We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base for exploring the Lake District”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gable Cottage

Gable Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gable Cottage
Wordsworth Street Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
68 reviews
Gable Cottage
Wordsworth Street
Lounge
Dining Room
Double Bedroom
Patio and Garden
Twin Room
Kitchen
4 Star Self Catering
Keswick Market
Catbells and Derwentwater
Lakeside
Keswick and Derwentwater from Latrigg
River Greta
Main Street
St John's Church In Bloom
Skiddaw In Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Penny J
Broadstone, Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring the Lake District”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Gable Cottage is spacious, well equipped and very well presented. It is in a quiet area bjt is within easy walking distance of the town centre. There is everything you could need fox self-catering and a good selection of books and games too.
I brought my bike as well as the car. There's good safe storage for both.
I would strongly recommend this property for a break in the Lakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, the location and the facilities.
Liked least: No downstairs loo - but there are two bathrooms upstairs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FTisbestt...
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent base, thoughtfully equippped”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Booked after previous Cumbrian Cottage fell through with 10 days notice. Well equipped with good size freezer, plenty of cutlery and crockery. Only complaint Duvets were a bit thin given the weather. we had elderly people with us so the different levels and steep stairs had to be tackled with care. Our Ford Focus fitted in the back access but we used on road parking to save stress.
Well situated only 5 mins from Town Centre on foot. we hope to use it again.
Lovely helpful contact with the owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Steep stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy C
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little house in Keswick”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a really well-equipped, lovely house in Keswick. It is very well-maintained and the owners have been really thoughtful in providing everything you need on your visit. There is a parking place accessed through a tight back lane, but I even got our medium-sized SUV into it, which is just as well, as parking was often difficult when we were there in half-term week. We quickly felt very much at home. The house is only a few minutes' walk from the main street of the town with lots of restaurants nearby. We certainly intend to return to this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There were lots of useful bits about the house, e.g. refills for everything
Liked least: Parking was a bit difficult at popular times but the parking space was decent if a bit tight to get into
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mazimo
Darlington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable roomy house in a quiet area”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this clean, well equipped house. The decor was modern and pleasing to the eye and I particularly like the fact there were two showers and bathrooms. Our car was small and we were able to park it in the rear of the house but this would be difficult with a large one. On street parking was a bit hit and miss, probably because it was the Mountain festival. There was plenty to occupy a small family in the way of DVDs, CDs and books and games,were the weather to be poor, but we had a good week and didn't have to use any of it. Being a regular visitor to Keswick I know this area is close to both Town and Fitz Park and I enjoy that. One of the best places we've rented in Keswick.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolf N
Grevenbroich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Over the years we have experienced quite a number of self catering accommodations in different European countries including the UK and never had a better one.
Every thing was fine: enough space, very well equipped and maintained, perfectly located (central and quite).
Just to mention: the private parking was really only suitable for a small car (Golf size max.), but it was not a problem to find a parking place in Wordsworth Street or close by.
If we should come back to the Lake District, this will be the place of our first choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the central heating
Liked least: the private parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
224Dawn
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable spacious cottage in convenient location”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A well located cottage five minutes' walk from Keswick centre and ten minutes from the lake. The property is very spacious and well equipped and would be suitable for a stay all year round. Would be happy to return.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magwat
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal for what we wanted”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The property was spacious, warm, well-equipped, conveniently situated in Keswick with easy access to pubs, restaurants, walks, buses and boats to take you further afield. Although parking was not a problem, a car was not essential to enjoy the Northern Lakes.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing