We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ruby ruined”
Review of Lairbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lairbeck Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“ruby ruined”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

we booked a 2 night stay for June but a week before we had to cancel as our daughter was rushed into hospital. We were immediately sent a copy of the terms and conditions and told we had to pay 2 thirds of the total cost. This was taken from our bank account without our knowledge or permission. When we telephoned to complain Mr Hutchinson said we could offset this amount against another break but it had to be 4 nights. We said this was not possible and his final comment was take it or leave it . We had been looking forward to this break as it was our Ruby wedding and the last time we stayed there was our honeymoon. What a disappointment. My advice - stay away.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
22 Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Most guests accept that the risk of cancellation is theirs and not the hoteliers. Our cancellation terms are set out clearly in our terms and conditions and we recommend guests to take out insurance. This guest denied having seen them at the time of booking despite email evidence that they were sent to him in 2011and again with this booking. We made the following offer to this guest at the time we sent the cancellation invoice not 'after he had complained' as he claims: Sorry you had to cancel. We hope your daughter will soon be recovered. 2-thirds of the price has been charged - cancellation fee. This price maybe reduced if we are able to relet the room. Our cancellation policy is usually strictly enforced but we will offset the cancellation fee against the cost of any future stay of four nights or more this year. It emerged in conversation with this guest that he knew when he had booked that he had an ongoing commitment to child care for his daughter in the event of a known risk of hospitalization. The guest told us that if we didn't do as he wished he would write poor reviews about us. We don't think that is what review sites should be about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    47
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
27
113
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Lairbeck Hotel and from the moment we got there we relaxed.. We were given a warm friendly welcome by Jennifer and Malcolm. They explained the fire drill and reason for locking the door late at night, where breakfast would be served etc and left us to it. They were happy to give us directions and tips on where to eat. The Hotel is a beautiful building with fabulous views and only a short walk into Keswick. The room we booked (our choice for price) was on the small side but had everything we needed and was exceptionally clean, in fact I have never stayed anywhere so clean. The cooked breakfast set us up for the day and was delicious. We went there to relax and that is exactly what we did. I can not find fault with the Lairbeck and will be returning on our next vist to beautiful Keswick.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Filey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review and for appreciating the character of this lovely Country House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed at the lairbeck with my partner and friends and from start to finish every need was taken care of. Such a warm welcome from Malcolm and Jennifer nothing was too much trouble. Bedrooms very comfortable and had a great view of the mountains. Lovely breakfasts in the morning too. Great location for site seeing and good walking distance from local pub and keswick town. Will definitely be returning

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was good to meet you all and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

It all started out so well, we were up in Keswick as my husband was running the Karrimor 22k challenge and we asked if we could park in the hotel prior to the run which they very kindly permitted. On our return to check in we were told that it was policy that children under 5 are not permitted and that this would be a problem. Although on our arrival the proprietor had been very friendly towards our 9 month old son. This had been a genuine mistake on our part that in haste to book available rooms we had not read that 'children over five are welcome' . This was not the issue it was the attitude that followed when faced with this genuine error. We were told we could neither have our money back nor stay in the hotel. And that although he had received the money we would have to go through the website to see if we could be refunded. I always think the best way to judge a place is how they problem solve I will let you make your on mind up about this.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank JMouncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
This guest booked two double rooms each for two adults through a booking agent. There was no mention in the booking form or at any time before arrival at check in of a 9 month old child. The booking agents form clearly stated our policy of welcoming children over 5. There was no contact with us about facilities for babies (cots, high chairs etc) which parents taking a child to a Hotel would usually make. When I advised that we could not accept the child the mother demanded to know why we had the policy. I explained this was primarily the wishes of our regular guests (including some parents taking a break without their children). I said that it was impossible for us to make an exception because of Health & Safety requirements we have no ‘risk assessment’ for accommodating children under 5 and no facilities whatsoever for under-fives. This explanation was ridiculed by the guests who then demanded a refund of their deposit. When I explained that only the booking agent could cancel their reservation and no refund could be given until the agent had agreed they said they would not leave without a refund. Later that day I obtained the agreement of the booking agent for a deposit refund though the agent pointed out that I could have kept the deposit and charged the guests a cancellation fee. I made the refund later that day by cheque. I was out of pocket on two rooms I could have let on a very busy weekend. These guests would only have been happy if I had let them and the child stay. It was their mistake which with their inaccurate review they are making me pay for – twice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We recently stayed at the Lairbeck Hotel for the purpose of competing in a triathlon local to the area. We had many teams and spectators alike which meant that we basically took over the whole hotel for the weekend!

With such a variety of people competing and with severe weather conditions, arrivals were sporadic and in some cases very late. However, this wasn't a problem and the owners dealt with the situation very efficiently.

The triathlon on the Saturday morning meant that pre triathlon breakfasts were in high demand but again, this was dealt with very well and all competitors started the day with exactly what they wanted/needed (including a vat of porridge!)

The rooms were pleasant and the overall value for money was excellent. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing Lairbeck for your event. Best wishes Jennifer & Malcolm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We have been staying here for years. We have always been made to feel most welcome its friendly and fabulous accommodation. Malcolm and Jennifer are the perfect hosts. We take my dad who is 88 and he just loves it. Highly recommend wonderfully relaxing country house hotel. Thanks for your hospitality once again see you next year.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Manager at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you for your review which we greatly appreciate. Best wishes Malcolm & Jennifer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I had read the previoius reviews and have to say our experience (me,wife and daughter) was very enjoyable.
I initially booked the Hotel through Booking.com requesting the family room for 10-12 May. Having rang the Hotel to confirm the booking I was informed the family room was taken for those dates and Booking.com had made an error by continuing to advertise the room. Luckily the owner Malcolm made the room available to us by moving guests around.
The Hotel is in a lovely position about 10 mins walk from the town down a quiet lane. The Hotel communal areas are spotlessly clean as was our room (Room 5) and the owner was always available to help. Breakfast was taken in a bright well decorated dining room and the food was of an excellent standard and the staff attentive.
Malcolm is obviously proud of the establishment and his 'rules' re smoking and dirty walking boots reflect this.
All in all an very good experience and I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jukey42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit such a comprehensive and thoughtful review. Best wishes, Jennifer & Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
718 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
623 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#11 of 12 in Keswick
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lairbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairbeck Hotel

Property: Lairbeck Hotel
Address: Vicarage Hill, Keswick CA12 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lairbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing holiday in a Victorian Country House in the heart of the English Lake District. Lairbeck is a 3 Star Visit Britain Hotel beautifully set in a quiet, secluded garden 10 - 15 minutes walk to Keswick, Derwentwater and the Theatre by the Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lairbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lairbeck Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing