We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lairbeck Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Lairbeck is truly a beautiful house, and one in which you feel totally at home. The owners go to every trouble to create the best stay possible, and we felt extremely looked after, both in terms of good food and drink, conversation, genuine interest in what we were doing and in the quality of the rooms. And never have I stayed in a hotel with such high standards of housekeeping. As for the lake district itself, the scenery is breathtaking, a perfect picture around every corner. We were very happy with the location of Lairbeck, being a 10 minute walk into the centre of Keswick meant we were able to enjoy some peace and quiet whilst still having shops, cafes, bars, tourist info, galleries etc. close by. I would not hesitate to recommend Lairbeck, and look forward to a return visit in the spring!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHandly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2010

We look forward to seeing you in the Spring, thank you!

Jennifer & Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in October and whilst the hotel building itself is charming and a good location, quiet in its own grounds but within walking distance of Keswick, this is not in my opinion a hotel. Our rooms were clean and nicely decorated and equipped but not as large as implied and the entrance area is impressive. The food and the overall 'hotel' service left a lot to be desired. There was no proper reception and when we arrrived we were eventually greeted by a women (we nicknamed Mrs Overall) who didn't reallly know what to say to us. When it was established we had a reservation things seemed to twig. We then filled out various forms (I don't know what for) and she thrust a menu into our hands to make our reservation for the evening meal (the same thing happended at breakfast! . Foolishly we had booked dinner for the first two nights but managed to escape into Keswick the last evening and had a great pub meal at half the price. The evening meals themselves were little more than school dinners, bland uninteresting - but unlike most school dinners - overpriced. The service lacked any kind of professionalism and was more akin to a canteen. On the second evening, when I was served a rather unappetising pork in gravy, Mrs Overall asked if I had finished with the apple sauce before grabbibng it an offering it to another table!!! I could go on. Don't stay here if you want good food, quality service and value for money

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank gillyb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2010

This review was posted on the day Lairbeck Hotel received a Certificate of Excellence 2010 from Trip Advisor. We still want to take this review seriously and offer a few facts to help potential guests. Form filling: The law requires Hoteliers to gather certain information about every guest over 16 years of age and be able to produce it to the police, if requested (for everyone's safety). Our Food: mentioned in the Michelin guide for the past four years as ‘honest country cooking’. Most of our guests seem to agree. Our reception: we have a reception desk right by the door in our hall - we don't stand behind a counter. Our staff/Service: Don't wear overalls (but we respect lots of people who do in the course of their work) and are smart, courteous, efficient and friendly. Whilst we don’t recognise ourselves in this review we don’t think we are perfect and we would encourage all guests to speak with us at the time of their stay. Well intended, constructive criticism helps us with the very hard work of striving for the excellence recognised, today, by Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Stayed at Lairbeck for long weekend to celebrate birthday, made most welcome throughout. Excellent dinners and breakfasts, room perfect. An ideal base for our fell walks and strolls into Keswick. Will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordie7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Wonderful hosts Malcolm and Jennifer provide an incredibly warm environment and couldn't do enough to make our stay perfect with tips on things to do, places to visit..they even provided an extra backpack. Highly recommend the dinner offered to guests only. This authentic bed and breakfast is modern and fresh. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzsanmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Never experienced The Lake District so I had the chance to stay at the Lairbeck Hotel through a Company Auction. The Hotel looked perfect for what I wanted and with Malcolm and Jennifers help, it all turned out better than I could have imagined.
Room perfect and the cuisine in the restaurnt was an added bonus for us.
The owners and their staff welcome all guests openly and warmly from the onset of arrival.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and have done to all firends and colleagues.
The perfect getaway in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_ringrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

This was our first stay in this hotel and we ahd chosen it by looking at Trip Advisor. It had good reviews and we would agree that it was a great place to stay in Keswick. We had a large room with king size bed. There were two easy chairs in the bay window with superb views across to Cat Bells and other hills. The food was very well cooked and presented and the owners and staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of car parking and the area was very quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Beatiful old Vicotorian building. Room was good with a great view over onto Latrigg and Skiddaw. Welcome very nice and hotelliers clearly on top of their job. Qualitlity vittings throughout and a joy to see the historical photographs and pictures on the walls. There is always a down and I found it int the dinging room. Evening meal was discounted heavily if you pre =booked before arrival the discount price was about right for the meal but if you had paid full price then you might have had second thoughts. the wine was provided at a very reasonable price and nicely served.
Breakfast was tinged slightly by the fact that coffee was served in a flask and then put "on the side". One wondered whether one should help yourself or not. Coffee pots on the tiable would have been better in line with most other B&Bs.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PunchyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#11 of 17 in Keswick
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
677 reviews
4 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lairbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairbeck Hotel

Address: Vicarage Hill, Keswick CA12 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: £120 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lairbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing holiday in a Victorian Country House in the heart of the English Lake District. Lairbeck is a 3 Star Visit Britain Hotel beautifully set in a quiet, secluded garden 10 - 15 minutes walk to Keswick, Derwentwater and the Theatre by the Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lairbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lairbeck Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing