We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly, good food, excelent hosts”
Review of Lairbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lairbeck Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
buxton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very friendly, good food, excelent hosts”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Our walking group has stayed here for several years and always had excellent service. We are greeted in a friendly manner treated well with good food and courtesy. The staff and owners are helpful and obliging. The rooms vary from one small single, which is OK as one goes to the Lakes to visit not stay in the room, to much bigger doubles some with view of the garden. The lounge is comfortable with a small bar. The meals are a good value and well prepared. The owners obviously care about their guests, for example they returned an i-pad to an American who had left it and returned to the USA. They also ensured one of our group got his walking pole which he had not realised he had left there. Some of our group have returned individually and had the same excellent level of service. Although there was no dedicated disabled room the downstairs is accessible with one step, which my wife,who needs a wheelchair could negotiate with help

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djhvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    46
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
26
110
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buxton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We are a group of some 10 Rotarians and have had 3-night stays at the Lairbeck on 5 occasions over the past 4 years. Some of us have also stayed independently with our wives. Jennifer and Malcom have always extended an exceptionally warm welcome and have proved to be first rate hosts.
The hotel is in a very quiet location, just a 10 minute walk from the centre of Keswick. The rooms are very clean, well-decorated and equipped - and quiet. Most have great views of the surrounding fells.
Dinners are good, wholesome and varied, with very palatable wines at reasonable prices. The breakfast choice is all that a walking group could ask for!
We consider the costs to be reasonable for a 2-star hotel on the outskirts of Keswick and have already booked out next visit in October 2011.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OatesT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Lairbeck is truly a beautiful house, and one in which you feel totally at home. The owners go to every trouble to create the best stay possible, and we felt extremely looked after, both in terms of good food and drink, conversation, genuine interest in what we were doing and in the quality of the rooms. And never have I stayed in a hotel with such high standards of housekeeping. As for the lake district itself, the scenery is breathtaking, a perfect picture around every corner. We were very happy with the location of Lairbeck, being a 10 minute walk into the centre of Keswick meant we were able to enjoy some peace and quiet whilst still having shops, cafes, bars, tourist info, galleries etc. close by. I would not hesitate to recommend Lairbeck, and look forward to a return visit in the spring!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHandly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
We look forward to seeing you in the Spring, thank you!

Jennifer & Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in October and whilst the hotel building itself is charming and a good location, quiet in its own grounds but within walking distance of Keswick, this is not in my opinion a hotel. Our rooms were clean and nicely decorated and equipped but not as large as implied and the entrance area is impressive. The food and the overall 'hotel' service left a lot to be desired. There was no proper reception and when we arrrived we were eventually greeted by a women (we nicknamed Mrs Overall) who didn't reallly know what to say to us. When it was established we had a reservation things seemed to twig. We then filled out various forms (I don't know what for) and she thrust a menu into our hands to make our reservation for the evening meal (the same thing happended at breakfast! . Foolishly we had booked dinner for the first two nights but managed to escape into Keswick the last evening and had a great pub meal at half the price. The evening meals themselves were little more than school dinners, bland uninteresting - but unlike most school dinners - overpriced. The service lacked any kind of professionalism and was more akin to a canteen. On the second evening, when I was served a rather unappetising pork in gravy, Mrs Overall asked if I had finished with the apple sauce before grabbibng it an offering it to another table!!! I could go on. Don't stay here if you want good food, quality service and value for money

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank gillyb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
This review was posted on the day Lairbeck Hotel received a Certificate of Excellence 2010 from Trip Advisor. We still want to take this review seriously and offer a few facts to help potential guests. Form filling: The law requires Hoteliers to gather certain information about every guest over 16 years of age and be able to produce it to the police, if requested (for everyone's safety). Our Food: mentioned in the Michelin guide for the past four years as ‘honest country cooking’. Most of our guests seem to agree. Our reception: we have a reception desk right by the door in our hall - we don't stand behind a counter. Our staff/Service: Don't wear overalls (but we respect lots of people who do in the course of their work) and are smart, courteous, efficient and friendly. Whilst we don’t recognise ourselves in this review we don’t think we are perfect and we would encourage all guests to speak with us at the time of their stay. Well intended, constructive criticism helps us with the very hard work of striving for the excellence recognised, today, by Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Stayed at Lairbeck for long weekend to celebrate birthday, made most welcome throughout. Excellent dinners and breakfasts, room perfect. An ideal base for our fell walks and strolls into Keswick. Will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordie7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Wonderful hosts Malcolm and Jennifer provide an incredibly warm environment and couldn't do enough to make our stay perfect with tips on things to do, places to visit..they even provided an extra backpack. Highly recommend the dinner offered to guests only. This authentic bed and breakfast is modern and fresh. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzsanmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Never experienced The Lake District so I had the chance to stay at the Lairbeck Hotel through a Company Auction. The Hotel looked perfect for what I wanted and with Malcolm and Jennifers help, it all turned out better than I could have imagined.
Room perfect and the cuisine in the restaurnt was an added bonus for us.
The owners and their staff welcome all guests openly and warmly from the onset of arrival.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and have done to all firends and colleagues.
The perfect getaway in a perfect location.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_ringrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
601 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
735 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lairbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairbeck Hotel

Property: Lairbeck Hotel
Address: Vicarage Hill, Keswick CA12 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lairbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing holiday in a Victorian Country House in the heart of the English Lake District. Lairbeck is a 3 Star Visit Britain Hotel beautifully set in a quiet, secluded garden 10 - 15 minutes walk to Keswick, Derwentwater and the Theatre by the Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lairbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lairbeck Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing