We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #49 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

The couple who run the B&B are fantastic. I needed a slightly earlier breakfast as leaving at 8.30. Nothing was too much trouble. Full English was delicious. Room very clean, shower always hot, lovely shortbread with tea & coffee making facilities. Reason I chose this was because it was dog friendly. I will book again if I stay in Keswick.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Rivendell for the weekend with my mother and dog. We initially chose it as it is 'dog friendly'. We were not disappointed and could not have chosen better. The owners are very friendly without being 'in your face' as you often find with B&B's and you feel totally at home and comfortable. Location is great, abundant street parking and a great breakfast (with even a sausage kept back for our dog). Highly recommended and we will look no further next time we return to Keswick.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank JonnyK1274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This B&B is in a great location. The couple who run it are lovely and very friendly. The breakfast is excellent. We stayed for a long weekend with our Labrador Jasper. Perfect dog friendly place and the pubs in Keswick are too. We give it a massive thumbs up.
Helen & Paul Beckett + Jasper. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Me and my mate stayed here for the Keswick Beer Festival (Room1).
Pat and Linda made us feel so welcome on arrival, we were then shown to our room which was spotless, modern and even had en-suite facilities which was great!.
Each morning we had amazing breakfasts which were delicious!

It was only a few minute walk from the City Centre which was perfect for us.

Overall, I would recommend this Guest House to anyone, throughout the whole stay they were very polite and friendly and the facilities were great.

We will definitely be going back.

From David and Luke.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I booked for 10 friends. We were taking part in a charity bike ride from Whitehaven to Tynemouth and this was our first stop. We stayed in rooms 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 & 7. The owners could not do enough for us. They greeted us and immediately took our bikes to a locked shed and showed us to our beautiful, spotlessly clean modern comfortable bedrooms. We were 4 minutes walking distance of the main restaurants, bar, shops area. The fabulous breakfast set us off for the day. I would thoroughly recommend this private B&B to anyone, we were well impressed. Thank you.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were excellent, good clean shower and comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend at Rivendell. We were given a friendly welcome on arrival and shown to our room ( Room 3). It was spacious and spotless. A family room with 3 beds and en suite. The room had great facilities and the most comfortable beds of any hotel I've ever stayed in. Breakfast was excellent - we really liked the granola and yoghurt as well as the super full English. It is a relaxed place to stay but the hosts are so helpful, happy to share their extensive knowledge of the area. Thanks to their advice we enjoyed a wonderful walk. The dogs were welcomed and even enjoyed a spare sausage after breakfast. This is a real gem of a guest house and we will certainly recommend to anyone. Thanks for a lovely weekend!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Philippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Was given a very warm welcome upon arrival and shown to a spacious clean room. Also, all efforts were made to guide and help with my travels and was very impressed with the breakfast and the welcoming atmosphere. Would recommend for walkers and all ages. I look forward to returning soon

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnretroreload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5.0 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
760 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
316 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Address: 23 Helvellyn Street, Keswick CA12 4EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £90 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendell Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell is a lovely victorian town house, with seven letting rooms. A large and light dining room. We have a drying room which doubles up as storage for bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing