We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hosts”
Review of Pitcairn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pitcairn House
Ranked #9 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Esperance, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific hosts”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

In late September, we stayed 4 nights at this delightful little B and B. Stephen and Heather were very welcoming, helpful and genuinely interested in their guests. They went out of their way to make our stay rewarding. The rooms were very clean and breakfast was lovely. We will recommend this place to our friends in Australia.

Room Tip: Wifi is better at the lower levels and less stairs too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
It is always extremely gratifying when we receive such positive reviews and especially so from our overseas guest. We can honestly say that it was our pleasure to ensure you enjoyed your stay here in our home and, as you noticed and commented, we genuinely do take an interest in all our guests and try to ensure they all get the best experience possible. Thank you for all the lovely comments and we can assure you that any guests you recommend will definitely receive the same warm welcome and hospitality.

Best wishes Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    30
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
286
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A belated but well deserved review.

Stayed with my son for a walking weekend in the Lakes. Heather and Steve made us feel very welcome and have a beautiful home. The room was immaculate, with everything we needed and breakfast was amazing.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
We are more happy to have been able to contribute to making your visit an enjoyable one. So glad you and your son had a great weekend up here in the Lake District and hope you can both return soon. Thank you for taking the time to give us this review it is very much appreciated.

Kindest Regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My friend and I have just got back form a lovely weekend in Keswick staying at this amazing little bed and breakfast hotel. Steve and Heather could not have been any nicer and made is both feel welcome - nothing was too much trouble. Steve is the king of maps, if he doesn't have the map you are looking for he will draw you one and Heather has such a warm, vibrant personality by the time you leave you will feel like you have known her years.

Please don't pass by the chance to stay here.

Maria x

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariagrieco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
It was lovely to read your touching comments and we also felt that we got to know both you and your friend quite well during your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed staying at Pitcairn House and we hope that we see you both again soon as there is much more for you to explore and yes, we can supply you with a map if you need it..

Best wishes Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend had a lovely stay hear top B and B the room was really clean with everything u could ever need breakfast was to die for and the owners were really good and made us feel really welcome well worth a visit and will recommend to our family and friends and will be back again soon thank you

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank x26ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for the kind review and great to know you will be recommending friends and family as they say recommendation is the best form of advertising. Also good to know that you will be returning again soon and we are sure we can make your next visit just as enjoyable as the first.

Kind regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was our third trip to pitcairn house .Heather and Steve made us feel very welcome on our return.They are both very knowledgeable about local places to walk,whatever your ability.They also know all the best places to eat ! We sampled a few. Our bedroom was very comfortable , tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Must be the best B&B in Keswick and we look forward to our return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
It is always pleasing for us to receive any review but especially so from a regular guest who suggest we are possibly "the best B and B in Keswick". Hopefully it indicates that we are getting things right and unlike the weather we can guarantee all our guest a warm welcome and a hospitable atmosphere every visit.
We hope you manage to get back to see us soon and look forward to seeing you.

Kind regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janabiyah, Bahrain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

A fantastic welcome from our hosts Heather and Steve, it was like being part of their family. Lovely accommodation and a superb breakfast with plenty of choices. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Keswick.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thanks Paul, we hope all our guests feel like family and so glad you both enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you here again the next time you are back in the UK and please bring some of that sunshine with you. In the mean time have a great Christmas and all the best for 2014.

Best wishes Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Heather and Steve made me feel very welcome in their beautiful home
The room I stayed in was spotless, tastefully decorated and warm.
Heather had thought of some personal touches that one might have forgotten to
Bring(cotton buds, sanitary wear).....discreetly hidden in a small box........
The house smells so good too!
Thank you both so much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherralyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We were delighted to see you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us in our home. We get lots of comments on the little box of essentials and know how handy their contents have been to many of our guests. As to our hospitality we hope you enjoy it again when you return, as newly weds and spend your Honeymoon in our Feature Double.

Good luck and best wishes, Heather and Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#2 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitcairn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitcairn House

Property: Pitcairn House
Address: 7 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitcairn House is a traditional slate built, Victorian Guest House conveniently situated within a 2 minute walk of Keswick. All rooms are centrally heated, pleasantly decorated and comfortably furnished with modern facilities including flat screen TV's, hospitality trays, hair dryers, fluffy towels, toiletries and other essentials. The whole area is surrounded by stunning mountains and picturesque fell plus the shores of Derwentwater lake are but a 10 minutes stroll away. Other local attractions such as the popular Theatre by the Lake, parks, museum, cinema, pitch and put, pleasure boats and launches are also nearby. There is a small private car park at the rear of the house with anchor points for m/cycles, a drying room and free connection to BT Superfast WiFi. We look forward to welcoming you into the warm, friendly atmosphere of our home soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pitcairn House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing