We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont miss it !”

The Wild Strawberry
Ranked #2 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Small Local Family run coffee shop and restaurant offering light lunches,Homemade Soups,Scones,Cakes and vintage Afternoon teas ...Renowned for its full Cumbrian Breakfasts
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“dont miss it !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Got to be the best afternoon tea ever. The scones were from heaven. The lemon drizzle cake oosed drizzle. And the tea was pleasantly wet. Thanks. Mike&Julie

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boags666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    117
    40
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eskdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favourite place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Always eat here when we visit Keswick. My 8 year old won't eat a fruit scone anywhere else. Food is always excellent - usually have soup (wch never fails to be extremely tasty), sandwiches, scones and cakes. All the family love it and eat it all!!!! Staff are great, friendly and really helpful. Love coming here and will keep doing so.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent cream tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We called here after trying a couple of other cafes in Keswick and finding that they had sold out of scones - at 3pm! We were told at the Wild Strawberry that they had no scones left either but, not to worry, there were some in the oven!

We ordered a pot of tea while we were waiting. Despite the fact that they were extremely busy, this was brought out very quickly by the charming waitress who told us that she would give us a top up if we needed one whilst we were waiting for the scones.

The scones, when they arrived were, indeed, hot and straight from the oven and I can honestly say that we have never had better. We had jam and clotted cream with them and at £2.50 they were a pound cheaper than those advertised (but not available) in the other cafes. Highly recommended!

Whilst we were waiting, the couple on the next table had a delicious looking afternoon tea brought to them on a large three tiered serving plate. They told us that they had had one before and so were sharing this one as it really was huge! The cakes looked mouth watering and were a really good selection and the sandwiches were generously filled. So, next time we go......!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“To expensive!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Went in as a easter treat for my daughter..also had my son with us who is a toddler.. came to £17 for 2 sandwhiches and a slice of toast for my son! And 3 soft drinks!! Not sure if i was over charged..but definetly wont be going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I've had very nice visits to this cafe and then really mediocre ones. It just seems to depend on the day, which is never a good way to feel about a cafe or restaurant. When it works, it's very good - nice food, well-presented and so on.
It changed hands a few years ago and before that was quite different: a classy little place with proper, good quality service and food. These days it has tried to maintain the atmosphere it had before - along with prices to match - but lets itself down quite a lot.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at The Wild Strawberry, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review ,Perhaps if you could let us know exactly what your complaint with 'The Strawberry' was we could do something to improve.....How many years was it since it changed hands ? .... We are a very busy coffee shop offering what we believe to be a very good standard of food and coffee all from local suppliers we are always happy to accept criticism ....also,we have a very good base of regular customers both local and visitors ...Please feel free to ring me and discuss your recent poor experience... I doubt you will !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wild Strawberry also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Wild Strawberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing