We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts' Great hotel!”
Review of Lairbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lairbeck Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed at the lairbeck with my partner and friends and from start to finish every need was taken care of. Such a warm welcome from Malcolm and Jennifer nothing was too much trouble. Bedrooms very comfortable and had a great view of the mountains. Lovely breakfasts in the morning too. Great location for site seeing and good walking distance from local pub and keswick town. Will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was good to meet you all and we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

It all started out so well, we were up in Keswick as my husband was running the Karrimor 22k challenge and we asked if we could park in the hotel prior to the run which they very kindly permitted. On our return to check in we were told that it was policy that children under 5 are not permitted and that this would be a problem. Although on our arrival the proprietor had been very friendly towards our 9 month old son. This had been a genuine mistake on our part that in haste to book available rooms we had not read that 'children over five are welcome' . This was not the issue it was the attitude that followed when faced with this genuine error. We were told we could neither have our money back nor stay in the hotel. And that although he had received the money we would have to go through the website to see if we could be refunded. I always think the best way to judge a place is how they problem solve I will let you make your on mind up about this.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
15  Thank JMouncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

This guest booked two double rooms each for two adults through a booking agent. There was no mention in the booking form or at any time before arrival at check in of a 9 month old child. The booking agents form clearly stated our policy of welcoming children over 5. There was no contact with us about facilities for babies (cots, high chairs etc) which parents taking a child to a Hotel would usually make. When I advised that we could not accept the child the mother demanded to know why we had the policy. I explained this was primarily the wishes of our regular guests (including some parents taking a break without their children). I said that it was impossible for us to make an exception because of Health & Safety requirements we have no ‘risk assessment’ for accommodating children under 5 and no facilities whatsoever for under-fives. This explanation was ridiculed by the guests who then demanded a refund of their deposit. When I explained that only the booking agent could cancel their reservation and no refund could be given until the agent had agreed they said they would not leave without a refund. Later that day I obtained the agreement of the booking agent for a deposit refund though the agent pointed out that I could have kept the deposit and charged the guests a cancellation fee. I made the refund later that day by cheque. I was out of pocket on two rooms I could have let on a very busy weekend. These guests would only have been happy if I had let them and the child stay. It was their mistake which with their inaccurate review they are making me pay for – twice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We recently stayed at the Lairbeck Hotel for the purpose of competing in a triathlon local to the area. We had many teams and spectators alike which meant that we basically took over the whole hotel for the weekend!

With such a variety of people competing and with severe weather conditions, arrivals were sporadic and in some cases very late. However, this wasn't a problem and the owners dealt with the situation very efficiently.

The triathlon on the Saturday morning meant that pre triathlon breakfasts were in high demand but again, this was dealt with very well and all competitors started the day with exactly what they wanted/needed (including a vat of porridge!)

The rooms were pleasant and the overall value for money was excellent. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Thank you for your review and for choosing Lairbeck for your event. Best wishes Jennifer & Malcolm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We have been staying here for years. We have always been made to feel most welcome its friendly and fabulous accommodation. Malcolm and Jennifer are the perfect hosts. We take my dad who is 88 and he just loves it. Highly recommend wonderfully relaxing country house hotel. Thanks for your hospitality once again see you next year.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Manager at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Thank you for your review which we greatly appreciate. Best wishes Malcolm & Jennifer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I had read the previoius reviews and have to say our experience (me,wife and daughter) was very enjoyable.
I initially booked the Hotel through Booking.com requesting the family room for 10-12 May. Having rang the Hotel to confirm the booking I was informed the family room was taken for those dates and Booking.com had made an error by continuing to advertise the room. Luckily the owner Malcolm made the room available to us by moving guests around.
The Hotel is in a lovely position about 10 mins walk from the town down a quiet lane. The Hotel communal areas are spotlessly clean as was our room (Room 5) and the owner was always available to help. Breakfast was taken in a bright well decorated dining room and the food was of an excellent standard and the staff attentive.
Malcolm is obviously proud of the establishment and his 'rules' re smoking and dirty walking boots reflect this.
All in all an very good experience and I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jukey42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a comprehensive and thoughtful review. Best wishes, Jennifer & Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful location within walking distance of Keswick. We chose Lairbeck for its family room that allowed us the 5 of us to stay together. We all had comfy beds and a warm welcome. A family with 3 primary school boys is not always welcome in a good hotel. However the owners made us all very comfortable. The boys loved chatting with the owners and they cared that they got a hearty breakfast and a chance to try something new (kippers).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cakeaddict_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for taking time to post this kind review.
It was a pleasure to have you all staying at Lairbeck.
Best wishes
Jennifer and Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Not stayed here as the owners would not even accept our booking. We had intended to book two rooms to include a single room for our son. We explained he has a disability and wanted his room to be near ours, for convenience. The owners' responses were far from welcoming as our booking was not accepted over the phone. We had a lengthy email two days later which included being told that neither room would accommodate a wheelchair or walking aids. He uses neither. Also, by this time the evening meals we had wanted to book were suddenly unavailable.
If it had been necessary, it would have been up to us to establish whether the room was suitable by asking appropriate questions. We don't expect a reluctant response which seemed to be directly related to our son's disabilities. We have never had anything like such issues in the past when booking rooms elsewhere.
This was pointed out to the owners, and that their over-cautious responses could be interpreted as discriminatory.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
11  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for your review in which you quite rightly say that you have not stayed at Lairbeck. Elsewhere in the review it says you stayed in February 2013 - you might wish to correct that.

I have printed in full both emails that I sent to you. They are long but they set out our approach to any special needs and dietary requirements of our guests. We believe it is essential in the interests of the comfort and safety of all of our guests for us to know about any special needs. As our emails show we were not in any way being discriminatory and we are very surprised and disappointed that you have chosen to repeat that suggestion on a public forum:

Email 1

Dear XXXX (Name deleted - Trip Adviser Policy),

Thank you for your telephone enquiries and your interest in Lairbeck.

I have enclosed details of our room specifications, price list and terms & conditions. I understand that you would prefer to book on a Dinner B & B basis and I am sorry that this is not possible at present as so far we have only regular guests booked on a B & B basis throughout the 3 - 4 nights which you are considering. We think this is unlikely to change.

I understand that you are considering booking room 1 (king sized double room) and room 2 (small single room). Room 2 would be for your "disabled son". You described your sons disability as a 'balance problem' but I am not clear if he uses a wheelchair or walking aids. You explained that your son would spend most of his stay in your room and would use the bath in the bathroom of room 1 (room 2 has only a shower).

As I mentioned in our telephone discussion neither of these rooms are fully adapted for persons with disabilities. Room 2 is our smallest single room and would present significant problems for someone with a 'balance problem'. There is not sufficient space for the use of a walking frame or wheel chair in room 2 and the bathroom is small and its design has not allowed for positioning of grab rails in convenient positions for example in use of the shower which is small and has a six inch shower tray side to negotiate. The bathroom in room one has a separate bath and shower but is constricted and although there are rails incorporated into the bath the design and size of the room does not allow for other grab rails. There is also a change of level in the room which has been sloped rather than stepped and has caused a trip hazard in the past.

We feel that it is important for the safety and comfort of our guests to be very clear and open about the facilities available in each room and on the information you have provided we believe that neither of these rooms are suitable for your son. We would recommend that you contact the Keswick Tourist Association who will be able to advise about hotels with suitable rooms:

Keswick Tourism Association

PO Box 100, Keswick, Cumbria, CA12 5GB
Tel: 017687 75738
Email tourism@keswick.org
If you require further information please let me know.

Email 2

We are sorry that you have clearly misunderstood our response to your enquiry.

For every booking we take we request information about any special needs or dietary requirements. We then assess and advise honestly on whether we can meet the individual requirements of each guest in the party. In that way we have become the return hotel of choice for many of our regular guests with special needs or dietary requirements. Jennifer worked for a number of years in a hospital unit caring for children with a whole range including very severe disabilities and she has acquired a mass of knowledge about dietary requirements. Obviously we cannot put every bit of information about our rooms and service in our written information. Often and where possible and necessary following an open discussion with potential guests we arrange prior assessment visits so that they can personally (or through a friend living nearby) check the suitability of our accommodation.

We are extremely disappointed by the comment in your last sentence and it would be an opinion which would astonish most of our guests but we will try hard to reflect on why you have gained that misleading impression. In that spirit I hope you will take on board my impression of your apparent unwillingness to help me understand your sons requirements. My impression was that you were unwilling to provide me with information which I thought would assist us both to understand if our accommodation would be suitable and would rather have proceeded to book without any discussion of that aspect.

We hope that you find good accommodation and enjoy your stay in Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
759 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
671 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
782 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lairbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairbeck Hotel

Address: Vicarage Hill, Keswick CA12 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: £120 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lairbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing holiday in a Victorian Country House in the heart of the English Lake District. Lairbeck is a 3 Star Visit Britain Hotel beautifully set in a quiet, secluded garden 10 - 15 minutes walk to Keswick, Derwentwater and the Theatre by the Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Lairbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lairbeck Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing