We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pitcairn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pitcairn House
Ranked #13 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at Pitcairn House for a long weekend in October and had a delightful break. Excellent breakfast, sparkling clean and very comfortable room (including promised views), warm and friendly hosts with great local knowledge. We would certainly stay at Pitcairn again. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We believe our strong points are our cleanliness, hospitality and hearty breakfast and from you lovely comments feel we are achieving them. Thank you for the positive feedback and for taking the time to give us your review, everyone helps. We hope we see you at Pitcairn house again soon.

Kind Regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    30
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
274
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Second visit to Pitcairn which tells you something... we came back and will come back again!

Very convenient location to the centre of Keswick less than 5 minute walk.

Very friendly owners.

Lots of hot water warm up after a wet walk.

No problem to dry kit.

Very comfortable room.

Great breakfast.

Thats it in a nutshell!

We will be back again.

I found parking on street generally not an issue.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for the positive comments and always good to welcome guest back into our home. We hope that you will be able to visit us again soon.

Kindest regards

Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have stayed with Heather and Steve a number of times now, and really wouldn't stay anywhere else. It really is home from home - clean, warm and above all friendly and welcoming. Breakfasts were exceptional, and packed lunches much appreciated in the hills of the Lake District. Would definitely recommend this Bed and Breakfast for your stay in Keswick. Deb and Rich

Room Tip: We always stay in the feature room, it's lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 807RichardW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
During our time at Pitcairn House we have strived to create that genuine "home from home" experience that is often missing from other guest houses and hotels. We feel sure it is what many of our regular guests, like yourselves, come back for and we are so pleased that you feel so comfortable in our home. We hope that you have many more enjoyable and relaxing visits with us and look forward to seeing you both again soon. We very much appreciate your lovely comments and it confirms for us that we must be doing it about right.

Best wishes Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Heather and Steve made us very welcome with a pot of tea and some biscuits. Steve was very happy to share his research on the origin of the house and the builder. We then set off walking around town - very close by and down to the lake. The downside of Pitcairn House is that it does not have much onsite parking and the streets surrounding are packed with parked vehicles. Breakfast is cooked to order and served in a bright room. There is a range of spreads to select from. The fresh berries were delicious.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review and glad you enjoyed the history of Pitcairn House and its earlier occupants. We do feel very fortunate to be situated so close to the centre of Keswick, with Lake Derwentwater only a few minutes walk away plus many of the other local attractions all nearby. Sorry you felt parking was an issue but most guests usually manage to get within a stones throw of the front door plus it is all completely free of charge. We are luckier than most other guest house in that we do have a car park but unfortunately not big enough to accommodate every guest. More importantly for us is that you both enjoyed the warm welcome and hospitality of our home and it seems the breakfast selection,especially the fruit was very popular.
It was a pleasure to meet you both and thanks again for taking the time to add your comments to Trip Advisor.
Kindest regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperance, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

In late September, we stayed 4 nights at this delightful little B and B. Stephen and Heather were very welcoming, helpful and genuinely interested in their guests. They went out of their way to make our stay rewarding. The rooms were very clean and breakfast was lovely. We will recommend this place to our friends in Australia.

Room Tip: Wifi is better at the lower levels and less stairs too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
It is always extremely gratifying when we receive such positive reviews and especially so from our overseas guest. We can honestly say that it was our pleasure to ensure you enjoyed your stay here in our home and, as you noticed and commented, we genuinely do take an interest in all our guests and try to ensure they all get the best experience possible. Thank you for all the lovely comments and we can assure you that any guests you recommend will definitely receive the same warm welcome and hospitality.

Best wishes Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

A belated but well deserved review.

Stayed with my son for a walking weekend in the Lakes. Heather and Steve made us feel very welcome and have a beautiful home. The room was immaculate, with everything we needed and breakfast was amazing.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
We are more happy to have been able to contribute to making your visit an enjoyable one. So glad you and your son had a great weekend up here in the Lake District and hope you can both return soon. Thank you for taking the time to give us this review it is very much appreciated.

Kindest Regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My friend and I have just got back form a lovely weekend in Keswick staying at this amazing little bed and breakfast hotel. Steve and Heather could not have been any nicer and made is both feel welcome - nothing was too much trouble. Steve is the king of maps, if he doesn't have the map you are looking for he will draw you one and Heather has such a warm, vibrant personality by the time you leave you will feel like you have known her years.

Please don't pass by the chance to stay here.

Maria x

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariagrieco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
It was lovely to read your touching comments and we also felt that we got to know both you and your friend quite well during your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed staying at Pitcairn House and we hope that we see you both again soon as there is much more for you to explore and yes, we can supply you with a map if you need it..

Best wishes Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#8 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#9 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#5 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitcairn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitcairn House

Property: Pitcairn House
Address: 7 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitcairn House is a slate built, Victorian Guest House conveniently situated within 2 minutes walk of Keswick and close to the shores of the beautiful Lake Derwentwater. All rooms are pleasantly decorated, comfortably furnished and centrally heated plus have flat screen TV's, hospitality tray and hair dryers. The whole area is surrounded by stunning fell scenery and many of the famous Wainwright walks can be tackled direct from our front door. Other local attractions are also nearby such as the ever popular Theatre by the Lake, parks, museum, cinema, pitch and put, pleasure boats and launches. We also have a small, private car park, anchor points for m/cycles, a drying room and free superfast Wi Fi access. We look forward to welcoming you into our home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pitcairn House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing