We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below Par!”

The Wild Strawberry
Ranked #2 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Small Local Family run coffee shop and restaurant offering light lunches,Homemade Soups,Scones,Cakes and vintage Afternoon teas ...Renowned for its full Cumbrian Breakfasts
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Below Par!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Choosing somewhere in Keswick for afternoon tea is no easy task, with so many cafes offering tasty treats its hard to pick one. My partner and I chose the Wild Strawberry because we thought it looked quaint and cosy. To our dismay it was a poor excuse for a cafe. I ordered a pot of tea and my girlfriend had a latte with soya milk.and we shared a caramel shortcake, my tea came in cheap greasy spoon looking metal pots and my partner said that her coffee was instant "rubbish". The shortcake seemed to us like it was shop bought. Not only this but the staff where more interested in chatting than looking after customers.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexanderK1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    117
    40
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“There are better...but there are worse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

In my stay in Keswick we visited here twice. The first time we went we just had a cake and a hot chocolate which came to a total of around £12.
The next day we decided that we would come back as the food was nice and it was a nice atmosphere. We sat upstairs and our order was taken quite quickly. Two of our group ordered the Cumbrian rarebit (Fancy cheese on toast) which cost £4.95, the others ordering sandwiches costing around £4.45 each. When the Cumbrian rarebit came it was one slice of overly done toast with cheese on it, a handful of salad and a little pot of compote. We were very disappointed. The sandwiches were nice but they really need to improve on portion size.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J_E_ABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Coffee shop in Keswick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

As i walked in to the cafe i was overwhelmed with delight when i saw all the lovley strawberry theme ,one member of staff greeted us at the door with a lovley warm smile and seated us at a table next to the window , I really liked the fact that the special board had a good selection for vegetarians.
Meals where gorgeous and we all walked out of the cafe very satisfied.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wild Strawberry Keswick.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Good place to stop for a mid afternoon pick me up. Nice cakes. Excellent service.

Helpful?
Thank Banditronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Scones and Cream (from an Aerosol)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Following the high scores given by other reviewers we decided to visit this establishment.
The last thing we expected, when ordering Scones, Jam and Cream, was for the Cream to be out of an Aerosol. Very disappointing.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank TobyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wild Strawberry also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Wild Strawberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing