We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Pitcairn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pitcairn House
Ranked #10 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

This was out second stay at the Pitcairn... There are a huge amount of hotels and bed& breakfast establishments in Keswick and if your looking for charming, clean and well furnished, this is the place to go... Really looking forward to my next stay ... Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalsallNiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We are so pleased you had another enjoyable stay with us and thank you for all your positive comments. It means a lot to us when guests notice the attention to detail and effort we put in to ensuing everyone has a comfortable and memorable visit. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

There are an inordinate number of guest houses in Keswick, you could spend many hours looking for the right one, let me save you the effort: It is this one!
The house is spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and furnished and the breakfasts are first class.

The friendliest of welcomes from Steve and Heather who made every effort to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Including giving a lift to collect our car, heating our stew and providing maps and walking guidance.
Easy access to the town and a plethora of local information to ensure you get the best from the town and avoid any potential disappointments.
Great value for money, I would not hesitate to return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hotrat-one-Hundred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Wow, what a delightful review. It was extremely gratifying for us to read all your lovely comments and thank you for your kind remarks regarding our hospitality and cleanliness. We very much appreciate you sharing the experience of your visit as we know many of our guests refer to reviews like yours when deciding on which accommodation to choose. As more guest find us and submit comments like yours we hope it will assist our rise up the Trip Advisor ladder.

Many thanks for taking the time to give us this review and we hope we see you at Pitcairn House again soon.

Kindest regards Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We have stayed at Pitcairn House both times when we visited Keswick. The rooms are gorgeously decorated and comfortable and are all personalised which made our room feels really "ours" when we got there. Heather and Steve are extremely welcoming; we asked for a recommended walk on one of the days and they chose a very suitable one, printed the map off and gave us extra directions. The breakfasts were delicious - great sustenance for a walk! We loved our stay there, thank you for making our weekend so lovely - we enjoyed meeting the cats! Shall be back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your first visit so much that you came back again. It is always very satisfying when guests return as feels like we are welcoming friends into our home. Thank you for all the lovely comments and so glad you felt so comfortable in your room. There are plenty more walks we can recommend to you so we hope we see you here again soon. We appreciate you taking the time to give us this review. Thanks.

Kind regards Heather and Steve, Poppy and Holly too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Spent a couple of nights here and thought it was one of the best. Steve and Heather are so friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was superb especially the smoked salmon and scrambled egg - yummee!!!! Got a soaking and they took all our wet clothes and dried them. Will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdithM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for the Excellent review and to think we are one of the best is very pleasing. We have to agree that having drying facilities in this area of the Lake District is often invaluable but sorry you had to use it. We can always assure you of a warm, welcoming stay but the weather is far less reliable. We hope to see you this way again soon with maybe a little more sunshine if your lucky .

Kind regards Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

pitcairn house is home from home steve and heather are very welcoming and very helpful and ensure you enjoy your stay nothing is any trouble the rooms are spotless warm and comfortable breakfasts excellent good quality food not our first stay there and wont be the last.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for the very kind review and we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our aim is to ensure all our guests have a comfortable, relaxing stay in a clean, welcoming home and judging by your comments think we are achieving our goal. We hope this will be the first of many visits and we look forward to seeing you at Pitcairn House again soon.

Kind Regards Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Knocked at the door a stranger, left as a friend. Steve an Heather are excellent hosts and made our stay very special ( especially the home made toast cake). Breakfast was excellent, bedroom was spotless, modern and comfortable bed. Will be visiting Pitcairn House again. Thanks Steve an Heather keep up the excellent work.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for the lovely comments and only too happy to have helped make your visit so special.
Glad you liked our "Birthday Toast" but hope we did not embarrass you too much. Now you are friends we hope to see you here at Pitcairn House soon.
Many thanks for taking the time to give us a review, we know they all help.

Kind regards

Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

It is typically a compliment to describe a B&B as feeling like a home away from home – that, in and of itself, is not an easy thing to achieve. What Heather and Steve have done, in running Pitcairn House, is to take the very essence of Home and place it in a endearingly quaint little cottage against the picturesque setting of the Lakes. The rooms are beyond military in their cleanliness (I should know, having been in the military); the furnishings are plush and rustic. The breakfast was not only delicious, but generously proportioned. Our hosts made it nothing short of their personal mission to ensure that our every need was met: advice on activities, which turned out to be invaluable in light of the abject misery that was the weather, calling establishments ahead of time to ensure that we wouldn't make any wasted trips, even recommending places for dinner, and attractions at the next stop on our journey. They were always happy to chat about anything and everything, and even their cats, Poppy and Holly, are about as friendly as it is possible for cats to be. Often people return from their holidays saying that they need a break from their break – not so if you stay at Pitcairn House. It is simply not possible to leave the House each morning feeling anything but perfectly rested.

Yap, Jevon & Yifan

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YapZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We were so pleased to read your very complimentary review although initially felt quite humbled. We genuinely enjoy trying to make every guests visit as pleasant and as memorable as possible while ensuring we maintain that home from home feeling. It was comforting for us to see that we had more than achieved that during your stay and we thank you for all the lovely comments covering all aspects of your visit. As guests, you are 3 great lads who are a pleasure to look after and we would gladly welcome you back anytime for another visit.
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitcairn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitcairn House

Address: 7 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £31 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitcairn House is a traditional slate built, Victorian Guest House conveniently situated within a few minutes walk of the picturesque northern lakes town of Keswick. All our rooms are centrally heated, pleasantly decorated and comfortably furnished with modern facilities including flat screen TV's, hospitality trays, hair dryers, fluffy towels, toiletries and other essentials. The whole area is surrounded by stunning mountains and scenic fell plus the shores of Derwentwater lake are but a 10 minute stroll away. Other local attractions such as the popular Theatre by the Lake, beautiful parks, museum, cinema, pitch and put, pleasure boats and launches are also nearby. We have a small private car park at the rear of the house with anchor points for m/cycles, a drying room and free connection to BT Superfast WiFi. We look forward to welcoming you into the warm, friendly atmosphere of our home soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pitcairn House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing