We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average at best!”
Review of Lairbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lairbeck Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“average at best!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

the hotel is overpriced at £120 a night, it looks like something out of early 80s very outdated. Breakfast was good. the surrounds were good. we had 2 pack lunches made for us for when we went for a hill walk which cost £15, when I asked the owner how much it would be the night before, his reply was I cant remember I will just put it on your bill. my wifes tuna sandwich was so soggy she could not even eat it. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 007steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad you both liked our, freshly cooked to order full, Cumbrian breakfast. Thank you also for scoring us 'good' on cleanliness and 'excellent' on location. We are sorry that you think £60.00 per person per night B & B was too high a price for the largest room in our hotel. You had the family room as a larger twin room. Most of our guests say it is good value and of course it is not just the room you are paying for but all the hotel facilities such as the bar and for example the amount of time Jennifer spent explaining your walking route to you.

We do packed lunches to guest specification (no set price or contents) hence you chose from a selection of fillings two rounds of tuna sandwich for you and a round of cheese and tomato for your wife. So three rounds of generously filled sandwiches freshly made for you 30 minutes before you collected them, two packets of crisps, two large apples, two chocolate bars and two bottles of water for a total of £15.50 did seem quite reasonable to us. What I said about the price was that I would return to let you know when I had totted it up and did you want the cost on your bill (as opposed to paying there and then). When I returned within minutes to tell you the price you were not there and although I phoned your room and looked out for you I didn't see you again that night. The price for each lunch was therefore put prominently on each lunch bag for you.

We would recommend that you at least consider communicating (good or adverse comments) with your hosts whilst you are at hotels (in addition to posting reviews). As it happens we were full that weekend and could not have offered you another room but there may have been something we could have done to improve your experience. We can see that a cheese and tomato sandwich could become quite soggy after a few hours on the hills in a rucksack. We would have refunded you for that if you had mentioned it whilst here and we will advise guests against including fresh tomato in sandwich fillings in future.

We really are keen to use guest feedback to improve and we are sorry that you won’t be returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    44
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
26
108
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Lairbeck hotel was a pleasure to stay in. The owners were helpful, pleasant, and typical of the lakes good hosts. The room was beautiful. Lovely four poster bed. Beautiful grounds. Good parking. (Which is a must on my list when choosing a hotel). Fabulous breakfast. Again fabulous breakfast!!!!. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you very much for this kind review. I have submitted a thank you response previously and I am not sure why it did not appear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Lairbeck Hotel in March 2013. We stayed there with friends as we were all taking part in an adventure race nearby on the saturday. After having had a very long journey in the snow to get there on the Friday night we were greeted with a friendly, warm welcome by Malcolm and Jennifer. Due to the bad weather, several of our other party members arrived much later than planned, to which Malcolm and Jennifer were very accommodating. Our room was clean with a very comfortable bed and a picturesque view from the window of the snow covered garden. Breakfast was lovely, served at a time to suit ourselves and staff were very attentive. There were several food choices and everything was well cooked. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lairbeck and will definitely be staying there again during future visits to the Lakes.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank H A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you very much for this kind review. I have submitted a thank you response previously and I am not sure why it did not appear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My wife and I spent the night of our fortieth wedding anniversary at the Lairbeck,along with our two sons and their wife and fiancee. Hosts Malcolm and Jennifer were extremely friendly and welcoming,the rooms were comfortable and clean,and breakfast was extensive and well cooked.

Lairbeck House itself was built in 1875 and is full of character. Each room is named after its original function e.g. "Drawing Room" and "Teachers Room". Its grounds are extensive and very well maintained.

As we were leaving,Malcolm presented my wife and me with a bottle of champagne to commemorate our anniversary,a nice touch which rounded off our visit perfectly. We all agreed that if we were to stay in Keswick again we would certainly stay at the Lairbeck.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James_ME2412CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review . It was great to welcome you as guests at Lairbeck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east england
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

'We stayed one night July 2013 and had a cordial welcome from our hosts.
The hotel is full of character.
Prospective guests should understand that this is an old country house and rooms retain their original character, such as low ceilings.
Our top floor room was the Maid\'s Room.
Beautifully decorated, small and with a low ceiling and an ensuite bathroom with bath but no shower. But the house is full of character.
The breakfast was excellent.
We slept well in a lovely large bed.'

Room Tip: Unless you are last minute ask for a room on the 1st floor, rather than 2nd floor, which have low ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you very much for this kind review. I have submitted a thank you response previously and I am not sure why it did not appear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

we booked a 2 night stay for June but a week before we had to cancel as our daughter was rushed into hospital. We were immediately sent a copy of the terms and conditions and told we had to pay 2 thirds of the total cost. This was taken from our bank account without our knowledge or permission. When we telephoned to complain Mr Hutchinson said we could offset this amount against another break but it had to be 4 nights. We said this was not possible and his final comment was take it or leave it . We had been looking forward to this break as it was our Ruby wedding and the last time we stayed there was our honeymoon. What a disappointment. My advice - stay away.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
22 Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Most guests accept that the risk of cancellation is theirs and not the hoteliers. Our cancellation terms are set out clearly in our terms and conditions and we recommend guests to take out insurance. This guest denied having seen them at the time of booking despite email evidence that they were sent to him in 2011and again with this booking. We made the following offer to this guest at the time we sent the cancellation invoice not 'after he had complained' as he claims: Sorry you had to cancel. We hope your daughter will soon be recovered. 2-thirds of the price has been charged - cancellation fee. This price maybe reduced if we are able to relet the room. Our cancellation policy is usually strictly enforced but we will offset the cancellation fee against the cost of any future stay of four nights or more this year. It emerged in conversation with this guest that he knew when he had booked that he had an ongoing commitment to child care for his daughter in the event of a known risk of hospitalization. The guest told us that if we didn't do as he wished he would write poor reviews about us. We don't think that is what review sites should be about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Lairbeck Hotel and from the moment we got there we relaxed.. We were given a warm friendly welcome by Jennifer and Malcolm. They explained the fire drill and reason for locking the door late at night, where breakfast would be served etc and left us to it. They were happy to give us directions and tips on where to eat. The Hotel is a beautiful building with fabulous views and only a short walk into Keswick. The room we booked (our choice for price) was on the small side but had everything we needed and was exceptionally clean, in fact I have never stayed anywhere so clean. The cooked breakfast set us up for the day and was delicious. We went there to relax and that is exactly what we did. I can not find fault with the Lairbeck and will be returning on our next vist to beautiful Keswick.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Filey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review and for appreciating the character of this lovely Country House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.6 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lairbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairbeck Hotel

Property: Lairbeck Hotel
Address: Vicarage Hill, Keswick CA12 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lairbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing holiday in a Victorian Country House in the heart of the English Lake District. Lairbeck is a 3 Star Visit Britain Hotel beautifully set in a quiet, secluded garden 10 - 15 minutes walk to Keswick, Derwentwater and the Theatre by the Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lairbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lairbeck Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing