We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss”

The Wild Strawberry
Ranked #2 of 15 Coffee & Tea in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Small Local Family run coffee shop and restaurant offering light lunches,Homemade Soups,Scones,Cakes and vintage Afternoon teas ...Renowned for its full Cumbrian Breakfasts
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I've had very nice visits to this cafe and then really mediocre ones. It just seems to depend on the day, which is never a good way to feel about a cafe or restaurant. When it works, it's very good - nice food, well-presented and so on.
It changed hands a few years ago and before that was quite different: a classy little place with proper, good quality service and food. These days it has tried to maintain the atmosphere it had before - along with prices to match - but lets itself down quite a lot.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at The Wild Strawberry, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review ,Perhaps if you could let us know exactly what your complaint with 'The Strawberry' was we could do something to improve.....How many years was it since it changed hands ? .... We are a very busy coffee shop offering what we believe to be a very good standard of food and coffee all from local suppliers we are always happy to accept criticism ....also,we have a very good base of regular customers both local and visitors ...Please feel free to ring me and discuss your recent poor experience... I doubt you will !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    120
    40
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“A good place for a light lunch”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I have been in here twice for a light lunch. The first time I had fish cakes and the second a baked potato. Both meals were very enjoyable. The soup looked good too. It's a handy place on the main street and always seems busy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alastair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick,
Level Contributor
178 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Perfect coffee or lunch stop”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We called in here on a cold, wet Lake District day, and had a delicious soup with a lovely chunk of bread, and a very good pot of tea. The homemade soup was about the best we have tasted, and the staff were cheerful and friendly. What more could you ask?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tracerWarwick_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have been here many many times and it is always nice. The staff are friendly and the food is fresh and tasty. Not overpriced either. Would definitely recommend, although you can't take pushchairs in.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cjh97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARNFORTH, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Afternon tea”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Nice little coffee shop. Enjoyable toasted sandwich and tasty soup. The choice of cakes was limited but we did visit late afternoon an half term Sunday so we opted for a cream tea which was lovely. Nice friendly staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wild Strawberry also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Wild Strawberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing