We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lairbeck Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
130
48
13
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
48
13
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely buildingfabulous hotelpheasant innb bsmall hotelshort breaklarge roomcooked breakfastwarm welcomefresh fruitplenty of choicebiscuitsmalcolmskiddaw
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Very clean however room very small..Good location, but if you stayed out late we felt there was a curfew. Breakfast very poor no fresh fruit and portions very small. Will not return

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank jim382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

This response has been delayed for 48 hours because in the first version we used the identity tag used by the reviewer in his review. Trip Advisor advised that our use of this identity tag established by the reviewer fell in to the category: Responses may not contain the personal information of any person, including names, addresses, phone numbers or other information that may be used to identify an individual. Here is what we wanted to say minus reference to the reviewers own identity tag:

It is always a puzzle when very occasionally guests express great satisfaction during their stay and on departure and then do a review like this. We can only offer some facts for potential guests and keep other thoughts to ourselves:
We have bowls of fresh fruit throughout every breakfast service - during this guests stay all of - pineapple, melon, banana, mandarin oranges and kiwi fruit each day. Our waitress reports that these guests actually had fresh fruit every morning.
In addition to fresh fruit, toast, croissants, big range of cereals, grapefruit, yoghurt, porridge etc a full Cumbrian breakfast is served with two rashers of local dry cured bacon, large, thick Cumberland sausage, fresh tomato (baked), fried bread, mushrooms and free-range egg choice. A very large full plate. Manx kippers are also available. These guests had full Cumbrian breakfast (minus fried bread) each morning. I noticed that they left part of the sausage each morning and asked ‘this reviewer’ after the first morning if there was a problem. He replied 'no it’s just me'. It was a puzzle why they kept ordering the sausage each morning only to leave it.
Please check out other guest reviews of our breakfast!
24 Hour Reception. Unlike some ‘Hotels’ we offer genuine 24 hour reception and these guests knew that even before they arrived. 'This reviewers ' partner phoned well after Midnight and laughed whilst asking if it was OK to phone so late. She was assured that it was and the booking was completed. On their final night they arrived back to an open door after 1.30 am. I observed that they went quietly to their room. Before they went out they were offered a digital door code, in addition we have a 24 hour reception bell on the door and a 24 hour reception telephone.
We can offer these facts but what we cannot do is change the unjustified damage this review does to our rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel to celebrate our ruby wedding anniversary.Our room was very clean and spacious with a lovely garden view.We were made to feel very welcome and the food was good although the choice wasn't huge- our only small criticism.On the whole a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wen95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We enjoyed having you stay at Lairbeck and are glad you thought the food was good.

We know that our dinner Menu is not huge but just for information we would mention that:

We don't have a set menu with no choice at all (some hotels (at twice the price) do!).

Our menus change daily so unless you stay for more than a fortnight you will not be offered the same main course and would be unlikely to be offered the same starter or desert on different days of your stay.

Typically you will have a different choice of 4 - 5 starters, 2 - 3 main courses and 5 deserts on each day of your stay.

When you book we will ask you about dietary requirements and the menu will be adjusted to your requirements.

You will be shown the menu each morning and can discuss if there is a requirement which is not met.

You will be reassured by the fact that we are one of very few hotels in Keswick which have been listed in the Michelin guide every year since we took over the hotel in 2007. Described as providing 'honest country cooking'. For us this means nothing bought in, everything made fresh from locally sourced (organic where possible) foods.

You will also be reassured by our Five Star Hygiene award from the local Council.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in early June, arriving on the Friday and leaving on the Sunday with a climb of Scafell in between. Our room was great and even better were the meals. Not a huge selection but we had 3 courses each evening and each was of really good quality. Breakfasts were also excellent - just right ahead of walking lots of miles.
Welcome was warm and friendly with a really good atmosphere. Thank you. Giles & Eileen

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Giles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed at Lairbeck for a long Bank Holiday weekend to treat ourselves after a few days walking. It was a great choice; lovely room, good food and great location. Malcolm and the rest of the staff looked after us well and provided useful local information. We'll stay again when we're in the Lakes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jru100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Beautiful location, fine food and wonderful hosts/owners. I'm sure it's not easy dealing with a single (fairly raucousat times) party of 6 couples but owners Malcolm and Jennifer were superb. The local scenery is stunning, there is no shortage of places to visit, and for anyone into fell-walking/climbing etc, this is the place to base yourself.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views.
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willie2145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews