We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another smasher!”
Review of The George

The George
Ranked #14 of 129 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Excellent Pub Food in the heart of Keswick. Comfortable restaurant as well as bar food
Jarrow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Another smasher!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We always try and have a meal at The George when in Keswick and again we weren't disappointed! We hadn't booked a table but were fitted in by very friendly staff. Plenty to choose from great menu and opted for the lamb George with mash, seasonal vegetable and minted gravy, it was superb! The lamb just fell off the bone and it had no fat, mash was smooth and creamy and the vegetables were done to a tee! One very clean plate and a very satisfied customer. My husband had the pulled pork with sweet potato fries,salad and a BBQ sauce he was very impressed as well,excellent night all round.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    454
    133
    45
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My husband and I had an evening meal there. I loved my starter, he didn't like his. We were split on the main course too - his was very good, mine edible but slightly disappointing.
Ambience OK, but it does look a bit tired. Our waiter was very nice, while the guy in charge of the restaurant was less than friendly (we ended up eating at the bar).
Mixed experience, but still rather nice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank letspackandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I have had”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The food and service was excellent. We went on a night that was extremely busy but the staff coped very well. My husband had Ribeye steak, I had vegetarian fish cakes. There was too much for me to eat. The meal was nicely presented and the staff worked hard. An excellent meal

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pearl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were recommended by the owners of our B&B. The food was really tasty and nicely cooked. The staff was really friendly too. We really enjoyed our dinner at the George Hotel restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jun Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disapointing return.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have stayed at The George on many previous occasion and we left this year somewhat deflated.

Small issues that could easily be rectified had a big effect on our experience. Breakfast is still an issue (as discussed in last years review) and intimacy and comfort are pushed aside for operational convenience. A little background music would help alleviate the uncomfortable silence and awkward distractions from other guests. And utilising all of the restaurant would completely irradiate the horrendous and invasive seating arrangements.

Our room had been visited by housekeeping on the second day of our two night stay. I use the word "visited" and not "serviced" as that would be an inappropriate description of what we found. Our complimentary milk and coffee had been replenished and the used towels had been hung up on the back of the bathroom door. And that was quite literally it. The bed had not been made or the sheets changed. Our glasses from the night before were still where we had left them. Nothing else had been done at all. This had never been the case during any of our previous four breaks with the hotel.

The TV in the room had 8 channels. If you like channel 4 or one of its sister channels (E4. More 4. Film 4. Ch4 +1.) or if you like children's programs, you wont be disappointed. I just wanted the news when I went to bed and when I first woke up, but ended up having to settle for Horrid Henry and Iggle Piggle instead.

Apart from this room was nice, the bed comfortable, the staff generally helpful and the beer well kept.

We visited the restaurant as we do each year and couldn't fault the food. Black Pudding Tower is still my favourite starter of anywhere and the pheasant was fantastic.

I would still recommend the restaurant to anybody that loves a good hearty English meal and we will undoubtedly be visiting again, but unfortunately I feel that this break at The George Hotel will be our last.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ste-n-vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing