We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pitcairn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pitcairn House
Ranked #13 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We visited Keswick for the weekend and stayed at Pitcairn House for one night. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and the location, close to the town centre, was perfect. The breakfast was excellent, and the room was clean, comfortable and had nice contemporary decor. Our room was on the small side, but this was a minor point which did not spoil a lovely stay here. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room at time of booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your short visit at Pitcairn House and hope you will have longer next time. We have rooms varying in size which you may prefer if you visit again but they are popular and get reserved quite quickly. Our Feature Double is our largest room with King Size bed and good views of the fells and may be worth baring in mind next time.

Thank you for all the positive comments and for taking the time to give us a review.

Kindest regards

Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    30
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
274
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife and I recently had a very pleasant stay at Pitcairn house. from the outset Steve and heather the owners could not do enough for us and nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were spotless and very comfortable, with TV / free Wi-Fi and numerous extras.

As our visit was to celebrate a special occasion we booked the Feature room, with a very comfortable King size bed set in a very spacious nicely decorated room with modern en-suite facilities and views towards the fells.

Steve is very knowledgeable of the local walks and recommended the sedate railway track walk with beautiful scenery, as my wife and I are in our late fifties. He also suggested various places to eat that were excellent

I can recommend the substantial breakfast, and Steve's poached eggs are the best I have tasted.

In brief, grate place to stay with great food and hosts that make one feel at home.

Room Tip: Room 4, The feature Room, excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moore_keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased you had such a pleasant stay with us. Glad you enjoyed the poached eggs, they are always very popular at breakfast, as are the local sausages and bacon.
Good to know you enjoyed our recommend walk along the old railway track, it is a very popular route with great scenery as it follows the meandering river Greta. The pub at the end makes a welcome destination too.

We hope to see you both at Pitcairn House again soon.

Kindest regards

Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 days at the end of September at the pitcairn for our honeymoon. The place was exceptionally clean and welcoming and the room was very comfortable.
The accommodation was excellent, food was good and our hosts were great. They made some suggestions and recommendations for places to eat which were excellent and one night even booked a table for us . We found that nothing was too much trouble even down to us having red top milk.
A lovely time was had by all and we would highly recommend it. We will be staying again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for the lovely comments and we are pleased to have helped make your honeymoon so enjoyable. If you are thinking of where to stay for your anniversary(or any other time) please bear us in mind as we would love to see you at Pitcairn House again.

Best wishes

Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at Pitcairn House for a long weekend in October and had a delightful break. Excellent breakfast, sparkling clean and very comfortable room (including promised views), warm and friendly hosts with great local knowledge. We would certainly stay at Pitcairn again. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We believe our strong points are our cleanliness, hospitality and hearty breakfast and from you lovely comments feel we are achieving them. Thank you for the positive feedback and for taking the time to give us your review, everyone helps. We hope we see you at Pitcairn house again soon.

Kind Regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Second visit to Pitcairn which tells you something... we came back and will come back again!

Very convenient location to the centre of Keswick less than 5 minute walk.

Very friendly owners.

Lots of hot water warm up after a wet walk.

No problem to dry kit.

Very comfortable room.

Great breakfast.

Thats it in a nutshell!

We will be back again.

I found parking on street generally not an issue.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for the positive comments and always good to welcome guest back into our home. We hope that you will be able to visit us again soon.

Kindest regards

Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have stayed with Heather and Steve a number of times now, and really wouldn't stay anywhere else. It really is home from home - clean, warm and above all friendly and welcoming. Breakfasts were exceptional, and packed lunches much appreciated in the hills of the Lake District. Would definitely recommend this Bed and Breakfast for your stay in Keswick. Deb and Rich

Room Tip: We always stay in the feature room, it's lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 807RichardW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
During our time at Pitcairn House we have strived to create that genuine "home from home" experience that is often missing from other guest houses and hotels. We feel sure it is what many of our regular guests, like yourselves, come back for and we are so pleased that you feel so comfortable in our home. We hope that you have many more enjoyable and relaxing visits with us and look forward to seeing you both again soon. We very much appreciate your lovely comments and it confirms for us that we must be doing it about right.

Best wishes Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Heather and Steve made us very welcome with a pot of tea and some biscuits. Steve was very happy to share his research on the origin of the house and the builder. We then set off walking around town - very close by and down to the lake. The downside of Pitcairn House is that it does not have much onsite parking and the streets surrounding are packed with parked vehicles. Breakfast is cooked to order and served in a bright room. There is a range of spreads to select from. The fresh berries were delicious.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review and glad you enjoyed the history of Pitcairn House and its earlier occupants. We do feel very fortunate to be situated so close to the centre of Keswick, with Lake Derwentwater only a few minutes walk away plus many of the other local attractions all nearby. Sorry you felt parking was an issue but most guests usually manage to get within a stones throw of the front door plus it is all completely free of charge. We are luckier than most other guest house in that we do have a car park but unfortunately not big enough to accommodate every guest. More importantly for us is that you both enjoyed the warm welcome and hospitality of our home and it seems the breakfast selection,especially the fruit was very popular.
It was a pleasure to meet you both and thanks again for taking the time to add your comments to Trip Advisor.
Kindest regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#8 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#9 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#5 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitcairn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitcairn House

Property: Pitcairn House
Address: 7 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitcairn House is a slate built, Victorian Guest House conveniently situated within 2 minutes walk of Keswick and close to the shores of the beautiful Lake Derwentwater. All rooms are pleasantly decorated, comfortably furnished and centrally heated plus have flat screen TV's, hospitality tray and hair dryers. The whole area is surrounded by stunning fell scenery and many of the famous Wainwright walks can be tackled direct from our front door. Other local attractions are also nearby such as the ever popular Theatre by the Lake, parks, museum, cinema, pitch and put, pleasure boats and launches. We also have a small, private car park, anchor points for m/cycles, a drying room and free superfast Wi Fi access. We look forward to welcoming you into our home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pitcairn House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing