We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation, attentive staff and wonderful service”
Review of Lairbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lairbeck Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation, attentive staff and wonderful service”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was lovely accommodation, we caught the train to Penrith and a bus to Keswick. We walked to the Accommodation from the bus stop/centre of town, while it was a little further than expected it was a pleasant walk. We got around to places on foot we wanted to see or start from.
Some great restaurants and good recommendations by the owner of Lairbeck Hotel.
Malcolm from the Hotel, booked a cab for us back to Penrith as the bus timing was unsuitable, cab was fixed fare.

While we were there for a long weekend we:
- Caught the ferry around the lake
- Walked Catbells, lovely views back to Keswick, over the lake, to the surrounding hills, over to Scotland...
- Hired mountain bikes and rode the "Old Coach Trail", which was 5 hours of cycling and walking as some of the trail was too steep for us to cycle. Only try this route if your fit, have a lot of time, enjoy isolation, desire a challenge, willing to stick to a commitment regardless of how hard it might seem, have sufficient water and snacks. Also there is a section that follows the major highway and can be hard to follow as it crosses the highway in spots, seems a little dangerous, so a smart phone with a map app came in handy at this point, though most of the way the map from the bike shop was sufficient.
- Lots of restaurants/pubs and walking trails
- Breakfast at the Hotel was lovely with great service

Would highly recommend this location, Keswick, and this Hotel, Lairbeck.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Drawing Room, not sure what the others were like, book in advance to be able to sel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2015
Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    47
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
26
112
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights, booked the hotel on a TripAdvisor related site. The hotel is very well maintained, immaculate really. Malcolm does an excellent job, he was there to greet us as we drove in, showed us where to park on their site, carried our bags to our room and answered our questions. Our room was modern and clean, but it was an attic room, on the third level, with sloped ceilings and a small window. (It was quoted to be on the first or second level in the reservation) There were 4 or 5 of these which originally housed the staff of the wealthy owner. The house was three levels, the bottom level was the lobby, breakfast room and bar and rooms we didn't see. The second level had spacious rooms where the original family lived, I mean opulent rooms, some with big bay windows. Descending, from the attic, we saw one was open and looked in, wow, you could have put two of our rooms in that one! A bit chagrined, I asked Malcolm about the difference, and he said that it was a more expensive room, clearly it should have been, but in comparison, I think ours should have been more of a "value" than it was. I bumped my head a few times on a beam just going downstairs. The breakfast room was elegant, the breakfast served almost immediately after ordering, and to your order with a with little more to offer than a standard English breakfast. I think this is an excellent place to stay, but I would recommend communicating with Malcolm before you book to really know what is offered and what you are getting before you book. One last note, it was unusually hot while we were there, and we were sweating in our attic room. It was late but my wife asked Malcolm if he had any fans, and he found one for us. We had a friendly conversation with him and he was very candid and helpful in finding places to eat.

Room Tip: Don't get an attic room, speak with the owner before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gonetofrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights and next time hopefully for longer!! A beautiful house, wonderful views and excellent breakfast. The hosts Malcolm and Jennifer and all the staff were polite and friendly.

Room Tip: room 4 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I have just returned from two nights bed & breakfast at The Lairbeck Hotel. We booked after doing some research and reading the great reviews on Trip Advisor. It really deserves the Excellence Award 2014. We had a lovely stay. Malcolm was welcoming when we checked in and although we only met Jennifer on check out, we had a lovely chat and she was very friendly.
The hotel is a beautiful Victorian house, well kept and very clean. It is set in very quiet surroundings, ideal, if like us , you want a relaxed peaceful stay! We stayed in the White Room, which overlooks the fabulous garden and tallest tree I have ever seen. This is a large room with a double and a single bed. There is plenty of wardrobe space/drawers, large mirrors, tea/ coffee supplied and even a bookcase stocked with a variety of books!
The standard double was a bit cramped for my husband and I, and I did sneak into the single bed, I admit!!! But we are used to sleeping in a super king size bed at home, so that is our choice. The beds and pillows are super comfy and the linen is of a very good quality, so we slept well! The bathroom is very clean and has a big mirror cabinet over the sink which was great. The bath was big and the water piping hot at all times. There is a heated towel rail and fluffy towels.
We found breakfast to be plentiful and well cooked to order, and it set us up for the day.
These are owners that care about their hotel and are trying to maintain standards for the benefit of their guests. There is a nice personal touch which is rare these days.
One night we ate at The Pheasant Inn which is just around the corner. It was fantastic; huge portions of home cooked food, friendly staff and pleasant surroundings. It was busy, so booking may be advisable.
So thank you to The Lairbeck Hotel for a lovely stay. We wish it had been longer. We would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The White room has a standard double bed and one single bed, overlooks a lovely garden and is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sammy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is a beautiful Victorian house, full of period charm. The rooms are in keeping with the house, with well-equipped modern en-suite. The ambiance is peaceful, exceptionally clean and the staffs are all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was just brilliant nothing was too much trouble, an excellent start to the day. The hotel is situated perfectly for walking into Keswick (10 min) with ample parking.

We stopped in the Drawing Room, a dual aspect room, overlooking the gardens and beautiful view of the hills. Having spent six nights here we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend. We will certainly stay here again when visiting the Lake District in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms are all named e.g. The Cooks Room, The White Room etc. we stayed in "The Drawing Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Lairbeck Hotel. Its a beautiful Victorian house converted into a hotel, greeted with so much warmth by host and all the staff. Had a lovely single ensuite room and the convenience of parking the car. The view from my window was absolutely breathtaking ! Breakfast was wonderful and the bar room was lovely too. It was absolutely wonderful stay and I do hope to return someday.
Thank you for making my holiday great!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SudhaNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and wish it could have been longer. We were welcomed very warmly by Malcolm and Jennifer and our room was spacious, had a good view of the hills and, most importantly, was spotlessly clean (as was the rest of the hotel so far as we could see). This owners of this Victorian building have managed to provide very well the modern facilities we all expect with the character and style of a building of this age.
Breakfast was first-class and the other members of staff we met were cheerful, friendly and very helpful. It's a shame that some guests report a negative experience as that was not our perception and seems to be at odds with the hotel appearing in the Michelin Guide for a number of years consecutively!
We loved our stay here and would not hesitate to return. (and hope to do so in the not-too-distant future).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
705 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
610 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lairbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairbeck Hotel

Property: Lairbeck Hotel
Address: Vicarage Hill, Keswick CA12 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lairbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing holiday in a Victorian Country House in the heart of the English Lake District. Lairbeck is a 3 Star Visit Britain Hotel beautifully set in a quiet, secluded garden 10 - 15 minutes walk to Keswick, Derwentwater and the Theatre by the Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lairbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lairbeck Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing