We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pitcairn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pitcairn House
Ranked #12 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Myself and 2 friends stayed for 6 nights in the family room during the easter break. We cannot recommend this B&B enough. Heather & Steve ,the owners, made it the perfect B&B to stay in, they are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was a perfect size for 3 adults and decorated to a high standard, as with the rest of the house. It's perfectly located to the town centre with lots of lovely places to eat and walking distance for all amenities.
Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
It was lovely to meet you all and we thoroughly enjoyed having you here. The dining room seemed very quiet the following day after having you here for 6 nights and we missed the banter and good humour. You managed to do some good walks during your stay as well as sample quite a few of the local eating places. We hope that it wont be too long before you decide to come back and explore a bit more of the local area as you all seemed to enjoy this beautiful area of the lake district.
Thank you for the review it is much appreciated.

Best wishes from Heather and Steve, the cats miss you too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    30
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
74
274
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I, together with two friends, were fortunate to find this little gem for a one night stay in Keswick. This is a charming Victorian house, beautifully decorated and furnished, and the hosts Steven and Heather were very warm and welcoming.
The house is in an ideal position to walk into Keswick with all its attractions. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for the very pleasant review we are so pleased you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We feel quite lucky to live in such a lovely old house especially in this location and it is great to be able to share it with guests and friends.
We hope you come back and visit us again soon.

Kindest Regards heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

we stayed for 2 days...Steve and heather were very welcoming..made us feel right at home...lovely guest house ...nice rooms with a great view...breakfast was excellent..off road parking...would stay again and recommend...Steve and Julie...Liverpool

Room Tip: room 3 has great views of latrigg and skiddaw
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ste k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
It is good to know that you both felt so at home here as that is what we try to achieve in our guest house, a home away from home. Thank you for adding such a lovely review and we look forwarding to seeing you here again soon.

Kind regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in Pitcairn House and it was very clean, comfortable and homely, the hosts were lovely and the two cats, poppy and holly a great entertainment. All in all excellent, we would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lotte39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding our cleanliness and hospitality are much appreciated and it is good to see that Poppy and Holly are starting to feature in our guest reviews too.
We look forward to seeing you at Pitcairn House again soon

Kind regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We are a family of three, our daughter is 10 years old. We were offered tea on arrival and it was clear help would be given whenever we might need it. The accommodation was warm, the atmosphere child friendly and informal. It contributed a great deal to our visit, despite poor weather conditions. We are regular visitors to the Lakes but will definitely seek out this venue for future trips.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
We are pleased your family enjoyed their stay with us despite the weather. Although we can guarantee the hospitality afraid the weather is as you find it and they say that if we did not have the rain there would be no lakes.
We do hope that if you return there will be a little more sunshine than last time but at least we can assure you of another pleasant stay here at Pitcairn House.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.

Kind Regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had travelled as a couple for a weekend to Keswick to explore the Derwentwater lake and nearby places. Our stay was made better by Pitcairn house and its wonderful hosts Steve and Heather. Breakfast was very filling, the rooms were nice and cozy. They have all varieties of rooms ranging from the economical attic rooms with separate facilities to family rooms and big bedrooms with ensuite toilets.The hosts were very warm and friendly and helped us choose our walking trip and local trips.
If you like cats, you will love the two fluffy balls which keep running around the house !
Heather provided us with the Derwentwater launch tickets at a cheaper rate than the counter.
Location of the B & B is the best..its a 3-4 minute walk to the town centre with lots of cafes and eating joints.
Our overall experience of Pitcairn house was very good and we would definitely recommend it to everyone and would love to come back again!

Room Tip: If you want a view, choose the rooms on the second floor upwards. If you want an economical room, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shrav1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for the comprehensive review and we are very pleased by all your positive comments. The early morning photographs of us were a little unexpected especially when we saw you had posted onto Trip Advisor but made us chuckle. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will consider a return visit and sample one of our other rooms.
We look forward to seeing you both in the future.

Kind regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was our second stay at Pitcairn House and won't be our last. It is a couple of minutes walk to the centre of Keswick so is ideally located to the local eateries and the lake. You will get the warmest welcome from Heather and Steve without them being intrusive, they really make you feel at ease and at home. The rooms are beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and have lots of little thoughtful extras which make your stay special. The breakfast is superb, excellent quality food and choice. Heather and Steve have a good knowledge of the area and walks and were even so kind to print off a walk for us and the weather forecast too. So look no further and book your room !!!! Thankyou Heather and Steve.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
It was very pleasing to read your lovely review and very heart warming for us to realize how much our hospitality is appreciated. We aim to make all our guest feel at home and so glad you felt that way while staying here. It is also satisfying when guests notice our high standards of cleanliness as well as the little extras we provide. Many of our guests comment on the breakfast and we try to source as much as we can locally with our bacon and sausages coming from the butchers in Keswick. We hope you come and enjoy another stay with us here at Pitcairn House soon.

Kind Regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#8 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#13 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#9 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#5 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitcairn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitcairn House

Property: Pitcairn House
Address: 7 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitcairn House is a slate built, Victorian Guest House conveniently situated within 2 minutes walk of Keswick and close to the shores of the beautiful Lake Derwentwater. All rooms are pleasantly decorated, comfortably furnished and centrally heated plus have flat screen TV's, hospitality tray and hair dryers. The whole area is surrounded by stunning fell scenery and many of the famous Wainwright walks can be tackled direct from our front door. Other local attractions are also nearby such as the ever popular Theatre by the Lake, parks, museum, cinema, pitch and put, pleasure boats and launches. We also have a small, private car park, anchor points for m/cycles, a drying room and free superfast Wi Fi access. We look forward to welcoming you into our home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pitcairn House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing