We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Sunday Lunch”
Review of Oxley's Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oxley's Bistro
Ranked #90 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Good Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stay at Underscar each year and always have at least one meal in the Bistro. We arrived on Sunday afternoon, so ate lunch before checking in. The food was as good as ever, I can recommend the fish cakes and the roast beef which is served pink and is delicious. We can’t understand why more people don’t use this great facility.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 99ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Visited Oxley's Bistro as part of a spa day, a 2 course lunch was included on the day. Service was good with friendly staff, food was fantastic, we both had homemade tomato and lentil soup to start followed by pasta arrabiatta with chicken, both dishes were lovely and cooked to perfection. Highly recommended, very clean and great, hearty food.

Helpful?
Thank Vegas_Vacation12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“First time”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have been every year to Underscar since 1999 but this is the first time we have eaten dinner in Oxleys.
The food and service were very good although there was little atmosphere as it was a quiet night in the bistro.
Would go again on our next visit to Keswick.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Still an excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We have stayed at Underscar a few times and have always eaten at the Oxley's Bistro. This time we enjoyed two meals. The first was Sunday lunch where the roast beef was served medium rare, exactly as ordered. The veg were fresh and piping hot. Our second meal was an evening meal where my wife and I both chose the roast pheasant special which was an excellent choice. Our young granddaughter wanted salmon and this was soft and tasty. I would certainly recommend that people staying at Underscar support this excellent restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 99ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really lovely”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

We attended the Oxley's spa and had a 2 course lunch included within the spa day. We both enjoyed our meals, ordered a 3rd course each, and had a pot of tea! The menu was limited, as on a Sunday, but a nice choice & the quality was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDJsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oxley's Bistro also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Under Skiddaw, Keswick
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Oxley's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing