We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable and woul recommend”
Review of Lairbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lairbeck Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
UK - Hants
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable and woul recommend”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in early June, arriving on the Friday and leaving on the Sunday with a climb of Scafell in between. Our room was great and even better were the meals. Not a huge selection but we had 3 courses each evening and each was of really good quality. Breakfasts were also excellent - just right ahead of walking lots of miles.
Welcome was warm and friendly with a really good atmosphere. Thank you. Giles & Eileen

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Giles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    47
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
27
114
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed at Lairbeck for a long Bank Holiday weekend to treat ourselves after a few days walking. It was a great choice; lovely room, good food and great location. Malcolm and the rest of the staff looked after us well and provided useful local information. We'll stay again when we're in the Lakes.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jru100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Beautiful location, fine food and wonderful hosts/owners. I'm sure it's not easy dealing with a single (fairly raucousat times) party of 6 couples but owners Malcolm and Jennifer were superb. The local scenery is stunning, there is no shortage of places to visit, and for anyone into fell-walking/climbing etc, this is the place to base yourself.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie2145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Great location, open fires, warm and comfortable, genial, caring hosts
- it was just right for us. Delicous dinner and lovely breakfast. If I am fortunate enough to return to the Lake District this is where I will stay. A beautiful Victorian house with a history and a great future with these hosts .

Room Tip: Views of Skiddaw from our three rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMcS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thank you so much!

Jennifer & Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buxton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Our walking group has stayed here for several years and always had excellent service. We are greeted in a friendly manner treated well with good food and courtesy. The staff and owners are helpful and obliging. The rooms vary from one small single, which is OK as one goes to the Lakes to visit not stay in the room, to much bigger doubles some with view of the garden. The lounge is comfortable with a small bar. The meals are a good value and well prepared. The owners obviously care about their guests, for example they returned an i-pad to an American who had left it and returned to the USA. They also ensured one of our group got his walking pole which he had not realised he had left there. Some of our group have returned individually and had the same excellent level of service. Although there was no dedicated disabled room the downstairs is accessible with one step, which my wife,who needs a wheelchair could negotiate with help

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djhvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We are a group of some 10 Rotarians and have had 3-night stays at the Lairbeck on 5 occasions over the past 4 years. Some of us have also stayed independently with our wives. Jennifer and Malcom have always extended an exceptionally warm welcome and have proved to be first rate hosts.
The hotel is in a very quiet location, just a 10 minute walk from the centre of Keswick. The rooms are very clean, well-decorated and equipped - and quiet. Most have great views of the surrounding fells.
Dinners are good, wholesome and varied, with very palatable wines at reasonable prices. The breakfast choice is all that a walking group could ask for!
We consider the costs to be reasonable for a 2-star hotel on the outskirts of Keswick and have already booked out next visit in October 2011.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OatesT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Lairbeck is truly a beautiful house, and one in which you feel totally at home. The owners go to every trouble to create the best stay possible, and we felt extremely looked after, both in terms of good food and drink, conversation, genuine interest in what we were doing and in the quality of the rooms. And never have I stayed in a hotel with such high standards of housekeeping. As for the lake district itself, the scenery is breathtaking, a perfect picture around every corner. We were very happy with the location of Lairbeck, being a 10 minute walk into the centre of Keswick meant we were able to enjoy some peace and quiet whilst still having shops, cafes, bars, tourist info, galleries etc. close by. I would not hesitate to recommend Lairbeck, and look forward to a return visit in the spring!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHandly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
We look forward to seeing you in the Spring, thank you!

Jennifer & Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
719 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
623 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
463 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#11 of 12 in Keswick
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lairbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairbeck Hotel

Property: Lairbeck Hotel
Address: Vicarage Hill, Keswick CA12 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lairbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing holiday in a Victorian Country House in the heart of the English Lake District. Lairbeck is a 3 Star Visit Britain Hotel beautifully set in a quiet, secluded garden 10 - 15 minutes walk to Keswick, Derwentwater and the Theatre by the Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lairbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lairbeck Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing