We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Pitcairn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pitcairn House
Ranked #9 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have stayed with Heather and Steve a number of times now, and really wouldn't stay anywhere else. It really is home from home - clean, warm and above all friendly and welcoming. Breakfasts were exceptional, and packed lunches much appreciated in the hills of the Lake District. Would definitely recommend this Bed and Breakfast for your stay in Keswick. Deb and Rich

Room Tip: We always stay in the feature room, it's lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 807RichardW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

During our time at Pitcairn House we have strived to create that genuine "home from home" experience that is often missing from other guest houses and hotels. We feel sure it is what many of our regular guests, like yourselves, come back for and we are so pleased that you feel so comfortable in our home. We hope that you have many more enjoyable and relaxing visits with us and look forward to seeing you both again soon. We very much appreciate your lovely comments and it confirms for us that we must be doing it about right.

Best wishes Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Heather and Steve made us very welcome with a pot of tea and some biscuits. Steve was very happy to share his research on the origin of the house and the builder. We then set off walking around town - very close by and down to the lake. The downside of Pitcairn House is that it does not have much onsite parking and the streets surrounding are packed with parked vehicles. Breakfast is cooked to order and served in a bright room. There is a range of spreads to select from. The fresh berries were delicious.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for your kind review and glad you enjoyed the history of Pitcairn House and its earlier occupants. We do feel very fortunate to be situated so close to the centre of Keswick, with Lake Derwentwater only a few minutes walk away plus many of the other local attractions all nearby. Sorry you felt parking was an issue but most guests usually manage to get within a stones throw of the front door plus it is all completely free of charge. We are luckier than most other guest house in that we do have a car park but unfortunately not big enough to accommodate every guest. More importantly for us is that you both enjoyed the warm welcome and hospitality of our home and it seems the breakfast selection,especially the fruit was very popular.
It was a pleasure to meet you both and thanks again for taking the time to add your comments to Trip Advisor.
Kindest regards Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

In late September, we stayed 4 nights at this delightful little B and B. Stephen and Heather were very welcoming, helpful and genuinely interested in their guests. They went out of their way to make our stay rewarding. The rooms were very clean and breakfast was lovely. We will recommend this place to our friends in Australia.

Room Tip: Wifi is better at the lower levels and less stairs too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

It is always extremely gratifying when we receive such positive reviews and especially so from our overseas guest. We can honestly say that it was our pleasure to ensure you enjoyed your stay here in our home and, as you noticed and commented, we genuinely do take an interest in all our guests and try to ensure they all get the best experience possible. Thank you for all the lovely comments and we can assure you that any guests you recommend will definitely receive the same warm welcome and hospitality.

Best wishes Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A belated but well deserved review.

Stayed with my son for a walking weekend in the Lakes. Heather and Steve made us feel very welcome and have a beautiful home. The room was immaculate, with everything we needed and breakfast was amazing.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

We are more happy to have been able to contribute to making your visit an enjoyable one. So glad you and your son had a great weekend up here in the Lake District and hope you can both return soon. Thank you for taking the time to give us this review it is very much appreciated.

Kindest Regards Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My friend and I have just got back form a lovely weekend in Keswick staying at this amazing little bed and breakfast hotel. Steve and Heather could not have been any nicer and made is both feel welcome - nothing was too much trouble. Steve is the king of maps, if he doesn't have the map you are looking for he will draw you one and Heather has such a warm, vibrant personality by the time you leave you will feel like you have known her years.

Please don't pass by the chance to stay here.

Maria x

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariagrieco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

It was lovely to read your touching comments and we also felt that we got to know both you and your friend quite well during your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed staying at Pitcairn House and we hope that we see you both again soon as there is much more for you to explore and yes, we can supply you with a map if you need it..

Best wishes Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Me and my girlfriend had a lovely stay hear top B and B the room was really clean with everything u could ever need breakfast was to die for and the owners were really good and made us feel really welcome well worth a visit and will recommend to our family and friends and will be back again soon thank you

Stayed: October 2013
Thank x26ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for the kind review and great to know you will be recommending friends and family as they say recommendation is the best form of advertising. Also good to know that you will be returning again soon and we are sure we can make your next visit just as enjoyable as the first.

Kind regards Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was our third trip to pitcairn house .Heather and Steve made us feel very welcome on our return.They are both very knowledgeable about local places to walk,whatever your ability.They also know all the best places to eat ! We sampled a few. Our bedroom was very comfortable , tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Must be the best B&B in Keswick and we look forward to our return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

It is always pleasing for us to receive any review but especially so from a regular guest who suggest we are possibly "the best B and B in Keswick". Hopefully it indicates that we are getting things right and unlike the weather we can guarantee all our guest a warm welcome and a hospitable atmosphere every visit.
We hope you manage to get back to see us soon and look forward to seeing you.

Kind regards Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 196 in Keswick
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#10 of 196 in Keswick
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#7 of 196 in Keswick
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 196 in Keswick
422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#8 of 196 in Keswick
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 196 in Keswick
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitcairn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitcairn House

Address: 7 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £31 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pitcairn House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitcairn House is a traditional slate built, Victorian Guest House conveniently situated within a few minutes walk of the picturesque northern lakes town of Keswick. All our rooms are centrally heated, pleasantly decorated and comfortably furnished with modern facilities including flat screen TV's, hospitality trays, hair dryers, fluffy towels, toiletries and other essentials. The whole area is surrounded by stunning mountains and scenic fell plus the shores of Derwentwater lake are but a 10 minute stroll away. Other local attractions such as the popular Theatre by the Lake, beautiful parks, museum, cinema, pitch and put, pleasure boats and launches are also nearby. We have a small private car park at the rear of the house with anchor points for m/cycles, a drying room and free connection to BT Superfast WiFi. We look forward to welcoming you into the warm, friendly atmosphere of our home soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pitcairn House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing