We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“to the lakes we go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathmore Guest House
Ranked #47 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“to the lakes we go”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

we arrived on sunday at the strathmore for a four day break.and was greeted by the owner paul.a more pleasant person you couldnt wish to meet.we were shown to our room which was fantastic.very clean and very comfortable.the decor was very very nice.the shower room which was en suite was really nicely done out very impressed.breakfast was from 8am and again fantastic.there was fruit,cereals,orange juice etc.and then the full english with toast.totally amazing and seriously delicious.the dining room was fantastic and the with decent parking at the back i cannot find anything with this place that i could complain about in any way.we will certainly be returning again when we are next in the lakes.thank you paul for a fantastic stay debbie and russ x

Room Tip: book early we were on the back and the view was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
81
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Strathmore has a great location being only 5 minutes walk from Keswick's main square and 10 minutes to the lake. This meant that having parked in the rear car park (or on the road outside if lucky) you can enjoy a lot of what Keswick, the Derwent or the local walks have to offer on foot.

We stayed in Room 2, spacious with a leather sofa and bay window. It was well equipped, clean and very comfortable. The ensuite was shower only and was fine. Could just have done with a shelf or hooks in the shower and some shampoo as we had shower lotion and conditioner!

The breakfast was really excellent with a generous selection and Paul was a very warm host.

All in all a very enjoyable experience, good value and with a few finishing touches this could really be 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at this lovely B&B. The owner couldn't have been more helpful - he even went out of his way to help us with parking (in case you didn't know, Keswick is a bit of a nightmare for parking). We had the deluxe room on the first floor. It was large and comfortable, with a great sitting area and a lovely view over St John's Church. It was also very quiet. We slept well and had lovely cooked breakfasts on both mornings. There was also a good selection of cereals & fruit. The B&B is just a few minutes walk into the town centre and just a 10 minute stroll to Derwent Water. There is a good choice of eateries within Keswick I'd highly recommend Strathmore Guest House.

Room Tip: Room 2 (deluxe, 1st floor) is worth paying a bit extra for, but I'm sure all the rooms are lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here with my husband for 3 nights during the Keswick Jazz Festival. We had room 2 - the deluxe room with leather sofa and lots of room. We couldn't fault anything. Friendly hosts,great cooked breakfast with fresh fruit as well as the usual cereals etc., lovely comfortable bed, large shower in modern bathroom and convenient for the town centre (approx. 5 mins walk). A bonus for us was that there was a good footpath which went down the side of the church opposite and continued - after crossing the road and walking left for a few yards - coming out at Hope Park near to the main jazz venues of the Theatre by the Lake and the Marquee across from it. It saved us a good few minutes walk each time we went out. Didn't need to use the car at all and it was good to have private parking during the busy weekend. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 2 is large with sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsgalBrighouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melton mowbray
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Once again we, as a party of 11 family and friends, had a wonderful stay over the Bank Holiday week-end. Paul and Jodie, and their lovely children, made us feel very much at home. It must be quite daunting to have our "lively" party in every year but Paul seemed to cope with us well! We couldn`t fault anything, food, lovely warm bedrooms, everything clean and nicely decorated. Room 2 (the deluxe) is very useful to us as a group as we can congregate after a meal and have a cuppa in comfort, also discuss what we`ve done and what`s on the cards for the next day!.Paul is very helpful and we had to call on him this time as one of our party locked his car keys in his boot and his spares weren`t he thought they were! Crisis averted as Paul got someone to sort it out and had even offered to take us to the Coledale for our evening meal if the car couldn`t be opened. It does help with the parking as we are all in the same party!We`re already booked in for next year!!

Room Tip: Room 2 is the de luxe one but 1 is also very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puds_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Best breakfast I've ever had (better than 5* hotels I've stayed at), great poached eggs and lovely thick bacon which actually was the smell that woke us up just in time for breakfast! We stayed in room 2 (the deluxe) and it was perfect for us with the sofa for me to relax on whilst my girlfriend pottered around getting ready of an evening (the kit kats were a lovely treat to come back to with a brew). The owner, Paul, was ace, friendly and extremely knowledgeable of walks and routes. We will book again if staying in Keswick!!! Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MancBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with partner and 2 friends. Great location with easy walk into Keswick town where there are plenty of places to eat. Breakfast was lovely and cooked fresh by the owners who were both very friendly and hospitable. The room had a good comfy double bed with en suite facilities, which looked recently decorated with a good shower! There Were parking facilities but a bit tight though the owners kept tabs on who was blocking who in so could be moved, was the same for most places around there. Would stay again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yobnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Littlefield Guesthouse
Littlefield Guesthouse
#101 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#87 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#40 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#15 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dalegarth House
Dalegarth House
#2 of 9 in Portinscale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathmore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathmore Guest House

Property: Strathmore Guest House
Address: Ambleside Road | Ambleside Road, Keswick CA12 4DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Strathmore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathmore Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing