly: if we loitered downstairs for any length of time, tea and buscuits were always offered and I spent a couple of pleasant afternoons with a fresh brew, sitting in the bay window watching the inclemant weather outside and checking my e-mails using the Free WiFi. The breakfasts were excellent, the waiting staff friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A great location
with a good selection of quality restaurants and pubs within walking distance.

In such a competitive market, the LakeSide prices are more then most, but it was well worth the extra.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesbt_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, General Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We aim to ensure families like your own are well catered for and looked after and this is something we will continually look to improve upon. We look forward to your return visit and hope that the weather next time will be a little more forgiving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We had a wonderful stay, staff very friendly and professional. The room we had room 10 was spacious with brill views from both windows. The whole house was immaculate and very welcoming.
Keswick is a great place to visit with something for everybody, this hotel is well situated between the lake and the town all within walking distance.
We would recomend lakeside to everybody ( and already have ), my only concern would be the price of the rooms, paying that little bit extra is worth it for a special occasion but for the regular weekender it may be too much.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina_hutchinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, General Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2010

Thank you so much for your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and also that you got to see how fantastic Keswick is. We look forward to welcoming you back to LakeSide House, Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

we thoruoghly enjoyed our stay. Peter made us most welcome and couldnt assist more. The hotel is excellent throughout with a really nice room(s)- ours was No 3. The Hotel is well placed for the town centre. we will definatly visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick_burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, General Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2010

Thank you so much for your review, we aim to offer the highest levels of customer service and accommodation and maintain these ongoing. We look forward to welcoming you back to LakeSide House, Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I stayed with my wife and infant daughter in room 16 - a superking plus a single on the top floor with nice views in both directions. We spent more than we normally would on a B&B but felt that it was good value for the quality and size of room, and the *superb* location. It was a short stroll to Derwent Water, and the centre was even closer - in walking range for our 16 month old. There's only a shower, no bath, but our daughter was more than happy to bathe in the basin :) The shower was more than adequate (I mention this only because many aren't!)

You can get a free parking permit for the long stay car parks, but we never had any trouble getting a parking space on the street outside the B&B. WiFi was available in the B&B, though didn't quite reach to our room. It worked on the stairs outside :)

Breakfast was filling, but a little too formal for our tastes (we like the YHA :) ). Would be nice if jam was provided, rather than having to ask. Also, watch out for banging your head when standing up off the loo! These are minor points. We would stay here again.

The breakfast room runs as a coffee shop in the middle of the day. We never tried it, but thought it was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nutkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, General Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2010

Thank you for your review and your feedback on LakeSide House. We are always so pleased to hear of our guests enjoying not just our own facilities but Keswick as a location as well. Our aim is to offer the highest standard of customer service and accommodation and it is reviews such as your own that tell us what we are doing right and also give us ideas of how we could improve as well, so thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to LakeSide House in the near future,
Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We stayed in room 10 which was spotless, very modern, the staff were very welcoming, its in a central location and the breakfast was very good. Just one niggle-at £100 per night the room was quite small. Its layout was very awkward and the ensuite although stylish and spotlessly clean again was tiny. Everything else was very good.
That said I would still happily recommend this hotel if you are visiting Keswick

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottfreetracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, General Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on LakeSide House, we welcome all feedback from our guests. We regret that you had some minor issues with your rooms layout. During the refurbishment the restoration was completed in a way that was sympathetic to its original structure and as such the layout of some of the rooms was chosen with this in mind. We look forward to welcoming you back to LakeSide House and thank you once again for your review,
Kind Regards
LakeSide House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed here for a weekend last month - me, my husband and our 28 year-old son. We shared a superb light and airy suite with attractive decor that was spotlessly clean with wonderful views. Breakfast was excellent - a full range of choices with the best porridge that I have ever tasted! My husband and son climbed Scafell Pike on the Sunday and I explored the many delights of Keswick. The hotel has a very useful drying room if the weather is unkind, and a small gym should you hanker after indoor exercise! We spent Saturday exploring some local footpaths and cruising on the lake, collecting many memorable photographs. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough to you. Our hosts were interesting and attentive to all our needs, even recommending some excellent local restaurants. We shall certainly return and fancy a break in the depths of winter! It would be wonderful to be there in the frost and snow! Do try it for yourself.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeSide123, General Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2010

Thank you for your review we are always so grateful to receive feedback from all of our guests and to know that you have had such a good time is fantastic to hear. We aim to offer the highest standard of accommodation and customer service as possible and your review helps us to know we are certainly heading in the right direction. Your feedback on breakfast was also welcomed as we try to appeal to most tastes and offer something a bit different. We look forward to your return visit and seeing you again soon,
Kind Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
787 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#11 of 17 in Keswick
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LakeSide House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeSide House

Address: Lakeside House 40 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £82 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LakeSide House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside House has been completely restored, redecorated and refurnished, to offer luxurious and contemporary guest accommodation for visitors seeking a special bed and breakfast stay in Keswick. The accommodation offers fourteen spacious en-suite bedrooms available to view through the virtual tour on our website where its recommended you book direct for a guaranteed best price. Our bedrooms have spectacular views of the surrounding Mountains and parks. We are just a few minutes flat walk from the shore of Derwentwater and The Theatre By The Lake. Free parking is available to all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your LakeSide House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside House Hotel Keswick
LakeSide House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing