We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathmore Guest House
Ranked #47 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for the last two nights. Absolutely lovely B & B. Spotlessly clean, fresh, quiet, really comfy bed, great en-suit & fantastic breakfast made by Paul. Service, location, rooms and breakfast of a very high standard. Say Hi to Chilli the Cat, if you're lucky will greet you in the parking area, definitely the most gorgeous cat I've ever wanted to smuggle away with me! :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRSHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
81
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Very convenient location, great breakfasts, easy parking, clean and pleasant room - all v good.

And working wifi - something of a rarity whatever most B&B owners claim!

They could have sorted the weather better!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRNGuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a great one night stay in this guest house. Fantastic breakfast and nice room. Very friendly and helpful owner and really great location for Keswick town centre. Will certainly stay again in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was our first stay at the Strathmore and we will definitely return. The room was clean and comfortable. I loved the touch of the wine glasses and corkscrew. Breakfast was plentiful, kept us going all day. One of its biggest pluses is parking spaces. The Strathmore is conveniently located for the town centre, the lake and walking destinations. Thank you Paul for a relaxed stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Paul was as friendly as ever without being intrusive, bathroom had been upgraded since our last stay and was modern and spacious. the room was comfortable and well thought out. Had a fantastic two nights and we will definately be back again.Would recomend to anyone looking for a high quality place to stay with parking in a great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janette t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This place was one the best B&B's I've been to! It was very clean, the room was a good size and comfortable. The service from the owner was of the highest quality - he was always friendly and willing to help at any time, we even had a good conversation about travelling. The breakfast was also amazing. The view from our room was of one of the mountains, which a spectacular view. And everything was all in walking distance from the B&B - the town, the mountains, and the lakes. All of this for a great price!!! I would definitely recommend staying at Strathmore Guest House if your coming to Keswick!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

When i went to the lake district, The strathmore guest house was the only one with a room available in town, I did not know what the strathmore guest house would be like or the services they provided , it was a last minute book, I was just so happy to get a room , but the moment i walked inside, i was so glad that i met Paul, he is an amazing person , warm, funny and a big joker also a great HOST.
I must say that he will go lengths to make sure that you are happy and satisfied , you will enjoy a great conversation in the morning, and great food, the place is really clean and well looked after, and maybe you will be lucky enough to meet his little girl and jodi.
If you do plan to travel with kids strathmore guest house is the perfect choice, never been to such a warm and welcoming place before!!
Thank you so much for the help and advice on places to visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#4 of 173 in Keswick
347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#43 of 173 in Keswick
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#36 of 173 in Keswick
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Beeches Guest House
The Beeches Guest House
#33 of 173 in Keswick
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 173 in Keswick
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#7 of 173 in Keswick
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathmore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathmore Guest House

Property: Strathmore Guest House
Address: Ambleside Road | Ambleside Road, Keswick CA12 4DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Strathmore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathmore Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing