We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic bed and breakfast”
Review of Pitcairn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pitcairn House
Ranked #10 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have just returned home after a two night stay with Heather and Steve at Pitcairn. we actually happened to stay here by chance, after our booked acommodation was closed and so we were offered a transfer to Pitcairn.....and so very pleased that we were :-)
From the minute we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome and Steve kindly offered us a hot drink and gave us some great tips for places to visit and also restaurants locally. He directed us to where we needed to go, which was a great help. on our first night we decided to try one of the restaurants suggested, called the sizzling stone, which was a great recommendation.
our room was lovely, beautifully clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast was great and certainly filled us up for the day ahead!
Heather was also a fab host and with a common love of cats, enjoyed chatting about them too (and of course fussing their cats!).
we hope to return soon and will definitely recommend them to our friends and family.
thanks again :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leesey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

It was a pleasure to help make your visit to Keswick such an enjoyable one and great to read how pleased you were with change of accommodation to Pitcairn House. We try to ensure all our guest feel relaxed and comfortable during their stay and enjoy the friendly home from home atmosphere. Now that you have found us by chance we hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review.

Best wishes Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for Pitcairn House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights as base for Keswick Mountain Festival. It's very close to town centre and lake. Heather and Steve were very welcoming, had time to chat with us on arrival and made us tea. Our room (4) was spotless, very comfortable with nice bathroom and furnishings. Breakfasts were very good with local eggs and sausages. Would certainly stay again if in Keswick, particulary if The Hothouse Flowers play the festival again next year!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuDoo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Although we cannot guarantee if The Hothouse Flowers will be playing at next years festival we can assure you of another comfortable stay here at Pitcairn House whenever you come. Thank you for the kind review, all your positive comments are very much appreciated. We hope you find time to come to Keswick again as even when the festival is not on there is still plenty to do here. We look forward to welcoming you into our home again soon.

Kind regards Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Booked for group of individuals and they all had a very good stay. Accommodation within waking distance of town. Quiet location. Very good breakfast and served at a time which facilitated the group...this made such a difference to the weekend and was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryC607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for the review, we were more than happy to help your party start their day in the best possible way and pleasing to know they all had a good stay. It is great to know our location was beneficial to their enjoyment and we hope that if organising a similar event in the area you will consider Pitcairn House again.

Kind regards Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We only stayed one night but hope to come back again in the future for a longer stay. Steve and Heather make you feel very welcome in their lovely house which is close to the centre of Keswick.
Our room on the top floor had a lovely view of the hills and was recently decorated with a new, modern en suite shower room and everywhere was immaculately clean. Very comfortable bed and a very quiet neighbourhood with no traffic noise. Breakfast started with a choice of fresh melon, strawberries and cereals followed by a very well cooked and presented bacon,eggs,mushrooms ,tomatoes and toast. A warm welcome, relaxed atmosphere, lovely rooms, good location, good food, good sleep , all round excellent B&B. Thanks Heather and Steve

Room Tip: Room 3 and 4 at the top of the house have lovely views to the hills
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

A lot of our guests find there stay goes far too quickly and as you discovered one day is not really enough when visiting Keswick. Our close location to the town centre, Derwentwater and easy access to many of the surrounding fells means this is a very popular area to visit. We are pleased you were comfortable in our home and thank you for all the lovely comments, they are very much appreciated.
We hope you manage to make it back to Keswick soon and look forward to welcoming you into Pitcairn House once again.
Thank you for taking the time to give us this review.

Kindest Regards Heather and Steve

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

this is the second visit to Pitcairn house having previously stayed with Steve and Heather in October last year. Nothing to much trouble, steve even loaned my friend a lock and chain to secure his bike for the evening . accomadation spotless and food top notch as per our first visit. Steve recommended an Italian restaurant for the eve and even booked it for us on our behalf.
We'll appreciated after a busy day in the lakes,look forward to our next visit.

John. Blackpool.

Room Tip: book early.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Being motorcyclists ourselves it is always great to welcome fellow enthusiast into our home and good to see you had a comfortable stay. Although not always necessary, we have anchor points in the car park for bikes and always a spare locking device if it should be needed. This is a fantastic area for bikers and there are many routes we can recommend and we hope its not too long till you come back with your friends to sample some of them.

Thank you for the review and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We've just spent a long weekend in the Lake District and had the good fortune to stay at Pitcairn House. Steve and Heather provided a lovely weekend and nothing was too much trouble, from a cup of tea and a biscuit on arrival to the fantastic locally sourced bacon for breakfast. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Steve and Heather were able to give us advice on places to eat in the evening from personal experience and that of previous guests and with the guest house being situated less than 5 minutes walk from the town centre, nowhere was very far away.

We stayed in Room 3 which is a double room providing fantastic views of the mountains. Our initial thoughts that the room lacked storage space quickly dispersed as there is ample space under the bed for bags, rucksacks, etc plus a wardrobe and drawers, so no problems there. Thankfully we didn't need to use it but we were reassured to know that there was a drying room in case the Lake District weather had been more inclement. Thanks for a lovely stay and if we're ever in Keswick again needing B&B Pitcairn will be top of our list.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueB414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

So glad you enjoyed your long weekend with us here at Pitcairn House. Fortunately the weather was reasonable so no need for the drying room as you noted. but always handy to know its there. Thank you for your all your comments and many thanks for the lovely review. We hope you will come and stay with us again soon.

Kindest Regards

Heather and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at Pitcairn Hse for 3 nights in May. Heather and Steve were on holiday so we were looked after by Steve,s parents. We were extremely pleased to find that they were every bit as charming and receptive to our needs as Heather an Steve were. It was once again a truly relaxing stay in the highest quality surroundings. Thanks once again.

Room Tip: The feature room is really special for only a few pounds extra. Highly recommended
Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Davemjarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

My parents are delighted that you appreciated their efforts during your stay and we are glad they were acceptable replacements. We do not often hand over the reins to them but always good to know that our guests are in safe hands while we are away. From what they told us it sounds like you had the relaxed stay that you both needed. We are sorry we missed you this visit and hope we see you both again soon.. Thank you for the thoughtful review and a big thanks from my parents

Best wishes from Heather and Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#1 of 189 in Keswick
391 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 189 in Keswick
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitcairn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitcairn House

Address: 7 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £31 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitcairn House is a traditional slate built, Victorian Guest House conveniently situated within a few minutes walk of the picturesque northern lakes town of Keswick. All our rooms are centrally heated, pleasantly decorated and comfortably furnished with modern facilities including flat screen TV's, hospitality trays, hair dryers, fluffy towels, toiletries and other essentials. The whole area is surrounded by stunning mountains and scenic fell plus the shores of Derwentwater lake are but a 10 minute stroll away. Other local attractions such as the popular Theatre by the Lake, beautiful parks, museum, cinema, pitch and put, pleasure boats and launches are also nearby. We have a small private car park at the rear of the house with anchor points for m/cycles, a drying room and free connection to BT Superfast WiFi. We look forward to welcoming you into the warm, friendly atmosphere of our home soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pitcairn House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing