We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, comfortable and quiet”
Review of Lairbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lairbeck Hotel
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of March- would happily stay again. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, all individual. Check the room descriptions- some have showers, some baths, and some have shower/bath tap combination. We had the latter and the sign saying "watch out for sudden temperature changes" was about right... Wifi is an extra £5 per night.
Location is about 10/15 mins out of town so nice and quiet although if you've just finished a long hike, you might not want to go back out again. Handily they do dinner here, which is nothing fancy but is decently cooked (nice dinner party fare). Breakfast is v good. The owners and staff are v friendly and happy to help. They provide packed lunches which are not cheap (around £8) but are terribly convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HfromBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you for your review and your kind comment in our guest book. We would just mention that we do not charge for WiFi it is free as indicated in our advertising.

Best wishes

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here with our (adult) daughter during August this year on our way back south from Scotland. We had originally booked to stay at another hotel in the area which didn't come anywhere close to our standards, and rang hoping for a night's stay. The owners not only had the two rooms we required but also went out of their way to provide us with a good home cooked evening meal at short notice. The bar area was a delightful place for a pre- or post-dinner drink and chat with Malcolm and other guests. We all enjoyed the situation so much that we asked if we could all stay for an extra night, but like milordbyron found the issue of chosing dinner at breakfast a bit hard, so decided on only B&B the second night. The breakfasts both mornings were of a high standard and sufficient quantity for anyone.
All in all, the owners & staff are all consciencious, friendly and approachable; the food excellent quality home cooking; and the rooms clean and comfortable. The scenery is the lake district, so as long as the weather is kind, you can't go wrong. I can't recommend it highly enough: I'd love to come back again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ_n_Cee_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you very much for your review.

Best wishes

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

poor Pr ,from the manager, a complete control fanatic ,not a relaxing stay,superficially helpful,small bath towels no glass beaker or biscuits in the room on the last day. not to be recommended

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ConwyStatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2011

It may help potential guests to evaluate this review if I explain that this guest was angry because I refused to waive our late cancellation policy. He was extremely rude on check in and continued in this manner throughout his stay. We know that the provision of room facilities was not deficient since we did extra quality checks in his room and that of his sister throughout their stay. We urge potential guests to read a few our other reviews to get a true impression of our Lairbeck hospitality and standards of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Lovely hotel, warm hospitality and great atmosphere. We really enjoyed our holiday in Lairbeck Hotel but we wish it was a bit closer to ... Italy! Grazie to Malcolm, Jennifer and Karen.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
Thank Manuela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Ciao!

Thank you for your kind review. We were so happy to meet you all and much appreciated your great company, happy spirits and warm smiles. Grazie! We wish we were closer to Italy too!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I think that there are a couple of individual features about this hotel to note; both could be seen as either positive or negative depending on your perspective.

1) The evening meal arrangements: if you take an evening meal you are presnted with the menu at breakfast and make a selection from 4/5 starters and 3 main courses - all of these change each day. The choices are of the home cooking rather than fine dining variety. This was exactly what we wanted so worked very well for us but if you like to be - for instance - always able to have a steak then you should be aware of this.

2) Not a good hotel for smokers. I never expect to be able to smoke indoors and am very happy to comply with these rules - however not being able to smoke in the garden seems excessive to me.

Having made these remarks there are lots of positives ; the friendliness of the owners and staff (well one member of staff who worked incredibly hard), the comfort and views from the rooms, the standard of the cooking. If you are happy with a limited menu and, preferably, a non-smoker then this is an ideal hotel. We met people who had been coming back for years and years so it obviously gets a lot right!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milordbyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Thank you for your review and your wife’s very kind comments in the guest book about our food and ambiance.
We try to take improvement points from all reviews and so far as our food is concerned, particularly our Michelin commended dinners you seem to be very happy for yourself but worried that other guests with different perspectives might be surprised by our dining arrangements. Please don’t worry, this is not possible because we ask every guest, during booking, if they have any special dietary requirements (including likes & dislikes). We explain in advance as we did with you and have the dining arrangements explained, with specimen menus, on our website. As a result you wisely told us in advance of your requirement for good home cooking and that one of your party preferred her food plain (our chef took this into account in menu planning ensuring that she had a plain choice each day). Although you say you were happy, you describe our menu as ‘limited’ but (as you explain) during your three night stay you were able to choose from at least 12 different starters, 9 main courses, and 15 deserts. Each and everyone prepared at Lairbeck from top quality ingredients and not one prepared dish ‘bought in’. No matter how long a guest stays with us (18 days is the record so far) they are never offered the same item twice during their stay (unless by their special request).
You kindly gave us a long list of positives and top scores for five out of six categories and recognized that this is achieved with a small team who work incredibly hard to achieve very high standards, thank you.
We really would like to be able to offer some improvement from your perspective with regard to our ‘smoking policy’ but sadly we cannot. We think the vast majority of our guests including quite a lot of smokers recognize that it is not reasonable for non-smokers to have to enter the hotel via of fog of smoke from smoking just outside the front porch. Many find it unappealing to see cigarette ends randomly dropped in our lovely garden. We know it is just a minority but it was these things and the fact that in 20 yards you can smoke in a nice country lane or on a delightful public footpath that made us decide that we would like Lairbeck’s garden to be smoke free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This is a wonderful Inn to use as your home base to explore the North Lakes Area and within an easy commute to the South Lakes. We arrived frustrated and fatigued from our first experience of driving on the other side of the road (Yanks) from Penrith train station. We were met by Malcolm who offered kind words of understanding, help with the luggage and an assist to Gran's Room #11.

Nice large room, comfy bed, full shower, large bathroom and free WiFi which worked great from our room. Because of the cocktail hour, Malcolm served as our bartender as well in a convivial room designed for guests to talk and share.

We had dinner the first night at the hotel fashioned from chef and co-owner Jennifer (Malcolm wife) and served by their very competent and friendly right hand person--Karen. The dinner clearly dispelled our notion that the Brits can't cook. It was most excellent as was dinner on our 3rd night. Varied menu including traditional English Beef Pie, Lasagna, Beef dishes, veggie dishes, salmon and local fish.

Dinner and full English Breakfasts are served in another delightfully light and airy room which made conversations with our fellow travelers easy. Most of the guests were Brits and Australians, up to the Lake Districts for walks and treks.

The weather was terrible with rain and wind, but we had a delightful time with our 3 hosts and other guests---all of whom were apologizing for the weather and giving us pep talks on driving the narrow roads on the other side. Malcolm produced Google maps for us to get to the nearby villages of Ambleside and Grasmere as well as our trip back to the Penrith Station.

I don't think we've ever had the personal care displayed from Inn owners who along with Karen are very easy to engage in conversation, share a story and a good belly laugh. This is the Inn where you want to stay for your trip to or through the North Lakes.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw looked nice, but our room #11 was really quite well done, including the fash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthBay_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope you have forgiven the Lake District for the weather you experienced whilst at Lairbeck. At present we have a mini 'Indian Summer'! Still we know you 'got out there' and experienced some of the breathtaking beauty of the Lakes (even in the rain). Along with the Brits & the Australians you helped keep spirits up back at the hotel and we enjoyed your company, sharing stories and some good laughs. Best wishes...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The Lairbeck equals the standards at some of the best hotels out here in the UAE, excellent!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan002294013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Manager at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you very much for the kind review - at present we are enjoying some UAE weather!! Best wishes...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#13 of 22 in Keswick
422 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#14 of 22 in Keswick
811 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lairbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairbeck Hotel

Address: Vicarage Hill, Keswick CA12 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: £120 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lairbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing holiday in a Victorian Country House in the heart of the English Lake District. Lairbeck is a 3 Star Visit Britain Hotel beautifully set in a quiet, secluded garden 10 - 15 minutes walk to Keswick, Derwentwater and the Theatre by the Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Lairbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lairbeck Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing