We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B, Will be going back!!”
Review of Pitcairn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pitcairn House
Ranked #9 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the weekend as part of a larger group, who were staying just around the corner. They wish they had booked in our bed and breakfast!! The room was a bit on the small side, but extremeley comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic, and the hosts Heather and Steve could not do enough for us. It is located right in the centre, about 5 mins walk to the market place. We will be returning here!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2011

3 of us went to Keswick as a base for climbing scafell pike up the Corridor route. Most B&B's were full and this was the only one I could find, which turned out to be a great spot of luck as it was brilliant!

We had the family room with 3 single beds, and everything was ready for us when we arrived.Very freindly - they recommended some lovely restaurants (including the famous gigantic cow pie, which was tremendous!). The breakfast was also amazing, and we were perfectly located a minutes walk from Keswick Town centre. It was a great base from which to pursue our climb, and a lovely place to return to at the end of a very tiring day!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend pitcairn house for anybody wanting to explore the area or just see Keswick.

Thanks for a lovely stay. The only thing that dissapointed me was the fact we had to leave very very early on the Sunday and so didnt' get to enjoy the lovely breakfast again :-)

Room Tip: Lovely view from the family room we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We recently enjoyed a two night stay at Pitcairn House and were very impressed. The B&B is in a great location, just around the corner from the town centre/restaurants/pubs etc. We found it the perfect base for some walking in the local area.
We stayed in the 'flexible' room which can be made up as a twin or double. The room was lovely; clean, well decorated, comfortable bed and lots of homely and thoughtful touches.
We particularly enjoyed the breakfast each morning - very yummy and set us up for a day's exploring!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CestrianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from a 3-night stay in Pitcairn House, and it was absolutely lovely! It's a gorgeous place and the decor is beautiful! Steve and Heather were wonderful hosts, incredibly accommodating and helpful with advice. They made it feel like a real home from home! I'm not sure you'd find a nicer place to stay in Keswick!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VKJBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

9 of us went up for the weekend in Keswick and the level of service from Steve and Heather was nothing short of superb - right from the email exchanges at the initial enquiries stage right up until the final goodbye.
This is a lovely and very reasonably priced B&B excellently situated for proximity to the town centre, restaurants, shops, Derwent Water, etc., as well as for stunning views of the surrounding peaks. Steve and Heather are a genuinely warm and lovely couple - they gave us the best tips on where to go and what to see and even made advance dinner reservations for us at a lovely restaurant when they knew it would be near impossible for us to find anywhere to accommodate a party of our size. (They also took care of all our wet and muddy gear after a particularly wet day's hike).
The rooms are well stocked, cosy and neat with stunning views and the breakfast selection quite varied. I will definitely choose Pitcairn House again for subsequent visits to Keswick.

Room Tip: The standard doubles on the top floor have amazing views! Even the toilet has amazing views.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deewhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed at Pitcairn with some friends recently and were met by Heather and Steve with a warm friendly welcome that lasted throughout our stay. Very helpful too with great recommendations on where to eat and walk! We will definitely go back. Only a couple of minutes from the pubs and the Market Place, very handy. Poppy and Daisy the family cats, were equally as friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey31780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We've just stayed for 2 nights and were made most welcome. Great breakfast and some good advice on where to eat and visit. Next time we come to stay we'll bring our dog as Keswick is really dog friendly. Give Steve and Heather a ring, they'll be only to pleased to help.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tramperfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
383 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#3 of 189 in Keswick
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitcairn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitcairn House

Address: 7 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £31 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitcairn House is a traditional slate built, Victorian Guest House conveniently situated within a few minutes walk of the picturesque northern lakes town of Keswick. All our rooms are centrally heated, pleasantly decorated and comfortably furnished with modern facilities including flat screen TV's, hospitality trays, hair dryers, fluffy towels, toiletries and other essentials. The whole area is surrounded by stunning mountains and scenic fell plus the shores of Derwentwater lake are but a 10 minute stroll away. Other local attractions such as the popular Theatre by the Lake, beautiful parks, museum, cinema, pitch and put, pleasure boats and launches are also nearby. We have a small private car park at the rear of the house with anchor points for m/cycles, a drying room and free connection to BT Superfast WiFi. We look forward to welcoming you into the warm, friendly atmosphere of our home soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pitcairn House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing